We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for one night while on a visit to the island. The hotel and bedroom was perfect and clean. The views out onto the bay was wonderful. The hotel is located a short walk from the pier and we hired bicycles for the duration of our stay which let us get around and see most of the island within our two day stay. We did have a problem with our room in that there was a loud humming noise (like a bathroom fan) which woke us and continued to make the noise for about 2 hours in the middle of the night. At first we thought it was some sort of heating fan and as luck would have it, the noise had stopped by the time we went down to check out and while the staff were polite and friendly they didnt seem to know what the noise could have been. Apart from that the location is ideal and everything is clean and crisp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    95
    32
    13
    18
See reviews for
92
137
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a four day stay at Inishbofin House Hotel. The hotel is set in a picturesque setting overlooking the harbour. The rooms are of very generous proportions and we also had a large terrace overlooking the sea. The staff were extremely friendly if a little under trained and inexperienced. The food was ok but there is room for improvement. Where the hotel falls down is cleanliness. Our room was not cleaned for the 4 days of our stay and on a number of occasions we had to ask for a change of towels. a number of other areas in the hotel were also not cleaned to the standard of a hotel of this calibre. Talking to other residents in the hotel, it seems we were not the only ones to have this experience. Another problem which arose during our stay was the break down of the Elevator, which still had not been repaired by the time we left. This was totally unsatisfactory as there were elderly people struggling to carry suitcases and other types of luggage up a couple of flights of stairs. The least the hotel could have done was have this luggage brought up to the rooms. Finally the last thing in respect of this hotel was the lack of entertainment. There was none. This could be a really top class place to stay if the management got their act together and improved on the cleaning, maintenance and entertainment side of things. The menu could also do with a revamp, the same menu 4 days in a row is not very inviting.

Room Tip: Look for room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyceyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Popped in here for a few coffees during our recent visit and paid a whopping €3.50 EACH for two cappucino's and an americano- €10.50 for just this order. That was the only money they got off us, the sunday lunch was €14.50. A total rip off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I are just back from a few days holiday on the island of Inishboffin. From the time we alighted the ferry to the time we departed two days later, we enjoyed a truly unique experience. We lodged at the popular and very comfortable Inishboffin Hotel & Spa. From the warm welcome we received on arrival in the guise of the talented and much travelled Niall Coffey General Manager and his friendly and good natured team of experienced staff at the hotel, we set about exploring the secrets of Inishboffin for the next two days. Weather-wise, expect many seasons in one day and come suitably equipped, you won't be disappointed. We stayed in a lovely room overlooking the harbour. First night started out with a good dinner in the hotel where we enjoyed the singing talents of a man called Buck who shared a stage with James Taylor and other singing greats in another time. Where would you get it? I suppose there's not that much to do on the island except walk and soak up the spectacular scenery. Bring a few good books. If you're into snorkeling and diving, there's lots of that available. There's also great sandy beaches to be found where it's safe to swim. Also we found at least two particularly good lively pubs. Check out Murray's and The Beach. We got lucky on our first night at Murray's to encounter a stag party made up of a great bunch of lads, musicians and song writers who entertained a full house of locals and blow-ins like ourselves late into the night. After this experience, we're now both resolved to visit the other inhabited islands along the coast of Ireland as soon as we next get the chance. I'm not sure we'll have as much fun as we did at Inishboffin and that's thanks especially to Niall Coffey and his crew at the Inishboffin Hotel & Spa. See you soon.

Room Tip: Check out the sea views rooms, worth the extra expanse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wysebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InishbofinHouseHotel, General Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor.

Were delighted you enjoyed an evening with Buck Taylor and the delights of Inishbofin island.

We received fantastic feedback about Buck and look forward to welcoming him back again before the end of the season.

Indeed we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the magical island of Inishbofin very soon.

Safe travels.

Kind Regards,
Niall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from this wonderful hotel ! My nephew Mike and Pearl
had their wedding reception there and from start to finish everyone couldn't have been nicer ! They picked us up from the ferry and from then on nothing was a problem ! Niall and Constantine were wonderful looking after all requests with a smile . The wedding was on a beach 25 minutes away and they did their best to get us all there on time in the wonderful ' taxis' it was a wonderful venue
for the wedding ... View spectacular
food very good everything great ! The rooms were lovely and cleaned every day ! My one suggestion to Niall would be to make the front bar
a bit more like a pub than maybe a hotel bar ... Hard to do but just a suggestion ... Not a criticism ! Thank you all and we will be returning ! ...Una Heneghan

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank una h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the moment we stepped from the ferry and a bus was there to take our luggage to the nearby hotel and again on leaving this was superb.
the manager Niall was everywhere to ensure everything ran smoothly for our stay.
The weather was excellent and walks around the Island built up a good thirst!
No mobile phones work in the Hotel, but far from the end of the world!
Will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This Hotel really is a hidden gem. The location is spectacular and the staff were super friendly.
Food was 5 out of 5 across the board.
Me and my Husband really couldn't fault anything about our stay and we will definitely be back.
Serious value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing