We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional”
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed as part of a walking holiday. The overall impression was that of staying in a country house, rather than in an hotel. We were greeted by the owner who brought us tea and scones. There was a fair turnover of guests of different nationalities but the owner and her staff all took time to make one welcome. You could have dinner either in the more formal dining room or the bar. The meal was traditional but with a modern, lighter slant and very well presented. Great breakfast choice with plenty of fruit as well as cooked options. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcaminante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We did not stay at the lodge. We ate dinner in the dining room after a day of cycling. The food was excellent. My wife had local fresh lobster and I had a local fish. Both entrees were very good as were our appetizers and salads. Mara was most accommodating in the dining room. As the dining room filled up, we moved to the bar for dessert. Thomas, the bartender, was very friendly and gave me some pointers on the various Irish whiskies which he had there at the bar. The bar was very cozy with sporting memorabilia, as the lodge is a fly fisherman destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

For many years, driving the lonely road joining Recess Village with the Clifden-Leenaun route, we passed this brilliantly-located Lodge/Hotel and wondered what it would be like to stay there ? Finally we decided to give it a try, and the fact that an intended 2 night stay extended to 3 nights surely says something positive.

The Lodge is described in one guidebook as "akin to a family home where guests are encouraged to relax and enjoy the peace", and in our view it lives-up to that promise. It's quite compact (13 bedrooms), with two comfortable "Sitting-Rooms", a lovely Dining-Room, and a small Bar. The Bedrooms are named after famous Irish literary figures - ours being the George Bernard Shaw Room - and pictures of these "greats" are interspersed with the eclectic mix of paintings & prints displayed throughout this attractive House (lurking amidst the "literary giants" we also observed one Eamonn deValera, and then searched in vain for "The Big Fellow", Michael Collins !)

Our welcome was warm, and we were very impressed with our Room, which looked-out onto Lough Inagh. The offer of tea and (warm) scones helped us settle-in, and we soon began to savour our surroundings and unwind.

Dinner (Euro 49) - we ate here for three nights - is generally quite good, our favourite Starter being a particularly tasty "Black Pudding Spring-Roll", and as for Mains the winner definitely was the "Monkfish Special of the Day". Bearing in mind the size of the Lodge, they have an excellently-chosen and very fairly-priced Winelist, so well done to them !

But the real core ingredients which make a stay here most enjoyable are the Hosts : Maire and Dominic - both of them extremely attentive (not intrusive), and, as a bonus for those interested, Gaeilge binn blasta acu beirt ! Maire would remind you of the best style of "Bean a' Ti" - warm, committed, helpful, reliable, and producing a "cupan tae" at (almost) any time you feel even slightly thirsty ! For his part, Dominic is equally warm, as well as being shrewd, energetic, responsive, erudite, and possessing a slightly wicked sense of humour (we grinned when he was directing a large group of Americans to the Dining-Room "turn LEFT - if you want your Dinner, you've got to become DEMOCRATS !)

Even with two wonderful people running the show, not everything runs smoothly all the time. Breakfast, for example, can be a bit of a struggle - the buffet display of fruits, juices, cereals, breads etc. is great, but you gamble when you order from the "cooked" menu, as you may not get exactly what you order, and the Chef shows a definite tendency to "over-cook" your food. Coffee here won't win any Rosettes either - the Owners should go and experience "the real thing" somewhere like "Mocha Beans" in Galway/Westport or more nearby, "Upstairs/Downstairs" in Clifden. And inexperienced staff can let you down in other ways too : in an almost empty Bar, an extremely polite young American lady had to ask the Barperson for a cloth to wipe an unacceptably dirty table, and the same American had to request a "Finger-Bowl" to go with her portion of Mussels - not great on the lady's very first visit to Ireland with her Irish husband eh ?

Mentioning these lapses may seem picky, but Maire & Dominic do such an excellent job that it seems a shame when they appear let-down. (To give them due credit, they responded well when we gave them some honest feedback on what we had experienced or observed !)

So, overall, would we go to "Lough Inagh Lodge" again ? We think we would. This place is quiet (some guests might feel tempted to recall the memorable John Wayne line "too durned quiet" ?) but we like peace, tranquility and stunning scenery, and we definitely enjoyed ourselves. What Maire and Dominic offer here they do extremely well almost all of the time - go neiri an t-adh leo !

Room Tip: For a reasonable supplement you should book a de-luxe room with views over Lough Inagh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We booked here last minute and were pleasantly suprised. We arrived late in the evening so the restaurant was closed but we were offered soup, sandwiches or chowder. It was delicious.
Loved everything Lough Inagh Lodge, bedroom was fantastic and there was alot of brilliant choice for breakfast. All the staff were really helpful and friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly_bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Remote and rugged the Loch Inagh Lodge is a splendid and authentically archetypal Victorian pile, with the charms of a manor house and the comfort of a well run boutique hotel. Arriving too late for dinner, but not too late to sample some of the local whiskey sitting in the warmth of a peat fire, we slept soundly in comfortable quality linen in a four poster bed, in a spacious ground floor room discretely themed on Samuel Beckett.

The large corner room had lots of windows overlooking gardens and the loch, accessed by a path about 200m in front of the hotel. Bathroom was large, functional and well equipped, with a small dressing room.

The breakfast in an attractive Victorian styled dining room was excellent with a good selection of dishes, including freshly smoked kippers, which made a change from the ubiquitous ‘traditional Irish breakfast’ which of course was also available.

All in all, possibly the nicest place we stayed in Ireland, partly because of its splendid rugged setting, but mainly because of its combination of traditional style with its modern comforts. Unfortunately we were only there for one night and were unable to appreciate its charms fully, including the library, parlour and bar, nor the dinner which by all accounts is a highlight, but its certainly it will be one place we will be coming back to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intrepidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Perfect in everyway, starting with the warm, friendly, accomodating staff. Food was excellent, amenties thoughtful. Best part for me was 1. The breakfast 2. Morning walk down the trail to the water for fabulous sunrise views. 3. Cuddling up in the wing chair by the window in the LR with fireplace burning and smelling so good, coffee in hand. 4. Evening, relaxing in LR with fireplace burning and conversations with interesting guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwencameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A comfortable and quiet lodge in a beautiful spot. Large well furnished rooms. Great attention to detail. All staff highly professional and attentive. Excellent traditional irish breakfast menu. Well balanced dinner menu with variety of excellent and creative dishes. Also option of dining in their own small pub . Superb views of the Lough..would return here in a heartbeat if only closer to home! Recommend highly

Room Tip: Front of house room overlooking lough if available . Otherwise all rooms fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mfmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
6.5 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
12.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
363 reviews
7.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range: £132 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge County Galway, Ireland - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing