We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we did have a very enjoyable evening meal here. Out of our two weeks in Ireland, my husband felt the salmon he was served here was the best and tastiest on our trip (and he orders salmon every chance he gets!!). All of us enjoyed our various meals. However, according to our daughter.......the Bailey's cheesecake was amazing!! We will definitely plan a meal here on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manassasmeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinvara, Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room rate for a single room for 2 nights was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was really excellent, ate in the restaurant first night and had a 3 course meal for €25 and second night ate in the bar and once again the food was great. It's a 3 star hotel and ideally could do with an update but it's clean and fine. Roundstone is a lovely village and we had great craic in the pubs with the locals - you'll never be short of someone to talk to!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We ate in the restaurant on two nights as our first experience was so good. You can choose from set menu or a la carte menu. On the first night we ate from set menu & we were very impressed by the choice and quality of food. The choice of wine was excellent and reasonably priced. The second night we decided to eat from a la carte menu as we didn't want a starter. Again we had a wonderful meal. The staff on each night were fantastic & delivered an excellent service without being over powering. I would highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch in roundstone and found the main hotel and bar with outside seating. Had a crab and brown bread open sandwich which was delicious and very fresh. Would fully recommend a visit and try this.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It's the staff here that is the makings of round stone House hotel. It's an old style hotel but I found it to be v clean & comfortable. I did think it was a little bit pricey compared to other hotels. The food is fantastic, the Irish breakfast was the best I've had anywhere. Real orange juice! Breakfast cooked to order. Lisa was our waitress for breakfast & she is the nicest friendliest girl you could wish to meet! We stayed in room 16 it was a triple room with sea view. When I booked I requested a sea view & they happily obliged. I would return to this house hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We had a room with a sea view but it was more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. The room was clean but there were no hangers in the wardrobe and no mirror in the bathroom - my husband had to come into the bedroom to use a mirror for shaving. Any time we went to reception to mention this there was no on there - the bar and restaurant were extremely busy and staff doubled up between reception and these areas. Breakfast was excellent with 'real' tea and great choice. Dinner and bar food were also exceptional. It is a pity they dont show a lttle more attention to residents. I think the weekend we were there was particularly busy but this is not a good enough excuse! I would return to this hotel to eat but not to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View but also check if there is a mirror in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Can't say we enjoyed this hotel at all. It is blessed by being in a most beautiful location and the views from the hotel veranda/bar are lovely. You probably get an equally good view from the rooms at the front but as we travelled with our 13 yr old son we didn't want a room above the bar.

As requested, we got a room at the back which overlooked a nice but small garden. The room itself was clean but basic.The hotel provides a sitting room downstairs which gave us a living area as such but our actual room really was only for sleeping in. The shower was the smallest I've ever seen and the temperature dial was broken.

There was a sour smell consistently through the hotel and we didn't enjoy the food too much but it was edible. We stayed 2 nights and while you order breakfast from a menu, on the first day cereals and juice were left out to help yourself, but this was not the case on the 2nd morning which seemed odd. And as coffee lovers, we would have preferred if we didn't have to wait for our breakfast to be served, before we got a cup of coffee.

We found the staff to be polite but not particularly friendly.

But we were there to see the sights and it served its purpose but realistically it reminded us of an old fashioned B&B in need of a revamp. We were there peak season and the bar seemed to be open till at least 1am, but the welcome book did warn that the front door would be closed at midnight and guests should make arrangements with the hotel if they thought they would be out later than that.

It is probably true to say that the hotel fits in with the general area. Roundstone has very little to offer apart from its stunning setting, and it is really worth seeing. But there is very little in the way of shops or restaurants and this is the only hotel open in the village now.

On the up side, it was cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glad_Dad_Me_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
10.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
15.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Property: Roundstone House Hotel
Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing