We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Every year for past 17 odd my golf buddies travel to Roundstone for the June bank holiday weekend usually staying in the House Hotel. Both the quality and service have been consistently excellent. The suppliers of the fare for breakfast are top notch - none of the flavourless watered down bacon for the rashers here. And the fish quality at dinner is always good. Rooms are small clean and adequate, as you'd expect from a small village hotel. There's a reason why we go back every year...it's just so good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sullyball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Roundstone House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had dinner in the dining room. Managed to squeeze in our table for 6 at very short notice. Great value fixed price menu. Outstanding fish dishes. Vegetarian dishes available on request. Lovely deserts. Lovely service. Even had a sing song in the lobby afterwards! A very atmospheric place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Having recently visited Roundstone on a long wkend I ate in the bar and restaurant, the food in both being absolutely exceptional! I was delighted to discover that the majority of the staff are from the local area, all cheerful and happy to help with their knowledge of the area. Will definitely be going back again soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank DugsyDelapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Some of the best food in Connemara, in one of the best locations. We come back here for meals every year and are never let down! Really friendly and welcoming staff. Great quality in every way, highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On the evenings of Sunday 25th and Monday 26th May, 2014, three friends and I had the pleasure of an evening meal in Vaughn's Roundstone House Hotel. We had never visited the hotel before, but we shall be returning in the years to come. The quality of the food (esp. the delicious seafood) was of the highest standard from the point of cooking, fresh ingredients and presentation. Each course was a minor masterpiece! On a par with this excellence was the outstanding dining room service provided by the delightful Eileen whose charm set the tone for the restaurant. And no critique could be complete without praise for the witty and helpful Conor in the bar...with his Grandmother at the other end of a telephone line, he provided us with local knowledge and light-hearted amusement which lightened even the rainiest Connemara evening. Why can't more hotels be like the Roundstone House Hotel?!?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay Easter Saturday ... The weather was fab and Roundstone was hopping! We had a lovely bright room at the top of the house with a double and single bed. Views were spectacular! Diarmuid, the owner was really friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The food in the restaurant (Vaughan's) is excellent ... Seafood Chowder to die for :-) Our breakfast on Easter Sunday was simply perfect and our waitress Lisa was a delight to chat with ... She gave us lots of tips on where to explore in the locality. We will definitely be returning to The Roundstone House Hotel for more of the same.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaHeather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we did have a very enjoyable evening meal here. Out of our two weeks in Ireland, my husband felt the salmon he was served here was the best and tastiest on our trip (and he orders salmon every chance he gets!!). All of us enjoyed our various meals. However, according to our daughter.......the Bailey's cheesecake was amazing!! We will definitely plan a meal here on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank manassasmeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
7.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
8.0 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range: £99 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing