We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best guest house ever”
Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinvara Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
n. ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best guest house ever”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Lovely modern Guesthouse. def. worth 4* . No Flowery duvets and patterned carpets!!. this is as good if not better than a Hotel. Wi Fi available and baby sitting services. The room and bathroom were a great size, The breakfast was lovely and everyone was so friendly. Kinvara is. a pretty place with lots of cute Irish Pubs and restaurants. we tried the italian one which was very nice .the village is very clean and all the houses and bars freshly painted. well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    86
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
154
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband, adult daughter and I spent two nights at the Guesthouse last week and had a wonderful stay. Everything was perfect, except the bed pillows which were unfortunately hard and flat. The room we had was very large and spotlessly clean. The water pressure in the shower was delightful and the Irish breakfast delicious. The location is ideal for exploring western Ireland and totally local instead of touristy. We did a little pub hopping (everything in walking distance) and shared some great chats with several locals. We ate both nights at the Pier Head and had outstanding meals and service.

Despite our reservation that too many great reviews will turn Kinvara into a tour bus magnet, we highly recommend a stay in Kinvara at the Kinvara Guesthouse!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is an exceptional B&B. The rooms, breakfast, cleanliness, every comfort. To top it off there is a wide variety of restaurants in the village and we enjoyed an excellent meal at Keoghs across the street. We will return to this beautiful place

Room Tip: I think every room is a good here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 450chris4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

In the center of a sweet village of kinvara, Ireland is this guesthouse. Quiet, clean, nice rooms with good towels and plenty of hot water! Sounds silly but some places don't have either of those items! We had a quiet night sleep after a fun pub dinner right across the street. A beautiful breakfast the next morning and we were off again. Delightful stay. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juelich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent one night in this delightful guesthouse while travelling along the west coast. The entire house is most tastefully decorated and is immaculately clean. Our room too was very much to our satisfaction, great shower and comfortable beds. A full Irish breakfast (yummy) set us off for the day. We most definitely recommend this guesthouse, it is ideally situated to visit the Burren, Galway Bay and the Cliffs of Moher and is in a picturesque little fishing village that is a delight in its own right.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillGermany_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We booked two nights at the guesthouse as it was situated exactly where we wanted to be to allow us to visit the Burren and North Clare.
After a short delay by staff attending Reception we were shown to our room which afforded plenty of room in both bedroom and en-suite. The power shower was a plus and extremely easy to operate. The room was very warm but we couldn't get the window to stay open. This situation was dealt with the following morning when the person who was to clean our room balanced the window so as to keep it open.
The bed was very uncomfortable for our personal needs and both of us woke frequently during the night with back aches. On both mornings we suffered from very sore backs until we loosened up. Additionally, there is a lot of noisy traffic passing beside the accommodation from early morning, more marked because we had to keep the window open because of the overly warm room.
Breakfasts were very tasty and filling - so much so that we didn't need any lunch as they kept us going all day.
The guesthouse is newly refurbished to a high standard and the paintings on all the walls are in keeping with the local natural environment.
There is a supermarket one side of the accommodation and a pharmacy on the other side, providing for all eventualities.
Right opposite was a pub and restaurant which did 'Early Bird' two-course dinners for 15.95 euro, representing great value as the portions were generous and the quality of taste extremely pleasing to the palate.
I would thoroughly recommend this establishment owned by John Burke to everyone contemplating a trip to Galway/Clare. Very high standards with friendly service at very low cost!

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of corridors might be more quiet than rooms to the left which overlooked the squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very impressed with the standards at this hotel. 4 star quality for B&B prices!
Staff were friendly, breakfast was lovely and the location is ideal. Very close to where we went kayaking and to the top listed restaurants on tripadvisor! Only downside, jams were awful (tasyed like jelly but with no taste) and the free maps in reception were for a different area!!
Oh! Cannot forget to mention the showers... absolutely amazing after a long drive! (powerful force, disc shower head thats isn't stuck permanently to the wall like most places and a shower base that 4 people could stand into!)
I'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
0.1 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
200 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
764 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,057 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fallon's Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Clareview House
Clareview House
#3 of 12 in Kinvara
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Property: Kinvara Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing