We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a great setting to start off our trip to Ireland. The staff was extremely helpful in getting our tolls situated and breakfast and dinner here were great. The rooms were well appointed with large bathrooms and comfy beds. I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    194
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
218
755
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel really feels like stepping back one hundered years. Our bedroon was huge, over looking the lake, and the food spectacular. There was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the caslte, staff were very friendly and you were made to feel very welcome. The best part was going for a walk around the lake, it is exceptionally beautiful . I have to say that staying here was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Ballynahinch is in another world, one where you can just feel quiet and peaceful as you walk through the trees and around the the lake and grounds. The rooms are really very comfortable, all different and other worldly with wonderful vistas to look out on of the mountains or lake. At the end of the day the bar is convivial and welcoming with a great log fire and friendly staff with time to take an interest in your day.

The lovely dining room manages the difficult balance between formality and pleasantness so you can just enjoy your meal and relax. The menu Is seasonal offering game and fish from the locality, the meals delicious and fresh.

The only irritation in all of this nice ambience was the lack of an obvious manager in the restaurant and a female member of staff whose loud voice boomed out across the dining room across the conversations of the guests!!! The guests are not really interested in hotel gossip.

Nevertheless, we will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old house are much nicer than the new rooms, which are meant to be superior, but ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are lovely with a relaxing lounge and fireplace. The staff were excellent. Food was superb although went to bar instead of restaurant as was significantly cheaper. Great to go for a walk in the grounds. Water from taps was a slightly odd colour - separate drinking water provided! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First visit to this wonderful hotel and just wonder how I have missed staying here before. It is perfect with its log fires,charming staff and wonderful food and service. Location is magical, with 450 acres of gardens, walks and mountain views. What a spectacular dining room looking out on the river and a myriad of Winter trees. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and can't wait to revisit again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMarting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

this place is a Shangri la of old world comfort and service
couldn't fault our experience over a November weekend.
Food was 5 star and the ambience of the place was just magic.
Log fires and a general feeling of calm throughout make this place one of the real hidden gems of the west

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mossynobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here in late October and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Hotel is in a beautiful location and has fabulous grounds to wonder around - the hotel produces a handy map of walks to do around the estate.

We had a lovely room in the main house and whilst small was really well furnished, comfortable and had plenty of character and most importantly a great view of the river. I particularly enjoyed the offer of complimentary tea and coffee in our room and it was a lovely touch to have proper tea in a silver teapot delivered to our room first thing in the morning rather than having to flap about with the usual standard hospitality trays normally available in hotels.

What really impressed us about Ballynahinch was the staff and how friendly they all were and there was a great mix of local and international staff and everyone including the General Manager made us feel very welcome and sought to create a relaxed atmosphere. Food was great, service was attentive and it was wonderful to have the choice of fine dining in the restaurant and then a more informal pub meal the following night.

Would thoroughly recommend Ballynahinch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,495 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
24.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
228 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#1 of 1 in Recess
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Property: Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 450 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel County Galway, Ireland - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing