We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly hotel,great bar food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We spend a lot of time in Roundstone in Connemara in the spring,summer and autumn and one of our favourite places is Vaughans hotel,my wife has known Diarmuid since he was a lad and now he runs the hotel and is a father to 2 lovely children,we come in early in the evening for the excellent food from the bar menu,Siobhan is a wonderful cook and her fish dishes are especially good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Roundstone House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is a great Hotel situated in a beautiful Irish town. The hotel itself is great, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Best of all the staff are incredibly friendly and the food gets 5 stars as well! They have both a restaurant and Bar menu where you can't go wrong! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is a small hotel in a great location. The room was clean and well furnished, although not very spacious - but it is a traditional hotel were you wouldn't expect large rooms. The service is very friendly and the bar food is very good. Coming from Germany it is a great place to experience the Irish countryside and hospitality. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhileasFoggCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Roundstone House is a nice hotel, conveniently located for a tour through Connemara. Be sure to make a reservation for dinner in the restaurant. If you need to relax, the downstairs sitting room is just the place.

Room Tip: One caution, street noise could be a factor so ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeF60895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I brought my mother to this hotel, and it was just perfect.The rooms were very comfortable, and the lounge/reading room is like a home from home.The real star here is the food, whether it's the bar food, or the restaurant the qulality of the cooking is superb.The other star is of course the staff, who make a stay here an experience you will not want to forget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank degustibusirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We visited Vaughans Rounstone House Hotel for a snack lunch during a drive around Connemara. We had bowls of Seafood Chowder each and shared one Salmon and Crab combo salad. Fantastic food with ample portions. The staff were friendly and efficient. The ambiance was superb; I just wanted to check in and stay. Which is what I am promising myself for the next visit to Connemara.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solomio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This small family run hotel has lots of character and offers comfortable accommodation throughout. There is always a great "buzz" about the place, due in part to the excellent bar food served throughout the day. Our room was at the front of the hotel, so we were aware of the chat of customers and also of passers-by in this idyllic seaside village, but this was not intrusive, and we were alerted to this when booking our room.
Evening meals are of a consistently high standard, with freshly cooked local produce and delicious seafood. Due to the popularity of the restaurant meals should be booked in advance.
Staff should be commended for their friendly, attentive and professional manner.
Although officially rated as a 2* hotel, we would rank it as one of our favourite places to visit; this was our third stay, and we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have superb views, but can be noisy
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
299 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
734 reviews
7.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
8.0 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range: £100 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing