We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run B&B with comfortable beds and delicious breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island View House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island View House B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birr, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family run B&B with comfortable beds and delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I are delighted to have discovered this lovely B&B and are hoping to be able to return here on a regular basis. Our whole stay was top quality, the beds are really comfortable and the pillows, sheets and towels are all top quality...we felt like we were in a five star hotel. The shower was a little disappointing but very adequate. I prefer hand-held shower hoses for those hard to reach places! Also there was a bit of noise from creaking floor boards from the guests on the next floor, I am sure this could be easily fixed.
Breakfast was perfect, very tasty.
Owners Maurice and Aisling, and their daughter Maeve couldn't have been nicer and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comfy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
126
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

As part of our honeymoon trip around Connemara , we were originally booked in for one night but ended up booking another night due to the wonderfully comfortable bed and the warm welcome from morris ! We had a room overlooking the harbour which was spotlessly clean and fantastically comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of chioce served with a smile and friendly conversation. We will definitely be back x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usherpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Apart from one or two minor things, you would be hard pushed to find another as welcoming, clean, comfortable, friendly and well positioned place to stay when visiting Connemara. Aisling and Maurice can't do enough for their guests and they have certainly impressed my four visiting Italian family. I can without hesitation reccomend Island View and will return there myself in the near future. Antonio Masiero

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italia1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent three days here last June. Couldn't ask for anything better. We had the top floor room which meant we woke up each morning to a magnificent view of the Atlantic. Room had everything we needed Iincluding an extemely comfortable bed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the most welcoming place we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. Very helpful hosts, clean rooms, excellent food and great views. When we arrived we were treated to homebaked scones and freshly brewed coffee. Would stay here again, anytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a great find, fantastic hospitality, amazing breakfast scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Oh yes and lovely home made scones. Loved our room, comfy bed, huge shower. Would thoroughly recommend staying here. Roundstone is delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilsBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at this excellent B&B recently . Great situation and only a short walk from all the local hostelry . A warm and sincere welcome coupled with a first class breakfast make the Island View a place we will be returning to . Thanks Aisling and Maurice .

Mal and Denise

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.0 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
7.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 12 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House B&B

Property: Island View House B&B
Address: Bayview House High Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View House is a family run bed & breakfast in the heart of Roundstone Village.Owned by Maurice & Aisling Ryan with years of experience between them,in the bar,coffeeshop and accommodation business. We are open all year and offer complimentary wifi to our guests. All rooms are tastefully decorated with all mod cons.Rooms offer stunning views of Roundstone Bay and the Twelve Bens mountain range.Choice of breakfast cooked to order every morning.Maurice is born locally and is great for local history and routes to take for touring Connemara,places to eat etc..Tea/coffee and Aislings now famous homebaked scones await you on arrival.Island View House and Roundstone village is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Island View House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing