We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break!”
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend break!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have just come back from a two night break in Lough Inagh, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We were made very welcome, including our two Border Collies!! It is in a remarkable spot surrounded by stunning scenery. Our bedroom was very comfortable and the food excellent, we will be back!
Margaret and Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretDickson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    25
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
126
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Lough Inagh Lodge at Easter, and it was a fine experience from start to finish. We have strangely not spent much time in Connemara until recently even though we live only a couple of hours drive away. Since Christmas drawn by hiking initially at Diamond Hill, we have now visited on three separate weekends, staying on each occasion in a different hotel. By far, the best experience we have had has been at the Lough Inagh Lodge. Booking was a muddled affair on my part, as it was late evening after a late difficult day. But after unfumbling my words I conveyed that we wanted to stay two nights arriving Good Friday. Without any difficulty and with warmth and good humour the booking was taken, and the possibility of a room with a view towards the lake given. We arrived in due course, and the best of surprises awaited. We were given the Joyce suite which had a lake view through all of its many windows, and from its four poster bed. Lough Inagh Lodge is in a wonderful location, completely renovated with two cosy reception rooms that provide peaceful locations in which to chat, enjoy a hot drink, drink a glass of wine or read a book, all while listening to the crackle of the fire (Easter was cold this year). There is a peaceful bar, fantastic barman, for whom nothing seems ever to be a problem and whose good humour is contagious. We ate in the restaurant our first night, our second night, and we enjoyed our stay so much we stayed for a third night and ate in the restaurant again. The standard of food is very high and we noted other dinner guests had travelled from other hotels to sample it. Lough Inagh is perfectly placed for hikers. It attracts a nice clientel drawn by the outdoors, but who like to be able to come back to wonderful comfort at the end of a hard days trek. The owner Maire is a wonderful host, warm, friendly and helped make our stay such a pleasant one. So while we have taken a break for the summer months, we will return to Connemara come Autumn. When we do it will be the Lough Inagh Lodge that we stay in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

First impressions: "We'll have tea and scones ready for you in the sitting room." - no better Irish welcome; on return from a long day hillwalking : "We'll have tea and scones ..." - no better way to relax!
Rooms are meticulously clean, beautifully furnished, incredibly spacious, lovely bedlinen, big bathroom and dressing room. Dining room - spectacular views. Sitting rooms - open fires, tea and scones. Bar - we never got there - too comfortable to move !!!
Food at dinner and breakfast - magnificent. Professional service but with a warmth that is often lacking elsewhere. Presentation of food - a delight.

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room you had - everything is just prefect!t
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeantMajorMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We chose Lough Inagh Lodge for dinner completely at random. We were staying elsewhere in the area and wanted to try a different restaurant. This looked nice on the Internet and the Trip Advisor reviews were very favourable, so we reserved a table and off we went. The first impact is the fabulous location overlooking the lake and with magnificent views in every direction. We had scarcely entered the door when we were greeted and welcomed and offered a choice of a drink at the bar or going straight to our table. We chose the latter and were shown to a table with superb views of the lake through a french window.Excellent start.
On offer was a five course fixed price menu (at €44 + 10%) offering a good choice of starters, a sorbet, good choices of mains and deserts plus tea/coffee with petit fours.
We started with a goats cheese in filo pastry and a soup, both excellent. For mains we both had the fillet steaks (no supplements). They were served in an excellent pepper sauce with dutchess potatoes and nicely prepared veg. Seconds of both were offered and gladly accepted. Excellent deserts followed and we then elected to have tea in the lounge where friendly chat and drinks with other diners continued for quite a while..
Service was friendly, helpful and yet unobtrusive throughout, making the whole dining experience a treat from start to finish.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

From when you first walk in the door and are offered tea and homemade scones to settle in until you get in your car to leave you are looked after as a returning member of the family to be spoiled with your feet up! Staff are friendly and attentive yet manage to let you do your own thing and seem to be staying out of your way.

It was great to have the peace and quiet throughout with no distracting TV in the bar however they kindly brought a tv into the bar for the rugby match – nice to have it when you want it but out of sight otherwise. Fire going in the two sitting rooms and in the bar made it a little difficult to energise yourself to get out for a nice walk or hike (of which there are plenty nearby). Bedrooms are large, clean and the beds comfortable.

Dinner was excellent on both nights and the staff again are all extremely friendly including the their young trainee from France with very little English but tried his best. Tomas who looked after us for most of the weekend in both the bar and the restaurant was superb.

Only slight criticism I would have is a lack of background music which when things quieten down in the restaurant/bar area they can lose some of the atmosphere.

The offer of tea/coffee and homemade scones when you check out was just another simple touch that will ensure we return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBurns1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night during a few days in the country. After Dublin and before Galway, I wanted my family (two 20-something girls) to see a quieter, different side of Ireland. This fit the bill perfectly and was beyond expectations. Granted, there was itching to do but appreciate the beauty of the area since we were there just before they were closing up for the season. But the house is a lovely, old manor house and the staff was wonderful. It was a really lovely stay. The next day we explored the Kylemore Abbey the next day...definitely worth the short drive further out. Just watch out for the sheep! They are everywhere!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gottakeepgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were in the area visiting my daughter and decided to stay in Lough Inagh Lodge. I had been here once before for dinner and had enjoyed the food and ambiance of this beautiful Lodge nestled in the hills of Connemara (my favourite part of Ireland). We arrived in the dark had a beautiful dinner in the bar with our daughter and her friends. As this was the second time visiting and on both occasions in the dark, I was not prepared for the totally breathtaking views which we awoke to the following morning. The service and staff were welcoming and friendly. We were able to relax in the sumptuous lounge in front of the toasty warm fire reading papers and the interesting volumes of coffee table books. Would love to have stayed longer, maybe the next time..........

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
6.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
11.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
6.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
825 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Property: Lough Inagh Lodge
Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge County Galway, Ireland - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing