We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundstone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here on a Wolfhound Adventure tour Sept. 2012. Had a room overlooking the waterfront. I could not have asked for a better spot! Room and bathroom both huge. I was a single, but had a king size bed. Great water pressure in the shower. A little noisy from a group running around on the floor over me, but other than that, a most pleasant stay. But then, it was in Roundstone, one of the prettiest little spots in Connemara!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Madeit2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This hotel, restaurant & bar are, separately, able to stand alone each as truly magnificent; joined together the entirety is the gem of Connemara, Galway definitely and of all Ireland certainly.
Run by Diarmuid, Cynthia, and Mrs Vaughan who together make this an unbelievably warm, welcoming, relaxed place to be for any length of stay.
As for the food, look no further than the bar for a variety of standard fare and specials which include chicken and mushroom vol-au-vent. The restaurant is another matter altogether: Connemara rack of lamb with a lovely red currant and rosemary gravy. The chef, Siobhan (trained at Ballymaloe,) is every bit the quality of the high priests of NY kitchens – it is enjoyed all the more here because it is absent some eejit trying to push you back into the street. Trust me, you are having Siobhan’s rack of lamb.
The others that work here – reviewed in other reviews by their secret code name: “Staff” – are the cohesive force that ensured our stay was truly special: Conor, Lauren, Niall, Maggie, Nora.
If this place is not beautiful to you dear reader, then please return to your damp misery and know that you are truly joyless.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieBurkeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is beautifully located, with views over a small harbour to the Twelve Bens mountain range. It's hard to beat this as a location. If the beaches nearby were in a hot climate they would packed. One can walk to them from the hotel. In fact, the whole area is great for walkers, with beach, mountain or bog roads available. The hotel has a guide brochure of the local walks, with directions starting from the front door. Don't miss The Old Bog Road walk, which starts just around the corner from the hotel but bring rain gear and waterproof boots, if the weather looks dodgy. The hotel has an amazing midweek offer of 3 nights bed and breakfast, plus 2 evening meals for 210euro per person sharing . Now this may not strike you as any great bargain but wait until you experience the evening meal, which bought separately would probably set you back about 35euro. The fish on the menu was fresh and wonderful. The steaks will keep any carnivore happy. When we asked for a small steak and half a cow arrived, the waitress simply remarked that "we don't do small here". Then there's the full Irish breakfast, with toast and brown bread, that will keep you going most of the day. Staff are great and rooms warm and comfortable, with lovely views from front facing ones. On some cold evenings there's a turf fire in the reception area - a very cosy spot for the after meal brandy.
Only downside is that I heard that hotel might be closing for winter season.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I stayed on a three-night-2D3B/B-break at the end of August and thoroughly enjoyed our break. The value, food and service was amazing, quite outstanding. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here each day so we sampled everything on the menu without a single disappointment, remarkably. The weather was torrential for the three days but the temperature of the sea was still quite warm (17C) despite the rain. The atmosphere was not dampened at all within the Roundstone House.
I would reiterate what a reviewer above has said: WiFi is not available in most rooms. We used the Residents' Lounge and the bar as the need arose. On another cautionary note, there is only one ATM in Roundstone village. A few doors away from the hotel I discovered a fabulous vintage jewelery store called 'The Match Maker's Curiosity Shop'. Unfortunately my eager shopping was constrained by the ATM which runs out of cash early each day.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough but perhaps an anecdote will illustrate the service and welcome we experienced:
When I asked on our penultimate day what time checkout was, the receptionist replied, "Sure, ye're not going yet? Have another cup of tea and relax for a while!" Perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lobby have better WIFI connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariewalshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We didn’t stay here, but had a delightful lunch sitting on one of the picnic benches outside. It is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. The open crab and smoked salmon sandwich combo was a treat, and went really well with a nice pint of creamy Guinness. The seafood chowder was also excellent. This is truly a great place to refuel after exploring the stunning local scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KinnegoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is in my opinion the prettiest place in the British Isles, the beaches are beautiful and white, and we had a couple of absolutely beautiful walks along the sands.

The hotel is grand and very very friendly, and the atmosphere in the bar is world class, people were so friendly, and what we noticed was the number of people who were there on holiday who had been born here but had left in their youth to find work in England. They were still treated as though they still lived there and had never been away.

We were told lots of really charming stories of the locals using the beach as teenagers for illicit boy girl meetings and therefore the beach being called the Maternity beach.

Take my advice go there and relax sit outside the bar with a pint of Guinness and watch the tide come and go, beautiful place my favourite in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline_andy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We did not stay at the hotel. However we had a lovely lunch here. The fish and chips was the best that I had in Ireland. We were able to sit outside overlooking the activity on the main street. I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
16.2 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Property: Roundstone House Hotel
Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing