We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
619
120
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
120
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab clawsmurray familygreat musicmusic sessionfamily run hotelthe pubinishbofin islandplace to staychowderfamily holidayfriendly hotelhome from hometop classrelaxing breakbar foodbrown breadlast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed at the Doonmore, Inisbofin the last weekend in August. There were eight of us, cousins and partners, on a bit of a trip down memory lane. The experience was fantastic, from the boat trip over to long strolls around the breath takingley beautiful island that is Inisbofin. The weather forecast was poor, so we all arrived in Cleggan in rain gear, but these were swapped for factor 50 when we stepped on the island, and the Sun stayed with us all weekend. The highlight of the weekend, in every ones opinion, was our stay at The Doonmore Hotel, a wonderful experience from start to finish. The Doonmore is a small family run hotel, and they are ever present, to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The food is really really good, we ate in the restaurant, as a group both evenings and we all agreed everything we tried was delicious, all clearly sourced and prepared with care, attention and expertise. for a treat on the second evening most of us ordered Lobster, which was a gastronomic experience, to say the least. A few of us wouldn't usually be big desert eaters, but the scent of sticky toffee pudding wafting on the sea breeze greeting us after a walk, quickly converted us, and it was gorgeous. The evenings in the bar were really relaxing, good beer, great music and the chat was flowing. The Doonmore Hotel is a credit to the Murray family, past and present!! You are at home the moment you step in the door, the place is spotless and every aspect of the service is top notch. The morning we checked out, we all left our luggage at reception and went for a short stroll before it was time the leave. We didn't even see the luggage until it was handed to us back on the main land, that's a nice touch. I have one complaint though, we only stayed for two nights, next time it will be at least four. Well done all ! see ye soon, Craig and Trish Flanagan.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank craigsgrooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollizzi, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Craig and Trish,

Thank you so much for your very comprehensive and thoroughly positive review. Unfortunately I had to leave the island that weekend so I missed the last night of your stay with us. The reason I have to leave was a good one though, as I went to The Food & Wine Magazine Awards where we won the award for the Best Pub Food of the Year in Ireland. In fact, we were collecting the award while you were still digesting your lobster and your sticky toffee pudding...the proof of the pudding... eh!
I'm thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay as I know many of you hadn't been back to Bofin for over 20 years, but it is the perfect place for a family reunion as you well know. The weather on Bofin is very often much sunnier than is forecast and nearly always better than our mainland neighbours. Packing the factor 50 with the rain gear is always advised!
I look forward to seeing you all back here next year for what must surely become an annual trip from now on.
Regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Its been over 12 years since I visited Doonmore and Murray's Bar hasn't changed a bit. Wonderful stay tks to the friendly staff and great service. The decor is of an age which adds to the homely feeling you get upon arrival. Spotlessly clean and great food. Tks for the lovely stay can't wait to come back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B1518GJfionam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollizzi, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear B1518GJfionam,

Thank you for your lovely positive comments and it's brilliant that you made it back after 12 years. We love that long time regular guests, first time visitors and people coming back after many years all enjoy their time here so very much.
Thank you again and I hope you don't take as long to make it back to us the next time.

Regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

From the minute we entered the Hotel we had the best of attention. Rooms were excellent, well fitted out , warm and comfortable. Nice varied dinner menu. Breakfast had waitress service with super attention to detail.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emcdonnell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollizzi, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear emcdonnell78,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. It is such a pleasure to read that your experience was so thoroughly enjoyable and I hope that you will return to us next year for another lovely stay.
Regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The best welcome, food, drink and views on the island and in Ireland. Thanks to Andrew and staff for their hospitality. No request was too much trouble. Please order the sticky toffee pudding if you are lucky enough to visit!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bridgetmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollizzi, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear bridgetmartina,
Thanks a million for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The sticky toffee has consistently been one of the top reasons people come back to visit, if only fora day trip to have it. It has been described as the best in the world, the best ever tasted, worth coming back from America for etc.
I'll make sure there is some left for you when you visit next year!
Regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

You know when you arrive at The Doonmore that the Murray's have been welcoming people to Inishbofin for decades and you know why they come back! The island is beautiful and the hotel is a great base from which to explore it. We went for a long walk and a quick dip at Tra Gheal a beautiful secluded beach. We had a lovely dinner sitting in the lively bar with a great view. Nice wine, great music and back to a comfortable bed and a great night's sleep.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mardyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollizzi, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Mardyros,
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time walking to the truly incredible beach of Trá Gheall.
I hope we see you again next year.
Regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews