We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views and Great Hospitality”
Review of Rush Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rush Lake House
Ranked #7 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here two nights and could not have found a more convenient and hospitable place to stay in Roundstone. The rooms were large and comfortable and well equipped. The ensuite was also roomy with extra toiletries for the guests. The hostess is so warm and friendly with a great sense of humour and fun. The breakfast was hearty and she cooked everything to your specifications. I highly recommend this B & B to the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: All of the rooms come with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We could not have found a better and friendlier place to stay in Roundstone. Linda is an incredibly warm and delightful host. The rooms are very clean with great views, and the beds were so beautiful and comfortable with their linen sheets and lacy bedspreads I felt like royalty.

The food was excellent and generous, in a lovely dining room overlooking the landscape out to the water. The town was nearby, with a delightful cafe and small shops with surprisingly nice local crafts at great prices, and scenic postcard views at every turn.

Staying at Rush Lake House was like staying with favorite relatives -- you won't find a more warm or friendly place to stay any where in the area! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovegoodfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

For over 20 years Rushlake House has been a must to stay during our holiday in Ireland. We have known Linda & Donal and the family since summer 1989. Every year we are looking forward to being their guests in the beautiful house. We always love to enjoy Linda's substantial breakfast as well as her homemade scones in the afternoon at tea time sitting beside the fireplace smelling the peat.

During such a long time we have taken a lot of friends with us to Ireland and especially to Roundstone, situated in the heart of Connemara. They were deeply impressed by this beautiful landscape with its many lakes, big mountains and long sandy beaches. Some of our friends got infected by the virus "Ireland" and since then they have been returning regularly to make holidays.

We would like to thank Linda & Donal for their warm welcome and hospitality they gave us over the years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franz-Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

stayed here for many years, going back as far as 1990. The owners are lovely people who treat you like family, comfortable beds and a good breakfast. Many friends have also stayed here too and all loved the place

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 05003359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

i had a great weekend here recently. lovely hospitality from the owner Linda who cooks a great irish fry up. the village is only 5 mins away which was very handy after a meal in the restaurant and few guinness. the bedrooms are very comfortable. will defintely be staying here when in the area

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Rush Lake House offers the best of both worlds: it is an easy walk into Roundstone, with its great pubs, art, music, cafes, and seafood, but this B&B is situated on the quiet outskirts of town and set well back from the road, so when you've had enough nightlife, a good night's sleep is assured. The house is surrounded by an extensive, colourful, and imaginatively laid out garden, and the view from the bedroom windows is of green cattle pastures and the sea. When it is dark (not until well after 10 in July), you can see the comforting blinking of two lighthouses in the distance. Huge, fluffy towels are an extra special touch in the ensuite bathrooms. You feel instantly at home thanks to Linda's warm welcome and natural hospitality, and she and Donal generously share information about the Roundstone area and Connemara in general -- be sure to pick up a copy of their guide to local walks. When you stay at Rush Lake, you invariably meet people at breakfast who are "regulars", visitors to Roundstone who wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saoirse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We simply knocked at the door and we were welcomed in by Linda. We were shown the room available, which was perfect, and there we were for the night. The house is great, the room was most comfortable with an ensuite bathroom attached and tea & coffee facilities provided. No TV but the view from our bedroom more than made up for that. Breakfast the next morning was beautiful. We highly recommend a visit to Roundstone and definitely stay at Rush Lake Cottage. Thank you Linda for a great night's accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnne512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roundstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Errisbeg House
Errisbeg House
#10 of 13 in Roundstone
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Errisbeg Lodge
Errisbeg Lodge
#11 of 13 in Roundstone
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 13 in Roundstone
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bogbean Cafe and B&B
Bogbean Cafe and B&B
#8 of 13 in Roundstone
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rush Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rush Lake House

Address: Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range: £69 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rush Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing