We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend away...”
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed here in July for one night and it is an excellent place for a quiet weekend away. The food and standard of accommodation is nothing less that one would expect and the location is great if you want to get away from it all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEM1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Lough Inagh Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2008

I am a fairly demanding traveller and was pleasantly surprised by the hospitality (reserved hospitality) of this hotel.

The hosts are quite hospitable. For instance, we were arriving very late to the hotel and the kitchen was closed by then. However, we had a cup of tea and a hot meal kept for us on the arrival. You will have your privacy, but yet you will be made feel at home. To categorize it right, it reminded me more of the inn or a bed and breakfast. So if that is what you are looking for, I would highly recommend it.

The location is great - amazing view of the lake, on a quieter road in Connemara and not far from numerous hiking trails.

With all fairness, rooms on the ground floor are a bit dark, but the ones on the first floor were cheerful and had a magnificent view. The common space - i.e. lounge where you can sit by the fireplace and relax- is small, basically enough for just 2 couples. Every corner and the land surrounding the hotel is very cozy and well kept.

Breakfast pleases a hungry hiker with variety and plentifullness - fruit, cheeses, breads followed by a warm selection of your choice. I didn't have a dinner there, but it enjoyes AA rosettes.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

Booked to stay here for a couple of evenings during a driving holiday around the North & West of the South (of Ireland).

Totally impressive.

A great combination of a small number of well maintained guestrooms & attentive staff.

Almost an "Edwardian House Party" atmosphere in the evenings.

(But no pressure to become involved)

Only one niggle : The Breakfasts & Evening Meals were an excellent selection of locally(ish) sourced foodstuffs. Well presented but a little overcooked. Leaving aside this one point (and I'm a hard marker) I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank djaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

we often passed Lough Inagh on our regular visits to the area and this time decided to stay! and we were so glad we did! we had three nights b & b with three evening mealsand the warm and friendly approach on the phone when my husband made the booking was echoed as soon as we stepped into the entrance hall l we knew we had made the right choice. Lough Inagh has two standards of room - we stayed in the superior! i cant imagine what the de-luxe rooms would be like as our room was truly beautiful. the food was excellent, staff fantastic and the views from the hotel out of this world. to sit in an evening in the hotels garden looking out at the view was amazing! thank you for a fantastic stay and we will be back! but shhhh! dont tell anyone else this is a little bit of heaven we dont want to share! Jim & karen Presho, Hillsborough N Ireland

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkpnireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

I stayed in the Lough Inagh Lodge a few years ago and loved it. However, we booked it recently and fell foul of one of the tricks hotels like to play sometimes.

We booked a superior room with a view of the lake. We confirmed that it was definitely available for the following night (we live in Galway anyway, so no point staying here if it wasn't a great room with a great view) and even rearranged our schedule and work so that we could go that night.

When we got there we were told that the owner had booked it incorrectly and only a lesser room was available.

There are only a few rooms in Lough Inagh Lodge, and we booked it the day before, so it seems to me almost impossible to be able to confirm to a guest a specific room and get it wrong! My guess is they wanted to fill the hotel and figured if we came all this way on a bank holiday we would just take whatever we could get. When we arrived they clearly already knew a "mistake" had been made but never bothered to call us.

We didn't, we left, and we told them we would pass on the experience. When will hotels realise that you simply can't spoof guests and expect to get away with it?

Lough Inagh Lodge is a very nice place. The scenery around Lough Inagh is fantastic. But if they try to mess you around, remember this story and just go find a place in Clifden or Letterfrack instead!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
13  Thank Apsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

Just returned from a lovely relaxing 4 night stay in the Lough Inagh Lodge. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and is full of character.
Bedrooms were beautiful and very spacious and we had a lovely view of the hotels gardens.
We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and we totally felt at home here. Plently of walks nearby to tire our 2 dogs out, and then back to the hotel for lunch and to chill out by the turf fire in the drawing room, what more could you ask for!

Food was lovely and the staff couldnt be nicer - they were all exteremly helpful and friendly!

Highly recommend for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LAURASKINNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

A very relaxing stay, food was fantastic. The view was amazing from our Suite and the staff were extremely helpful and kind.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank Saoire007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
6.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
10.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
734 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
356 reviews
6.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
869 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range: £131 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge County Galway, Ireland - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing