We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island View House B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“An absolute jewel!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Apart from one or two minor things, you would be hard pushed to find another as welcoming, clean, comfortable, friendly and well positioned place to stay when visiting Connemara. Aisling and Maurice can't do enough for their guests and they have certainly impressed my four visiting Italian family. I can without hesitation reccomend Island View and will return there myself in the near future. Antonio Masiero

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italia1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
138
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent three days here last June. Couldn't ask for anything better. We had the top floor room which meant we woke up each morning to a magnificent view of the Atlantic. Room had everything we needed Iincluding an extemely comfortable bed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyo
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the most welcoming place we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Very helpful hosts, clean rooms, excellent food and great views. When we arrived we were treated to homebaked scones and freshly brewed coffee. Would stay here again, anytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a great find, fantastic hospitality, amazing breakfast scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Oh yes and lovely home made scones. Loved our room, comfy bed, huge shower. Would thoroughly recommend staying here. Roundstone is delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilsBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at this excellent B&B recently . Great situation and only a short walk from all the local hostelry . A warm and sincere welcome coupled with a first class breakfast make the Island View a place we will be returning to . Thanks Aisling and Maurice .

Mal and Denise

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent a two-weeks-comeback in Island View B&B, Roundstone, County Galway and it was just amzing.
Aisling and Maurice create a warm atmosphere in all of the cozy rooms and both really care for the well-being of the guests. Tea, coffee, home made scones in the breakfast room ... there's absolutely nothing you could miss!
Around the nice little village of Roundstone with its pubs and restaurants there are lots of hills, small isles and lakes to discover.
In early spring not only the weather can be fine and sunny but also the most places are not so full of people so you can really enjoy nature in its calm and beauty whispering.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view - some have the sea and the sunrise, some have the hills and the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianaBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Island View B&B is a lovely place in Roundstone, County Galway. Just across the street from the harbor, the views from upstairs windows are gorgeous and the location in town makes it easy to walk to pubs/restaurants/shopping. Rooms are well sized, very comfortable beds, decorated in a clean contemporary style. Bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water. When we arrived Maurice welcomed us with tea/coffee and scones in the breakfast room on the first floor. He also gave us good suggestions for where to eat and hear some music in town. We stayed in a triple room for two nights; wifi and hair dryer provided free. Breakfast both days was delicious and Maurice and Aisling were very accommodating when it came to menu requests! The menu includes everything from cereal/fruit/yogurt to full Irish and more! The smoked salmon with eggs was wonderful! I would definitely recommend this B&B as a place to base your explorations of Connemara and Galway!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms in the front have a great view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
128 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
5.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House B&B

Property: Island View House B&B
Address: Bayview House High Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View House is a family run bed & breakfast in the heart of Roundstone Village.Owned by Maurice & Aisling Ryan with years of experience between them,in the bar,coffeeshop and accommodation business. We are open all year and offer complimentary wifi to our guests. All rooms are tastefully decorated with all mod cons.Rooms offer stunning views of Roundstone Bay and the Twelve Bens mountain range.Choice of breakfast cooked to order every morning.Maurice is born locally and is great for local history and routes to take for touring Connemara,places to eat etc..Tea/coffee and Aislings now famous homebaked scones await you on arrival.Island View House and Roundstone village is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island View House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing