We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on the laurels of it's location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Resting on the laurels of it's location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location of this Hotel is spectacular and is the key selling point of this hotel. For us that was really the only positive about this place. Staff were nice and cheerful upon arrival, even if one member was more concerned about their phone call to Revenue than they were about greeting us and checking us in (or rather inform us that our room wouldn't be ready for a while).

I have to say that the rooms are basic for the amount paid for them, there's no tea/coffee facility in the rooms which is almost a given in this day and age in any hotel and you then have to pay €2.50 for a coffee in the bar. We asked about the tea/coffee facility the day of arrival and we were told that there was none in the rooms, when we mentioned this at departure to a different member of staff she politely told us that we could have requested it !!!

Breakfast is disorganized chaos, understaffed and customers ended up busing the tables in order to hurry up proceedings. A suggestion would be to change the breakfast duration from 8-10 to 8-11 which would put less pressure on staff as guests would be less inclined to rush for breakfast at the same time. Perhaps the introduction of self service Tea/Coffee would greatly help the under pressure staff.

The bus service is a nice touch as it allows patrons to have their bags delivered to and from the Hotel to the Ferry, i would advise management to be more visual and active as this place badly needs leadership. Concentrate a lot more on the hotel side of things and less on up-selling treatments in the spa.

Room Tip: Call and haggle the price as in this instance you don't get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRODF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    97
    36
    14
    18
See reviews for
96
144
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Half an hour on the boat, a walk to the hotel, a greeting like they were welcoming us back although we had not been to the island before..... we loved it. You can relax on the chairs outside in the sun or lay on the grass..... you can hire a bike like we did and see the beautiful beaches the island has to offer, you can let the kids run around as there are only a few cars on the island.....

The island is so relaxing, free and with hardly any mobile phone coverage with was great!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: A view if possible but only if you are going to spend time in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

When I was on my way to Inishbofin, I didn't know what to expect, so I was a little nervous. But this changed the second I stepped on the island and saw a girl who was about to pick us up from the Harbour.
Views from Inishbofin House Hotel are incredible. We had a room with the ocean view and waking up with the view like this is unforgettable. The room was very nice, fresh and clean. People on Inishbofin Island are one of the kind - they always smile and make you do the same. The same with the stuff, they are always there to help, moreover they are HAPPY to help.
If you go up on the cliffs - the landscapes are breathtaking!
I'd say that this is a magical place: I have never been so happy, relaxed and pacified. You realize that you are not thinking about anything, you are enjoying life which is beautiful.
So if you want to escape from stuffiness, vanity or you just want peace - this is a perfect place for you. But if you want to live the adventure or to meet new amazing people - this is also the best place for you. Personally, I have found something I was looking for - happiness.
P.S. they have the best tea and toffee pudding I have ever tried!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the ocean view - you will not regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia090696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co mayo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A bit late but better late then never...we went here for Easter weekend, it was a surprise for my Husband's 40th and it was perfect! Sea view family room excellent, lovely welcome, staff lovely, food very very good, especially if you like fresh fish! Lots of Easter fun provided by the hotel, fabulous lawn for relaxing, eating, drinking and all of the above.... Bar somewhat quiet which was great as the Days bar is literally a minute away and very lively!!! Island fabulous for walking and exploring, or just relaxing...We will be back! Thank you for a special Easter!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridiCoMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We've just returned from a 2 night stay. First things first. Inishbofin is a different world! We throughly enjoyed our stay - Beautiful people, scenery, walks, hotels, restaurants. The weather was amazing and we can't help but think if the sun shines this is a piece of heaven you don't want to miss. The hotel was fine, we had a sea view room - Room was standard en-suite although we were surprised we had to share a balcony (not ideal if you have a 3 year old who mightn't apprectiate privacy. Staff are superb and make every effort to ensure you feel welcome. That said despite been guests mid week we got no sleep 2nd night due to fact that member of staff felt obliged to start hoovering, washing/cleaning bar from 1-430am which probably dampned our enthuasism a tad towards end of our trip. All in all a very enjoyable couple of days. The other 2 hotels are family run and it's fair to say you would know the diffference. Very homely and that family touch is nice. Days in nice but a little more commericla perhaps. Caroline the front of house manager is excellent and makes every effort. Will we return? Absolutely! Enjoy......

Room Tip: Sea view nice but request one that does not share with neighbours if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydays73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently - unfortunately we only stayed one night but I will be going back very soon again - it was the most hospitable placed I ever stayed in - and the atmosphere there is just great - such a relaxing place - but I believe it starts from the top - Niall the Manager is great - and this passes down to all the staff - the restaurant staff Anne Tara & Nicholas - brilliant and so friendly - reception Claire (who has all the info - just ask Claire) Lisa & Aisling - hey give such a great first opinion of the place - and the rooms - we paid extra for the sea view well worth it - Yola & Charlene do a great job keeping the rooms spic & span - I did not go to the spa but Fiona is also so friendly - the bar staff great too - did not get their names - and what was great to see the staff work so hard and do it with enthusiasm. So I will be going again before the summer is over - definitely a great place to chill - see amazing scenery and great walks very well mapped out - people in Inishbofin ensure anyone who comes to their island will have a memorable trip

Room Tip: Go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annef918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Apart from fighting with my girlfriend the entire time ,I loved the hotel ,the sea view rooms are well worth it.I cycled and walked all over the island.The difference between olivers in cleggan and this place was like going from the negative to the photo.The food was excellent. Would go back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
717 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing