We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at a good price”
Review of Maol Reidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maol Reidh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Shipley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a good price”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We did not stay the night here but enjoyed a very good meal in very pleasant surroundings. All the food was of a high quality, particularly the fish pie and the roast lamb. The service was very good and only the wine was rather pricey for a rather ordinary bottle. Nevertheless, we woul recommend this hotel for an evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to visit relatives in the area. Have been staying in the Renvyle/Tullycross area for about 35 years. Never stayed in this hotel before but it was convenient this trip. Very comfortable hotel, room very spacious and comfortable beds. White fluffy bath towels. TV but only 3 channels, due to the mountains in the area! Breakfast cooked to order,very fresh, great variety. Delicious brown bread. Lovely walks and plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back. I expect room at the front would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Hill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What can I say, we had a wonderful time here. Spent 2 nights here as we visited the Connemara area. The included breakfast was excellent with lots of choices both hot and cold. The staff were very accommodating as we had gluten free requests at different mealtimes. Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. Would come back again. Lynn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this comfortable homely hotel with excellent dining room staff for 2 nights. The meals were a revelation with the best mussels & sauce I have ever tasted. The breakfast was very good - freshly made to order- with the most wonderful home made brown bread. The bedroom was clean & spacious. I would certainly stay here again... a great location for walks & access to Connemara National Park - a real treasure.
To bring this establishment to excellent status, more focus is required on the outside stand sign ( not very professional looking) and more attention to the foyer which lacks ambiance. You could pass this place by and not realise how good it is. The dining room deserves to be packed each night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moc852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Ate here last week - food was excellent - really excellent. Almond and cauliflower soup was sublime. I had chicken for main followed by warm chocolate cake. Yes the menu is limited but when you do the simple things well, really well, it doesn't matter to me. I did not rate excellent because there was a table of very excitable divers beside us who were shouting the restaurant down (not the fault of the hotel I know) but when we moved, we had to move to a sort of come serving, come dining area which was fine but not as nice as the main restaurant area. Nice to be able to provide a more intimate setting and accomodate the more boisterous crowd as well. Check it out - its fab (for food anyway)!! Paddy Coynes next door great for an apperatife!! Beaches around Renvyle are superb also!

Room Tip: Never stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patches1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We recently had a two night stay at this hotel. We used it to gain access to all the beautiful attractions that Connemara has to offer. The hotel itself is really nice and welcoming. The room is spacious and clean. There is a really big breakfast offered which is freshly made when it comes to hot items.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogganLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It's strange how the smallest of matters can so taint an otherwise overriding impression, and a disagreement over the suitability of a starter served at our second night's dinner and the early morning disturbance from late night lady revellers (quite beyond the control of the hotel) did serve to take some of the edge off our otherwise thoroughly enjoyable two night stay at the Maol Reidh Hotel. Having passed through stunning scenery on our approach, we were momentarily disappointed by hotel's roadside location, but then instantly reassured by its ambience and the hospitality that greeted us. Our proprietress couldn't have been more helpful and our room, overlooking the inner courtyard, was welcoming and comfortable. It was an impression that was reinforced by a wonderful evening meal and the enjoyable and professional service of the young staff. Tullycross and Renvyle offer a perfect launchpad for enjoying all that the Connemara coast has to offer and National Park, water tours and the "No 1 Must-see Attraction" of Kylemore Abbey are all comfortably accessible. Shame then that the hoped for craich in one of our next door pubs came to nothing, the promise of which had played its part in our booking decision. We left with good memories, but oh that Thai-dressed starter! As a PS, watch out for young footballing star, Harry Kane, England Under 20 and Tottenham Hotspur player. There's a family connection here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptrumps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullycross
2.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
11.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
84 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maol Reidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maol Reidh Hotel

Property: Maol Reidh Hotel
Address: Tullycross Village, Tullycross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tullycross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maol Reidh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the Maol Reidh Hotel, a contemporary establishment nestling in the picturesque village of Tullycross in the Renvyle Peninsula. With a view of The Twelve Bens, sandy beaches nearby and Kylemore Abbey close by, this hotel is ideally based for the overnight guest, the weekend traveller or the tired-out tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maol Reidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maol Reidh
Maol Reidh Hotel Tullycross, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing