We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christina and Seamus”
Review of St. Joseph's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roundstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Joseph's B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christina and Seamus”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Warm-hearted and authentic irish hosts. The room was Old-fashioned but sufficient. We had a one day Off in Roundstone from a bike tour there. The breakfeast was the best we had off all - even in Dublin and all B&Bs in Connemara. If you are lucky you can sit down in the "winter garden" with a great view on Roundstone Harbour and main Street. The WiFi was OK. The possibility to make yourself a coffee in a little kitchen was welcome. Fine indeed!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
28
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for a week in 2013 and come back for another week this year. Great location right in the centre of the village. Welcome was welcoming! Glorious breakfast to set you up for the day. The breakfast room is filled with great art and the view from the window takes in the harbor, To top everything the landlady is happy to speak Irish. Looking forward to another week next year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MIchael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our first trip to Ireland was in 1993 in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. We have returned there 6 or 7 times since then, our most recent visit being in May, 2014. We have always enjoyed the many B&B's throughout Ireland, and Christina Lowry's St. Joseph B&B in Roundstone was no exception. We stayed there for two nights. Christina is a wonderfully warm hostess with a quick wit and great sense of humor. She is a mother, and grandmother, and an Irish dance teacher. We had several interesting conversations with her. The B&B is situated on the main street in the village, and is ideally located for access to local pubs, good restaurants, a world renown bodhran maker, and the waterfront. The breakfasts were excellent, and we sat in a beautiful windowed alcove overlooking the harbor across the street. The off-street parking was conveniently located at the rear of the premises, with easy access to our room through the back door. Thank you, Christina, for making our recent return to your country such a memorable event. We will be sure to stay with you again when we visit Connemara.

Richard & Mary Beth Byrnes
Sellersville, PA
USA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at St. Joseph's back in 2010 and enjoyed it. We were there again recently and enjoyed it even more. The room was big, the bathroom was big, the shower was tiny. The breakfast was good. There is off-street parking, and the new addition is wi-fi. In 2010 we used the wi-fi from O'Dowd's Pub, but now St Joseph's has it too.

The only negative about this property (and there's nothing they can do about it) is there are lots and lots of stairs and some of the stairwells are a bit uneven with low ceilings. So you have to be careful with the stairs.

This is the perfect place for a visit to Roundstone. Very quiet at night, even with a front room. The view from the breakfast table is fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Smet, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Roundstone is an enchanting village set on the hillside overlooking the Atlantic. On Main Street, St. Joseph's is convenient and absolutely charming. Christina has a talent for making one feel as though they have known her and loved her forever. Comfortable with incredible breakfast! We will definitely come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

One of the highlights of our stay in Ireland was the warmth and hospitality of the innkeepers with which we stayed, and among them Christina of St. Joseph's was at the top of the list. We truly felt like we were friends of the family, thanks to her assistant. Roundstone is a charming village and St. Joseph's is perfectly placed within it. I wish I could take the front table from the dining room and its view home with me.

Christina even went beyond our expectations - my daughter and I were to share a room but she'd been having trouble sleeping, thanks to my snoring. Christina found us a separate small room with a bed for my daughter to get a decent night's sleep. Thanks, Christina!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at St Joseph's and really enjoyed Christina and her husband's hospitality. Great conversation and amazing breakfasts - look out for Christina's homemade potato cakes and bread. Really tasty. the B&B is full of character and the bedrooms are comfortable. Roundstone is a beautiful village and the seafood is as wonderful as the view of the harbour and the mountains behind it. Thank you Christine for a great stay. Tomas and Milo.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.0 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
15.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Joseph's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Joseph's B&B

Property: St. Joseph's B&B
Address: Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Joseph's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing