We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical”
Review of Errisbeg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Errisbeg Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed for two nights recently. Jack and Shirley were the best host and hostess ever. Jack invited us to feed the horses with him and told us about the best hikes in the area. Although, the best hike was right behind the house! The view from the top was one of the most beautiful we saw in Ireland! Shirley took the time to chat with us about history and folklore and accommodated us always with a sweet smile! We loved the lodge as well. Short walk to amazing beaches and the darling village of Roundstone. No, we did not have a TV!! Thank goodness! Who wants a distracting TV when you can be out hiking and exploring in God's country! I would stay here longer next time for sure! Thanks again Jack and Shirley!!

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody112244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Not to be confused with Errisbeg House, which is up a narrow road, Errisbeg LODGE is easy to find right on the main road with spectacular views of the coast from each bedroom and of the mountain behind it from other windows. Shirley and Jacky are friendly hosts and they have thought of every detail. Good breakfast, comfy bed. Dont plan on a long hot shower though. Easy walk to the beach and a windswept cemetery. Two mile walk into town. Rigorous hike right out the back door to the top of Errisbeg, maybe two hours, among the sheep and ponies and giant hares and pheasants, with a great view on a clear day. Instead of TV in room, there are books!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingaroo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Shirley was so kind and welcoming to us. She has great plans for where to go to see the landscape and surprised us with gifts at breakfast. The view couldn't be more beautiful and was right on the beach. Highly recommend it, we spent the last day of our honeymoon here and it was our favorite stop :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzziduncanwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a wonderful place to stay and what a wonderful person did we find in this fantastic B&B. First, the place is stunning: quiet but overwhelmingly beautiful between the mountain and the beach, just one minute away from the village of Roundstone, which gives you the calm to just relax and enjoy the landscape. Then, Shirley is and amazing hostess who welcomed us so warmly that no matter what weather there is outside (and it was rainy, windy and freezing!) you will feel like home when you get to know her. She gave us the best directions ever about how to get to our next destination through the most beautiful way possible. The room was spotless clean, super comfortable bed, great bathroom and finally a wonderful breakfast to start the day full of energy. We are looking forward to coming back to Ireland soon and there is no doubt that we will return here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilzahira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is our third visit from the States to Roundstone/Errisbeg Lodge B&B over the last 6 years. Shirley King is a most wonderful hostess, willing to share her knowledge of the local area and the people. From our first visit, she has always made us feel right at home. On this last visit, we finally had the right weather to climb Errisbeg Mountain directly behind the lodge. The view from the mountain of both the bog to the north and Galway bay and the Atlantic to the east and south was well worth the climb. The walk along the beaches of Gurteen and Dog Bays are just a short walk from the Lodge and the rock walls with the Atlantic waves breaking against them early in the morning at the south end of the mushroom peninsula made for some great pictures. O'Dowds, and the Roundstone Hotel have great pub food. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stays at the Errisbeg Lodge B&B. Grant you, there are no TVs but Shirley has a great library to select some great reading material. By the time we returned from town after supper, it was great to retire to our comfortable room, read a little, plan the next day's events and then sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our trip to Roundstone was wonderful and most of that had to do with the hospitality of Jack & Shirley at Errisbeg Lodge. They gave us a couple of great day trip ideas - climb up Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park, Bog Road, Inishee are all a must (just to name a few.) The B&B itself is so charming and the location is perfect. It is a little outside of the main town -it's peaceful and you can enjoy the fantasic views and scenery of the beach & mountains and still get to town for dinner in minutes. They are directly across from 2 beaches. You do not see many beachs in ireland and they are walking distance from 2 so we were in heaven. The breakfast was delicious, get the pancakes with blueberries and bananas, you wont regret it. Thank you, Jack and Shirley hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole1313_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Shirley was an excellent hostess. Room was bright and comfortable. Delicious breakfast. We enjoyed a walk down to the beach, and a day trip to Connemara national park and Cong. Overall excellent B&B

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
133 reviews
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
307 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 13 in Roundstone
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errisbeg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errisbeg Lodge

Address: Ballyconneely-Roundstone Road, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range: £76 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Errisbeg Lodge, an informal Irish home is spectacularly set amid private, spacious wildflower gardens, on the slopes of Errisbeg Mountain and overlooks numerous off-shore islands, and the magnificent Atlantic beaches of Gurteen and Dog's Bay. Yet just 2km from the pretty coastal village of Roundstone. Errisbeg Lodge is the perfect location where you can paint, photograph, write, walk, hike, bike, revitalise and really get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Errisbeg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing