We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most relaxing place on earth”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just back from a weekend away with my boyfriend and can honestly say I don't think we've ever relaxed so much anywhere we've been. We were greeted at the ferry with someone to take our bags to the hotel and chose to stroll on up as it's only a few minutes away. The staff could not be nicer, the scenery more spectacular or the whole experience more relaxing. The food is fantastic. The bar warm & friendly. The spa is fantastic, I got possibly the best seaweed facial ever there, could not recommend the lovely Fiona enough.
Be warned, phone signal is spotty at best - but this can only add to the charm.
A spot to completely unwind & get away from the outside world!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takethename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    98
    41
    14
    18
See reviews for
97
149
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mayo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Spent last Saturday night there got a friends 40th birthday. I didn't have any expectations on this hotel but I have stayed in far worse 4 stars in Ireland. From the moment u got of the Ferry to the time we had to leave, everything and everybody to do with this hotel really show what hospitality is. From girl that collected out luggage on the pier to welcome by GM to bar staff, restaurant staff, accommodation staff could not do any more to help us enjoy out stay. It was a wonderful 1 night stay and a lot of so called deluxe 4 star hotels could do worse than spend some time here to see what hospitality is all about. Well done and I will be back again and again and again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It had been some 23 years since I was last in Inishbofin. Back then everything on the island was basic and rough around the edges, but fantastically fun and enjoyable.

This is still the case in much of the Island, but the Inishbofin House Hotel is nothing like that. It is an upmarket, sophisticated hotel in an environment where you might not expect to find such a place. On the one hand, I was maybe a little disappointed that the old ways had faded a little, but on the other hand, there's nothing like a comfortable, refined hotel to relax and kick back in. And despite dated romantic notions and expectations, everything moves on; and on Inishbofin too.

The hotel is a real stand out. The staff, especially Claire and Niall (the GM) are more than helpful and super friendly. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, and comfortable. The hotel complex itself, impressive and provides everything you might need. The reading lounge on the first floor was a particular favourite: great room, great views. The service in the bar area and the restaurant excellent and I can't fault the friendliness, attitude, or enthusiasm of any staff member in the hotel. They were all brilliant.

Any review that doesn't offer advice on how to be even better is worthless. Bearing that in mind, there are few areas that I suggest could benefit from some attention here. Other reviewers have commented on these too, so these are systemic faults which demand attention.

First, I was surprised our room wasn't ready when we arrived in off the ferry at 12.15pm. Arrivals on the island are pretty well fixed in time (given only two ferries arrive per day!). I appreciate, there may have been a delay in turning around the room after the departure of previous guests, but with limited rooms and low occupancy at this time of year, this should be addressed. It didn't bother us too much but I could see how it might be annoying to those that had travelled from early in the day to catch the ferry and want to freshen up upon arrival before hitting the island for the day.

Second, while I enjoyed the dinner in the main restaurant, the quality of the food was not commensurate with the price. I appreciate that this is probably the 'finest' dining location on the island, but it was pretty unsurprising and to be honest disappointing. My warm goat's cheese salad starter had a molten cheesy sauce in it which remotely smelled and tasted of goat's cheese in place of any real goat's cheese. And my main of poached salmon and crab claws, was pretty bland: an inspired sauce of some description would have set it off. My advice here is either up the quality of food to match the price or lower the price to match the quality of the meals offered. You have a unique competitive advantage here, but don't ruin it by taking unfair advantage of a market niche.

Overall, we had a brilliant time here and can't wait to come back, which we will surely do before the year is out.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Went on a pre wedding break before the real event. The hotel is everything you would expect on such a magical island and has views that you need to see for yourself. The staff in particular are without exception friendly and very helpful. The barman is a stand out star ! The duty manager Claire is a credit to the hotel and a joy to talk to. Niall the general manager could not have done more for us.The food in the bar and the restaurant was top class. The wedding can't come soon enough and this hotel and the island and it's welcoming people will make it a great occasion, no matter what the weather does ! Forgot to mention that Claire is a dab hand at shooing geese away from the flowers outside of the hotel !

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony and a stunning sea view are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishstew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

~From the moment we stepped off the ferry at Inishbofin pier to when we stepped back on again, we experienced a Cead Mile failte of days gone by. One Ireland was once famous for all over the world. It was so long since we'd experienced it! We felt like old friends returnng home. Wasn't that a welcome that Ireland used to be proud of? It is a welcome that the so called Capital of Ireland and the so called 'Gourmet capital of Ireland' (Where we live) could learn a lesson from! All of Ireland could take a leaf out of Inishbofin House Hotel's book. It is no wonder we were speechless!
What a place! This hotel is top class. From the friendly staff to the fabulous food and the heavenly location, it really is a dream.
We were the first customers of 2014 and have promised to also be the last!
We will be returning again when they close at Halloween for the winter, but be in no doubt, we will definately be back in-between before that promised trip. This quality of accomodation, service, exceptional location and overall enjoyment is not ten-a-penny! Grab it if you can!
A massive thank you to Niall, the manager and all his team and especially to Fiona. Her expertise, beatuiful smile, friendly service and wonderful humour made the Spa a wonderful experience and had us wanting more. We never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: The sea view is to die for. If you're open to a little adventure take the 'unofficial safari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our outstanding customer service, so I'm delighted that your stay rendered you speechless! Indeed, our location is heavenly - we never tire of the view.

We certainly hope that you will make the trip up from Cork again to see us before our season ends.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived on Inishbofin two days before my wedding in August 2013. The minute we stepped off the ferry we immediately felt we had stepped into a different world, such a simple way of life. Claire from the hotel picked us all up on the minibus and brought us the short distance, a few mins drive to the hotel. For the next 5 days we were treated like nothing less than superstars. The quality of the food was first class, not only for the Wedding itself but the bar food and breakfasts were raved about all weekend by family and friends. Our guests who weren't staying in the hotel came here to eat because it was so good. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating.
If you are thinking of this location and hotel for you're wedding, go for it, you will have no regrets.
We had the best weekend of our lives to date here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We're just checking out of Inishbofin house today. We had such a lovely time. It's a really homely spot with v friendly and helpful staff - even providing runners for my husband who left his in the car at Cleggan ! The hotel manager and bar man are especially welcoming. The rooms are very clean and really comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good with lots of choice. The view from the lounge upstairs is incredible. A great spot to sit and read. Inishbofin is very beautiful and well worth a visit. We did the three loop walks. Lovely. People on the island from the boat people to the staff at the community centre to people who you meet on the roads can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahspititout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing