We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Real Irish Kindness”
other travellers have booked this property
Luthy Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luthy Lodge
Outdoor Table & Chairs Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Luthy Lodge
Outdoor Table & Chairs
Kitchen
Sitting room, Dining area, Fireside
Double Bed in En Suite Bedroom 1
Single Bed in En Suite Bedroom 1
En Suite Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Entrance Porch
Front Door
In the Twelve Bens
The Glencoaghan Horseshoe, Twelve Bens Mountains
Roundstone Fishing Village
Connemara Ponies in Luthy, Glencoaghan
Sky Road, Clifden (Coastal Drive)
Ballynahinch River, Rhodedendrons in bloom
Rainbow in the Twelve Bens
Connemara Cows
The Omey Races, Omey Strand
Dogs Bay Beach, Roundstone
Luthy Lodge, upstairs twin, Bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Recess, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

HarryY344
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Real Irish Kindness”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is at the end of a single track road leading up a valley in the "twelve pins" .The journey is delightfully punctuated by stops to let sheep, ponies or donkeys move to one side. Luthy Lodge is comfortable, warm ,dry and well appointed with dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier and copious hot water and our only criticism would be that a couple of the mattresses and bed frames were a bit tired. The setting is so glorious that these little things really don't matter. John D ,the owner ,was very kind, thoughtful and prompt as we arrived and most helpful when we had a problem with the hire car.Everyone we met round about was extraordinarily friendly and welcoming. The Connemara scenery is hauntingly beautiful and Luthy Lodge is right in the middle of it. A memorable place.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaat V
Ashford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A refuge amongst the "Bens"”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a wonderful place to stay on the shoulder of the Connemara Bens. The owner, John, is a true gentleman and the house itself had everything you would need. It is an area of mists and bogs so be prepared for that however once you ditch the need for TV and wifi (although mobiles work!) it is indeed a fantastic retreat.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara P
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven in Connemara”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have long hesitated to write this review simply because I don't ever want to find myself unable to book Luthy Lodge in the future due to it being full up! We had a sublime Autumn break here and loved everything about it. Luthy offers total seclusion against one of the most scenic mountain backdrops in Connemara. This charming cottage is spotlessly clean, comfortable, well equipped and with a location to die for. If you are looking for somewhere peaceful and secluded, yet with outstanding views and direct walking access from your garden and straight up a mountain without touching a path, road or track, yet all the while being within a short drive of lovely Clifden, then Luthy Lodge is the place for you.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb views, tranquil location, spotless cleanliness, design of cottage and lovely cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise J
Montpelier VT, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a very nice house--well equipped and beautifully decorated. The owners are attentive and helpful and left a nice collection of goodies for us on our arrival. The setting is beautiful, only 2 miles off the main road, but feels very remote.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMule20...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tasteful, spacious cottage with amazing views.”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house is spacious with 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large open plan living area / kitchen. It is very tastefully decorated in a simple, modern way with art on the walls of every room. Clearly there has been a lot of attention to detail with quality fittings throughout the property. The house is really well equipped with everything you would need for even a long stay, everything is spotlessly clean. We slept really well, its very dark and quiet with comfortable beds.

On arrival we were met by John, the owner, who showed us around the house and left us with scones, jam and various other goodies to make us feel welcome which we really appreciated. The house was easy to find and we had no issues when arriving or leaving.

The best part about the property are the amazing views, it is located halfway up the side of the hills right in the heart of the Twelve Bens Mountains. The house is quite isolated but in reality it is only 15 / 20 minutes into Clifden which is well equipped with good supermarkets and restaurants. The location is a good place to explore Connemara, being fairly central. The house is about 2 miles off the main road up a single track road, this is steep and a bit rough - you won't have a problem if you take it easy though.
The house has a nice little garden - we saw a fox, rabbits, horses as well as the ubiquitous sheep.
Overall, I would definitely want to stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: facilities and decoration and views
Liked least: road to property a bit rough
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A
2 reviews
“We will definitely return!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a fantastic way to end our trip! The road up to the cottage is an adventure in itself! We passed ponies, rabbits, sheep, etc. The house itself was very well presented and very comfortable. Our family has already discussed returning next year. It's in a very quiet and scenic area with only a 10 minute drive to Clifden. The owner John was very kind and accommodating and made us feel at home. Thanks!

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C
1 review
“The best holiday cottage we have ever had!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This is a very cosy and beautiful holiday cottage. It's very well equipped, very clean. The house is well furnitured and decorated. We loved it to be there. The fantastic view and the quietness is incomparable. There's a nice garden where you can relax with all the mountains around you. The owners are wonderful people and we got a lovely starter pack with some goodies. We look forward to coming back as soon as possible.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.