We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress? What stress?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renvyle House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stress? What stress?”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

You approach Renvyle House Hotel after driving through the Connemara countryside. Take your time and enjoy the view. And watch out for the sheep that like to sleep on the road at night.
After you enter the gates of the long winding driveway, you'll see a sign that reads "Stress Free Zone" - they're not kidding. Then you'll see the hotel itself, which is a lovely old building with a long history involving poets, pirates and royalty.
I've been going to Renvyle House Hotel every year for the last 8 years, and I have no intention of stopping anytime soon; I absolutely love the place.
The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff are genuinely friendly and efficient and they're always happy to help.
You will not be bored here, if sitting in front of the turf fire relaxing with a book doesn't suit you, there's activities like golf, swimming, fishing, tennis, hill walking and plenty of others on offer. Or if you prefer, go and see the in-house wellbeing coach about a massage or relax in the hot tub.
If you want a hotel where you can feel as properly relaxed as you do in your own home then this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    147
    68
    37
    17
See reviews for
226
288
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My family and I had the pleasure of staying in this Hotel for the New Year period. We were made most welcome by all the staff and the manager from the moment we arrived with little details such as presents for the children on arrival. The children were expertly cared for at the hotel kids club during our stay whch helped make our stay most relaxing.We ate all meals in the hotel for the duration of our stay and the food was exceptional , especially lamb!

We were treated to a champagne reception witrh canapes on new year eve which followed by a super meal and live music by a great band made a great (very late!) night.
we had to practically tear our chidren form the place on departure . we will definely be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustinhoffmanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

After 25 years of loyal custom and numerous reccomendationd over those years to friend far and wide the Rudest Chief Executive ever has brought an abrubt end to our wonderful memories of the Renvyle.
Our complaint was a small one and easily dealt with by even the most junior hotel trainee manager. All it required was the display of a little genuine empathy for the mistake the hotel restaurant made by arbitrarily changing our booking for a particular table with a both a view and the nostalgia of being the table we spent out two week honeymoon at in 1988.
Instead, when Ronnie Counihan asked us how was everything (shortly after we had been located rather uncermoniously to a different table) and we politely explained our dissatisfaction with our treatment, his response utterly astounded us. He said after a very brief discussio on our issue, "I only came over to ask you about the food"!! Flabbergasted we trien in vain to point out that our real complaint was that we felt we we had been professionaly and uncermoniously placed at this tabel with little engagement with our complaint and indeed should have been given the option of getting the table requested later, he said that "She (The restaurant supervisor) could have done this if she had thought about it" and then once again said "I only came over to ask you about the food". I pointed out that I felt he was not fully engaging with our problem and his response was that "That was my interpretation"! How rude and how foolish can a Chief Executive be? Surely his directors and shareholders are entitled to expect their senior representative to make every effort to hold on to loyal customers at all times and particularly in these challenging times. Instead he choosed to disregard a genuine complaint where even a sincere apology and an offer of securing the seat in question for our breakfast would have suffuced. Mistakes happen and the managements ability to respond to a complaint can earn them respect and continued loyalty. The real irony is that up to that third and final evening our stay had been wonderful and our praise for this hotel and their staff would have been glowing. One rude Chief Executive ruined it all.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
17 Thank dcregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

i was so dissapointed the place is dirty old and needs a serious revamp holes in the seats needs a total overhaul would never go back the room was filthy and damp spent the whole night awake and freezing an absolute rip off cant believe people are still going here it should be closed down break away from hell

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

My husband and I just ADORE Renvyle so much so that we went down about 3/4 times last year. It is such a charming spot and located in the most beautiful part of Ireland. While the hotel may be a little dated with regard to bedrooms etc this just adds to the charm. Food is simply amazing and the staff are all lovely in particular Ronnie and his son who run the place.
When I enter the gates of renvyle I immediately feel a sense of relaxation come upon me....there are fabulous little walks and glorious beaches around the area....the lounge area is very chilled and if looking for a weekend to destree with great food...HEAD TO RENVYLE!!!! I'm already looking for an excuse to go back again......

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinDipso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Public Relations Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2009
Thank you for your complimentary posting on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay – as well as all your other stays too – and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Renvyle vey soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We had a dinner reservation, otherwise we would have fled.Tables untended-not wiped down within the 45mins we sat in the bar. Ladies toilets were atrocious, sanitary products spilling out of bins.Restaurant was good but having travelled such a distance it is not acceptable to be told that we would HAVE to take coffee in the lounge as the needed the table!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Public Relations Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry you had such a negative experience with us and while we do accept all of your comments relating to the night in question we must explain that on that night we were hosting a local function for what we had been assured would be 120 people. Due to the over sale of tickets we catered for 210 people in our dining room that evening and so for some hours all departments were put under immense pressure. No negative comments were received regarding the food and we apologise too that you had to move to the lounge to take coffee – this is certainly not the norm in Renvyle. I do hope you are prepared to visit us again at some time in the future and so provide us with the opportunity to show you a very different experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I really had a relaxing bank holiday at Renvyle. It is not plush or fancy, but is very relaxed, comfortable and has all the basic comforts in great surroundings. There are numerous bolt holes where you can sit back and relax in the day, such as a nice conservatory that is comfortable even in the howling wind and rain ( and made even better with a good book, pint of Guinness and seafood chowder), a big fire in the main hallway and a secluded reading room.
The menu each night was excellent in restaurant. Friends who were there with kids found the facilities very good, and 4 legged friends are also well tolerated and accommodated.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewmanager, Pub at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2009
Thank you for your time, effort and very kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your lovely descriptive wording regarding our public areas. We pride ourselves on creating a friendly, homely atmosphere complimented by a professional service for both adults and children alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renvyle
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
10.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
824 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Property: Renvyle House Hotel
Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renvyle House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renvyle House is a four star, historic country house, first opened as a hotel in 1883 and is spectacularly located on a 150 acre estate on the shores of the Wild Atlantic Way. The hotel resort grounds include a private lake, par 3 golf course, a beach, woodlands, gardens and numerous activities on site including tennis, croquet, outdoor heated swimming pool (summer months), fly-fishing, canoeing and more. The team both in the Dining Room and in the Hotel have won many awards over the years and are most proud of our reputation for hospitality and service with a warm welcome guaranteed for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing