We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doonmore Hotel(Inishbofin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
229
99
43
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
99
43
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared balconybeach barinishbofin islandlovely hotelsmall islandsea viewlittle bit of heavenfamily weddingthe general managerfirst floorpleasure of stayingthree nightslast weekenda lovely stayfollowing morningtop classseaweed bath
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My wife and I stayed here last weekend. We had the perfect stay, the hotel was faultless, from check in to check out. We ate at the restaurant both nights, the food was fantastic, the staff in the restaurant attended to our every need and were very professional, polite and friendly. Breakfast was superb also, the choice was vast, and suited every taste bud, from continental to the “full Irish”, they had it all!

Our room looked across the inner bay at the front of the hotel across to the hilly landscape. The room was lovely and quiet, just what we were looking for, the silence was broken only by sheep grazing outside! There was some work being done in the bay adjacent to the pier but this didn’t bother us at all.

The weather was cold and windy; we loved getting back to the hotel after touring about the island, for a hot bowl of delicious chowder and a pint of Guinness!

Overall we thought the hotel is easily one of the best we’ve stayed in, and we’re accomplished travellers! Great value, friendly efficient service, mouth watering food, with a relaxed atmosphere to top off a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I can't find any fault with the actual hotel facilities; room was well sized, clean, with very comfortable bed. The hotel space design and common areas were all well appointed with comfortable seating and excellent views over the harbour. However the real let down of our stay here was the restaurant. There was NO SEAFOOD option on the menu. How can an island hotel off Connemara, with some of the best seafood available on its doorstep not include it in its menu? This disappointment was followed by bland meals where quantity not quality was the order of the day. Matters deteriorated when our wine arrived, it was poured for tasting and then just left on the table for us to pour ourselves!! This was repeated for the second bottle also. Is there some new table waiting trend that I am missing here?? To compound things our meal was interrupted between courses by the owner/manager asking us if our meal was alright. I don't wish to detract anyone from staying in this hotel but if you do, eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrenB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Being a frequent visitor to inishbofin and knowing the hotel was under new management we decided to give the hotel another try having had previous bad experiences there.
We did not stay in the hotel, only visited for lunch. The bar staff were unhelpful and one in particular was extremely rude to the point I was forced to complain to the manager who in turn was not very receptive or friendly. The food was inedible and bland and the bar was dirty and untidy. A very disappointing experience.

I would not recommend the hotel to anyone until they "get their act together " and at least train the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

We stayed in this hotel in May - it is in a fabulous location and the rooms are lovely and spacious and very clean. But the rest is really awful. We were served raw fish twice - and sushi was not on the menu! The room we were given was above the bar and the outside smoking area and was incredibly noisy - the door to the smoking area banged all night..and I mean all night - it eventually stopped at 7am. When we complained to the manager he was really rude and obnoxious.
This is a lovely island with other alternatives for accommodation - I would go there but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kerreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Just been to a wedding on this island which was fantastic. The management of this hotel however made every effort to disturb peoples enjoyment of an amazing day. There was a clear problem with the sewage system which was creating a smell all over the front lawn where there was a barbeque being served. The managers refused to accept that the problem came from their septic tank but afterwards covertly tried to mask the smell with disinfectant. For the entire weekend, we had to be nice to this incredibly rude couple for fear they would cancel the wedding. Anything was possible with these people. Recommend a stay in one of the other hotels in the island and avoid this one at all costs until a change of management.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mr_president79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boffGalway, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2007

Having read the comments regarding the review published on June 11 2007, i would like to reply to the points discussed.
At no point were any of the staff or management rude or offensive to any of the guests. At all times the staff were professional , curteous and respectful to all the guests.
We received very favourable compliments from a lot of guests on departure about what a great stay they had and how well they had been treated.
However,
There was one gentleman who did raise the issue of a smell coming from what he beleieved to be the septic tank. We had actually had an engineer check this facilty the day before , indeed the smell in question was coming from the seaweed on the shore line. Not the septic tank, which if he had checked was a water treatment facilty
No other guest even commented on the smell, which i do not deny was unpleasant at certain areas of our garden when down wind to it. We provided the family with a wonderful experience and it is extremely insulting for an individual to use Trip advisor in order to give a false account, and a negative experience of the wedding , which was according to the guests and the bride and groom a wonderful day.
I appreciate that every one is intitled to their opinion, but in this day and age, a grown man to behave so terribly and then write such an insulting review, is surely very wrong and upsetting for the people to whom it affects.
Please be rest assured that this review is by no means a true reflection of Inishbofin House Hotel, and the comments regarding the management slanderous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews