We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst B&B experience.”
Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinvara Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 13 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worst B&B experience.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Booked this B&B in advance having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and having checked out the website. We expected a lovely place to stay in the centre of Kinvara but unfortunately we didnt even get to stay. We checked in and were shown to a room which had no ensuite,no TV,no tea/coffee facilities, no wifi and no fire-alarm! There was a toilet with a shower outside of the room but then we had no towels. We were told that the person who took our booking should not have because they were booked up (which is obviously not our fault!) Instead of organising themselves to cater for us, as they did have a room just with no adequate facilities, they decided that giving us this room was fine. The one window in the room was a skylight and had cobwebs all over it. We stayed in the room for a few minutes before deciding that this was just not good enough, especially at the 80euro rate we were supposed to be paying. When we raised our concerns they got us a room in another B&B outside of Kinvara town and when we got there that B&B didnt even serve hot breakfast. Needless to see I would not recommend this B&B and I will not be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    81
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
92
147
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Kinvara is an amazing little village, very convenient for exploring County Clare and Galway.
The Guesthouse itself has been renovated recently, so the facilities are great (though we would have appreciate aircon or fan during the heat wave).

Two issues bothered me –
Our family room was located above the main road, so it was pretty noisy, even in late hours. (as it was quite warm and no aircon, we had to sleep with windows open).
You should also bear in mind that this guesthouse is run like a small hotel rather than a B&B, so don’t expect to receive the same hosts’ attention (i.e in recommendations or itinerary help)
Other than that, it is great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillsh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostuni, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having lived in Kinvara for many years, now abroad, I had been hoping that there would be accommodation in the village that would be convenient for me to stay in on my frequent visits to see friends and family. This guesthouse/B&B was built just a few years ago and I had not been inside previously. However, friends insisted it was good and I decided to give it a try. I stayed for two nights last week and will definitely return on a regular basis. The room was absolutely spotless, with a good shower, comfortable bedding and a good view over the village. The breakfast was adequate for my needs (fruit & yoghurt), but I could see that other guests were tucking happily into eggs, bacon and toast. The guesthouse is very conveniently located right in the middle of the village, with a large supermarket next door and plenty of pubs, restaurants and coffee shops within easy walking distance. Also hassle free wifi. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The guesthouse has Very spacious rooms. We Stayed with a family of 5. By far this has been our Best stay in Ireland! Breakfast is very good. The village is small and a great walk with family and nearby Dunguaire castle is worth visiting. The hotel is very modern and our room had hardwood floors and devoid of smelly carpets, a common occurrence in Europe. Highly recommend a night or more stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our decision to stay two nights at the Kinvara Guesthouse was based upon the largely positive online reviews.

Although perfectly positioned in the heart of this pretty and quaint village, we were underwhelmed by this accommodation.

It was the little things - crumbling tile grout in the bathroom, very old kettle and faded bed covers - that contributed to the overall sense of the room being 'tired'. (We also found long black hairs on the pillow - not ours!)

In a small housekeeping oversight, we had to ask for towels and drinking glasses as there were none in our room.

Breakfast is served in a large dining room adjoining the guest lounge. It was fine. Not great. But fine.

All of that said, the guesthouse is in a great position above a well-stocked supermarket and a few doors away from some great pubs. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPortFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Kinvara Guesthouse is a little gem! Recently refurbished with standards that would surpass any hotel. The standard of accommodation is amazing and we found the price so reasonable.
The staff are so helpful, the decor is modern and tastefully decorated and the place is immaculately clean. The location is right in the centre of the town and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the pier head restaurant right on the quay.
This is a truly exceptional B&B and in my opinion a top class place to rest your head! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Loved Kinvara and would definitely stay here another time, and next time longer. The village is beautiful and charming, located within a 30 to 45 minute drive to many sights, and Galway, too, if you want to visit for a day and return to peace and quiet! I believe there are also boat charters that can be arranged for something else to do. The guesthouse is clean and updated, serves a good Irish breakfast with a continental buffet if you want something lighter. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a very nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kridar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
0.1 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
10.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
10.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.0 mi away
Fallon's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Property: Kinvara Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing