We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at Eldons during a week long cycling trek. The service was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The pub and community sitting areas were very comfortable and a nice alternative to B & B lodging. The room was more than adequate for the cost. A good choice for a Roundstone stay, right in the center of town. It's a 2 minute walk to O'Dowd's for a wonderful meal, just come very early or have reservations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZReach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just spent two nights at this hotel which is run by Carole Reynolds and her son Philip. The reception was warm, the rooms comfortable and the food, both in the bar and in the restaurant, was very good. Would I stay there again definately yes, and would I recommend it - another big yes - a warm welcome, a great little village and an ideal spot for touring Connemara.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago/Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed in Eldons for two nights while on a self-guided cycling trip through Connemara. I arrived from Leenane, exhausted after a 100km day that included Tully's Hill and the famous Sky Road. Carol, who manages Eldons, was great, got me checked in and settled quickly, and then directed me to their in-house bar where her son Phillip got me set up with some Jameson's and lemon to mix in with my cold medicine. I spent two very rainy and cold days in Eldon's, nursing a cold and resting up for my onward journey. Carol and Phillip took very good care of me, and I had two excellent dinners in the bar--even though the restaurant was not yet up and running for the season. It's a classic old hotel, (reportedly haunted by Mrs Eldon) with very comfortable rooms and nice communal areas. Free WiFi worked well, though they tell me my room was the only upstairs area where the signal is strong enough. A great place, in a beautiful coastal town, run by a very nice family!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We recently spent two nights in Eldons as part of a biking group tour(Cycling Safaris). Carol and her son were great hosts and made us feel so welcome.
We all enjoyed a fun evening singing in the bar with some local musicians and the staff were all up dancing.
Breakfast was hearty with great selections which prepared us well for our day of biking. The dinner was a gourmet delight and thoroughly enjoyed by all.
I hope we will have another opportunity to visit Roundstone in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I had a really lovely stay in Eldons. Very personable and helpful staff and just an all round feeling of relaxation - stunning views over the harbour and mountains. The meal in the restaurant was delicious and because its right in the village you have everything on your doorstep - a perfect base to discover Connemara. Overall I have to say I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeebsWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have recently spent 1 night in Eldons Hotel, after having stayed there a few times previously before it was recently taken over. I have to say i was very dissappointed on this occasion. Firstly the receptionist was unpleasant and i felt like i had interrupted her from something important. Secondly we had been placed in a room where right next to the pub and with a young child we could not get a wink of sleep all night. Thirdly, we were charged €100 for 1 night stay B&B which for Galway City standards during these times is a complete rip off!! We have stayed here before for far less and with much better service, and have always been placed in a quiet room considering we have a young child. Breakfast was also a very greasy affair which was not pleasant at all. Sorry to say but what we had always thought was a lovely hotel has gone downhill badly and we wont stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Arrived in Roundstone on a damp and dull Friday evening in June but the hotel - food and accommodation more than made up for the weather. We had a beautiful room (with 4 poster bed) across the road from the main hotel which had views out over Roundstone Bay. We had booked a table for dinner and were told our table was waiting for us and to take our time in coming over by the bright and chirpy manger. Dinner was absolutely divine and very reasonable with the value dining menu. Staff very friendly and great atmosphere in the hotel...We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megsimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.0 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 12 in Roundstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eldons Hotel and Restaurant, is a family run business offering Hotel accommodation along with food and drink outlets onsite .The 12 bedroom hotel is situated in Roundstone Village in the heart of Connemara overlooking Roundstone Harbour. Eldons Hotel is located on the rugged and beautiful Wild Atlantic Way coastline route approximately halfway between Cork and Donegal .Eldons Hotel is the perfect location along this route to come and stay and discover all Connemara has to offer ,whether it is fishing, golfing, painting, horse-riding, walking(guided if required) or cycling can all be done within 20 minutes drive from Eldons Hotel. All of these activities can be booked for you at Eldons Hotel. Accommodation Eldons offers six standard double rooms three of which are front facing with a view of Roundstone harbour and three back facing with a view of the twelve ben mountains. We also have five standard twin rooms. All rooms have ensuite facilities with either bath or shower. All room are tastefully decorated with Telephone, remote control Television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Iron and ironing boards is available on request. Wake up calls and laundry service also available on request. We also offer one double bedded Superior Double Room Suite with balcony view of the Roundstone Harbour . Wi fi internet Connection is currently available in the Public Lounges Restaurant In the Restaurant we offer a Table D'hote set menu alongside an extensive a la carte menu with a focus on local Connemara produce especially local seafood. We offer a full range of locally sourced seafood including oysters and lobster. Connemara Smoked wild salmon with freshly landed sea fish such as hake, halibut and cod also feature on our extensive menu. We also offer a lunchtime snack menu with freshly made soup, chowder and an assortment of sandwiches, wraps and Panini's. We also offer a vegetarian option on our menu each day. If you have any specific dietary requirements you can let us know and we will be happy to accommodate you. .A comprehensive wine list with old and new world wines on offer in both our Eldons Hotel Restaurant and Eldons Hotel Bar. Bar You can relax and have a nice pint of Guinness in our snug little bar where you can listen to the locals tell their tales of their days at sea fishing or their hours spent cutting and footing turf on the bog or you can just take a pint to one of the lounges and read a book at you leisure. We also offer a lunchtime menu and evening menu in the bar. Live entertainment takes place in the bar usually once a week during peak season. We also offer a full range of alcoholic drinks and wine and our barman will be happy to suggest and make a cocktail if required . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldons Hotel Roundstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing