We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week in "Bofin"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mid week in "Bofin"”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We're just back after spending two wonderful days in "Bofin" and the Dolphin Hotel. This was a return trip to the Dolphin for us and it was as good as the first. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the Ferry - that doesn't matter anyway, as Pat is always there to give the lazy ones a lift or carry the bags. The hotel is lovely , the rooms "pristene" and beds so comfortable. We had one of the garden rooms and it was lovely to sit out in the garden and take in the beautiful views oh and we heard the corncrake too!!. Thanks also to Veronica who served us lovely food and refreshed us with tea and drinks from the bar. Would highly reccomend the Dolphin

Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful memorable experience. We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant is great and Pat is a legend. Not only did he pick us up from the ferry, he checked us in, showed us to our rooms, served us dinner and poured our pints. He was back in the morning to serve us breakfast. He shared the history of the island and gave great advice on what to do and where to go. We will definitely be back and will continue to recommend. Thank you

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Misschico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just after a wonderful 2 days in Inish Boffin where we are looked after by all the staff of the Dolphin Hotel but special thanks to Pat, the owner, who is an absolute legend when it comes to hospitality. Food was wonderful in the hotel and the location up on the hill with stunning views is perfect. Highly recommend this Island and this hotel in particular.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mahaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just back from a fantastic family gathering - 20 in total - at the Dolphin hotel Inishbofin. We were greeted on the pier by Pat Coyne and his family and our bags and lazy siblings brought to the hotel which is only a short walk from the ferry. The Dolphin is pristine, friendly and serves great food - be it bar food or formal dinner. The location is all you could ask for as an island oasis. We hiked and cycled, canoed and played football on the beach - some of us even had a dip in the sea (in early April!!!). No shortage of activities which Pat will kindly help organise. Later on -creamy pints at the bar. We were only there for the weekend - but could have stayed a week no problem. Great spot!

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2,3 have a great little patio area in front of them - I would book these if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiernan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotel_13, Manager at The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that your party enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you enjoyed the many activities this beautiful island has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here recently for a short visit but I fully intend to be back for a longer one very soon. Lovely little hotel, a short walk from the pier but we didn't even have to do that as owner Pat came to collect us from the ferry.
Rooms clean, beds comfortable & staff all very helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have misgivings writing this review because part of me does not want too many people to discover Inishbofin. It is a fantastic island, which provides a memorable holiday. But I want to promote the Dolphin Hotel, whose staff do an awful lot to welcome visitors to the island, and which is a very comfortable place to stay.
The hotel is ten minutes walk from the harbour, and in a lovely setting. The rooms are not particularly fancy, but they are freshly decorated, clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is satisfactory to good, although if you like lobster ask Pat the owner to get you one for dinner - the chef does an excellent job in cooking and serving it. Our lobster dinner was one of the highlights of our trip. And there were many - the amazing views, the enjoyable walks all over the island, the beautiful beaches; Inishbofin is a topnotch island!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a party and barbecue at the Dolphin the day after our wedding in June 2013. Brilliant staff, food, drink and craic - you will not be disappointed. We also had three nights stay in the hotel. The rooms were a great size and were spotless. Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Lovely big rooms on the ground floor with direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.8 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
13.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
10.4 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin

Property: The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
Address: Middle Quarter, Inishbofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing