We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility on Inishbofin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My partner and myself had a wonderful weekend on Inishbofin . The room was spacious and overlooked the small harbour. We had access to a shared balcony from our room. There was also a library which also shared the same view. Food was delicious, would like to have seen a change of menu on the third night but I suppose it is a small Island and everything has to be taken in by ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for a friday and saturday night recently, the hotel is not 4 star but the staff are pleasant, it is clean and the views and convenience of the location more than make up for any lack of star rating... I stayed here in 2010 and the one thing I remembered was that the dinner in the evening was delicious and very good value, however this was not our experience this time, there were 3 courses and tea/coffee for €35.00 - rather limited when you consider the location that seafood should be very much in evidence on the menu.. anyhow i had smoked salmon to start which was your average supermarket smoked salmon with some salad and dressing, my main course was sea bass with potato and veg, two very small pieces of fish came out on the plate covered in a horrible creamy looking sauce, you could not taste the fish for the sauce, the fish reminded me of what i normally buy in my local supermarket for a couple of euros, the veg were fine but the potato was very obviously cooked earlier and re heated - i was so disappointed, the food was not bad it was just bland and tasteless, my friend had Gnocchi which really wasnt much better and again covered in the same horrible sauce. As we didnt have desert we were charged €30 which really for the quality of food that was presented was extremely expensive - Chapter one in Dublin a michelin star restaurant charge €36.50 for their pre theatre menu and to have these menus priced almost the same was just ridicilous.
The breakfast in the hotel was very good, nice freshly cooked to order, did nt eat in the bar so cannot comment.
A lovely hotel but guys you really need to re think that dinner menu - the dining room was almost empty both nights and i can understand why.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with either private or shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We visited as part of a two-week Ireland travel (self-guided) tour and would state that the stay on the island was one of the most relaxing two days of our trip. The accommodations were excellent, the pub food was some of the best we had on the entire trip, the staff were helpful and appreciative of visitors, and our local driver "Huey" was phenomenal! He not only knows all the 160 residents by first name, he knows the history of the island, is quite humorous, and gave a great motor tour of the place. Highly recommend this location!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms with harbor view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great :-) central location, lovely views from room balcony.
There was a September offer except last weekend of September because of set dancing and music festival, so quite pricy!
Friday night not a wink of sleep, despite beds being very comfy, outside window I could hear someone getting sick, people yelling cars playing loud music all night, I expected to see mayhem next morning but no sign of previous night of excesses, they must have been locals? As cars on island only owned by locals.
We expected Saturday night to be worst but not a sound, once the music in bar stopped.
Staff at hotel pleasant, although confusion over bags and getting rooms initially, there didn't
Seem to be enough staff on arrival to cope with us.



















appear enough staff to deal with everyone's arrival.
Library area upstairs lovely views and comfy sofas to relax if weather unkind, we got lovely
weather so saw the sights and staff advised how to get where we wanted to get to safely, ie when tide at lowest.


















Food in bar pleasant.



Breakfast nice, again staff friendly and helpful, food nice.
Loads hot water for baths and showers available at all hours, always a big bonus for me.
Bar food pleasant.

Room Tip: We were in 101, lovely balcony with tables and chairs to enjoy view, but we were over bar and at a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in early sept. What a place to relax , have fun, keep the kids away from playstations and shopping. Ha. Staff were extremely nice and couldnt do enough for you, fantastic atmosphere. Food was just heaven, breakfast lunch and dinner,
the only criticism I have is there were no tea or coffee facilities in the room and when I approached the bar area for a cappuccino I was told the machine doesnt get switched on until 11am. Also I think the lift doors could do with a polish inside. But they are only petty things to follow up on.
OVERALL A DELIGHTFUL PLACE WHICH I WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE I SPEAK TO.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I visited Inishbofin as part of a group of 12.We booked sea view rooms & were not disappointed!
The rooms were very spacious most with balcony. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. We had dinner one night in the restaurant & it was very good. It was part of our package which I considered great value. All the wonderful walks & beautiful beaches are very accessible from the hotel. I would return there in the morning!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for sea view if you have a choice. Other rooms are fine too but a lot darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morganjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I visited Inishbofin for the first time ever in June and I have fallen with the place (I came back again July), I stayed at the Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa and was looked after royally. The staff were so friendly and helpful, everyone of them seemed like they were ambassadors for the whole island, I felt like I was a welcome visitor to their home. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

My room, with a large shared terrace, overlooked a stunningly beautiful secluded harbour. The food was terrific and it was a delight to enjoy my breakfast with a wonderful sea view.

This is a gem of a place and I am taking my wife here in a few weeks, Can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
747 reviews
17.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
18.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing