We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renvyle House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I went to Renvyle for a week in June and it was fabulous. It is in a brilliant location, right on the sea and also a loch where kayaking, rowing and fishing are all available and free. The rooms were great and all of the staff absolutely charming. It was a very relaxing stay and the food was extraordinarily good. I would definitely recommend it and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Public Relations Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Alice W,

Thank you for staying with us earlier this Summer and for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing break.
We would love to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,

Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Renvyle House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Fantastic location, between the Atlantic coast and a lake. Family friendly and dog friendly. A very comfortable hotel. Yes some areas of the hotel require refurbishment, but the location on the coast, the hotel grounds and the helpful staff easily make up for that. Excellent breakfast and dinner. All the restaurant staff were very professional and helpful. I was very impressed how well the restaurant handled a large number of tables for delicious 4 course dinners, serving each course exactly when you would like it. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Carolyn H.,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will pass on your compliments to our staff too.
With best wishes,

Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Impressive drive way up to the hotel through the extensive grounds. Very peaceful and relaxing location overlooking the sea. Attractive old main building but the more modern annexe not so, although didn't see the rooms. There are no other properties of pubs within around 2 miles.

We stayed on the top floor of the main building in a spacious, sunny room with a sea view. The decor and furnishings in the room were a little old/ tired, particularly the bathroom which needed renovation. Nice big bed but we found it too soft for comfort.

The public areas are very traditional and cosy but again could do do with some updating and in some areas, like the conservatory, a good spring clean! The dining room is quite large and noisy and a bit dark. The swimming pool was very disappointing and quite shabby - obviously aimed at kids and not for adult lounging.

This is very much a family orientated hotel, which you should be aware of if you are travelling as a couple - a lot of the facilities are aimed at smaller family members. We stayed for 4 nights over the August bank holiday and it was full of children so not very quiet. Perhaps not the best choice during the summer for a romantic break!

The best thing about the hotel was the food, which was excellent. The set dinner menu with a number of choices for each course was very good value. Breakfast was also of a high standard. Only criticism if you are dining in several nights is that the menu doesn't change a great deal, although there is an informal bar menu if you prefer to eat in one of the other public areas. Wonderful scones too with the afternoon tea. Service was very friendly and helpful and in the main pretty efficient. If the food had not been so good then I would only have given the hotel a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Jasmine101Surrey,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review.
We are planning some refurbishment over the quieter months for our bedrooms and indeed the conservatory, a room which gets a lot of use.
The swimming pool has had tremendous use this summer by both adults and children. And the furniture gets moved around often during each day although our staff do try to keep a bit of order on them during the day.
Thank you for your compliments on the dining experience at Renvyle, we have a wonderful team in the kitchen and in service and we will pass on your kind words.
With kind regards,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fantastic stay, an ideal location for a relaxing holiday with children. Extremely family friendly and an especially good idea to have a children's club which is open late afternoon and into the evening allowing parents to have their meal in peace. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic. To top everything is the stunning location with easy access to beautiful countryside and seaside. We stayed in an Island Suite which was spacious and comfortable although could do with some extra care to make it luxurious, for example a rug in the living room and repainting the walls would go a long way to upgrading the room. This is obviously a hotel where people return to time and again and you can see why, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear englishabdullah,
Thank you and your family for staying with us recently. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to unwind and indeed explore Connemara from here.
Thankfully, we have had an exceptionally busy summer and we plan to paint some of our bedrooms during the quieter periods.
We hope you and your family had a safe return journey home and hope we can welcome you back again at some stage in the future.
With kind regards,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a great hotel welcoming to all ages! Beautifully situated in the heart of Connemara it is truly a "stress free zone" as advertised. All the best qualities of Irish hospitality are on display; comfy well appointed rooms, nice cozy bar, exceptional cuisine in the hands of Chef Tim O'Sullivan and serviced by a well trained, pleasant and attentive staff. Plenty to do on the grounds including beach, golf, tennis, croquet, billiards, swimming or just nothing. Short drive to Clifden and all the sights of the West. Not cheap but an excellent return on the investment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank podge747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Pdge747,

Thank you and your family for staying with us with during the Summer and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
We hope you had a safe return journey home across ‘the pond’.

With kind regards

Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This property is set right at the shoreline with views all around, and then you get to your room...what a disappointment. The bed had two sagging holes where years of people sleeping on it had pressed through what use to be the mattress support. The end of the bed was higher than the head of the bed. We asked to change rooms, but the room offered was not a better bed and 3 flights up the stairs. This property has a lot going for it, but the quality of bedding has to be addressed including the flattest pillows ever. When we read online about the property we expected much better. One of the rooms our family stayed in had the sink in the bedroom instead of the bathroom, when they turned on the water in the tub, the fixture flew straight off. If the quality of the rooms can improve to match the beautiful location, folks might feel like the price point is justified.

Room Tip: Ask for new bed and pillow rooms
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Bouldercityvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Bouldercityvic
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of your stay. We have taken all your points on board. We are planning a bedroom refurbishment programme over the coming weeks and will include your comments in our plans.
With kind regards,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Did not stay here, but visited for dinner and had a great time in this long-established hotel surrounded by glorious views. Very good a friendly service and tasty food. This seemed like a well-run hotel with lots of sporting facilities and a 9- (now 7 due to erosion!) hole golf course.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PestfromBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear PestfromBuda

Thank you for dining with us recently and for writing a review of your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and hope you will return again in the future.

With kind regards,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renvyle
9.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
10.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
868 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renvyle House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renvyle House is a four star, historic country house, family owned and family run. It first opened as a hotel in 1883 and is spectacularly located on a 150 acre estate on the shores of the Wild Atlantic Way (midway point of the longest car touring route in the world!). Renvyle House is known for it’s “air of otherwordliness” which we believe is a strong and unique selling point and something of which we are very proud. Our emphasis is on customer service “friendly combined with professional” and we believe this plays a large part in why Renvyle enjoys over 55% repeat business. The hotel resort grounds include a private lake, a par 3 golf course, a beach, woodlands, gardens and numerous activities on site including tennis, croquet, outdoor heated swimming pool & Canadia Hot Tub which overlokks the Atlantic (summer months), fly-fishing, canoeing and more. Renvyle House is also well known for it’s good food and this is as much due to the locally sourced fresh produce (lamb, fish, vegetables and herbs from our own garden) as to Tim O’Sullivan’s expertise in the kitchen (Tim is our award winning Executive Chef). Renvyle House always has a warm welcome guaranteed for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing