We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel(Recess)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Railway View(Recess)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveller rating
1,124
234
80
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
234
80
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfly fishingriver viewmanor housefisherman's pieluxury roomroaring firehunting lodgetroutfour poster bedowenmore restaurantconnemara regionsitting areaold worldbeautiful roommain restaurantchowder
Filter
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Don't let the clever marketing fool you, this IS a Manor home rather than an authentic castle. That being said, rooms were okay, food was good but expensive. Staff was friendly, but no 24hr desk. Wait staff was mostly french speaking. Bathrooms were nice and newer but rooms could be refurbished. No pool, or fitness center. Definitely get the vibe this the "Shareholders" fishing playground that they allow you to stay at. Staff referenced the "shareholders" several times. Overall, it was fine for a night but more than that would be too much. There are real castles for the money in the area like ashford.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyman192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here on our anniversary. The room was lovely. The service was friendly and accommodating. The scenery in late September was gorgeous. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant 2 nights. While the food and service were very good it was quite expensive. All in all,
it was a nice splurge for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the river and could walk out of our room onto the grounds. It appeared we were in a newer wing and not the original building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in Sept, 13 on one night with dinner. We had a classic riverview room in the old part on the 2nd floor. The view was lovely as were the room and bath. We also liked the added space of the foyer. However, we were in room #10 and we could hear ALL of the noise from the kitchen. It must come up the nearby stairwell. There were banging pans and talking until after 11 p.m. The shower is also a big miss. We ended up with water everywhere and we obviously aren't alone since the baseboard was rotting. And, finally, who would put the shampoo and bath gel in glass bottles next to the showers. Very dangerous. Too bad since the rest of the hotel and the grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid Room #10 if you want peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was a real treat to have visited this beautiful location. The location is on a beautiful and vast property. Fishing, hunting, and sports such as tennis is available along horseback riding. Inside, there are several magnificent fireplaces after spending time out. The service was excellent and the managers took time to share the history of the castle. My room had a great view in front of the river. The food was very good. I can certainly see why folks would have the urge to sing Shanindoh.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank mytripandstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just returned from Ireland and have a new favorite place to stay while there. We have been fortunate to travel several times in Ireland but had never visited the Connemara area. Clifden and the surrounding area is a fantastic place to spend several days. The sky road has one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen. In addition to great restaurants, pubs and shops there are tons of outdoor activities here. The Ballynahinch Castle is idyllic. The setting on the river is spectacular with walking paths everywhere revealing one beautiful view after another. Although we did not fish, it was obvious this was a typical event there. The hotel is a bit worn and rustic but honestly it only adds to the charm. Our room (reported to be the maharaja's, a former owner) was huge, with a very comfortable bed and beautiful view. The tub was a bit awkward for showering but not a deal breaker. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious, served overlooking the river. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant or pub, but the food looked great and I would definitely eat there next time. I highly recommend this experience when traveling in Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews