We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"a great find"”
Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinvara Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“"a great find"”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I recently stayed in this beautiful guesthouse in Kinvara with my family and the accommodation and service provided was of an extremely high standard. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and I was surprised at how spacious our bedroom was. The facilities, wi fi etc were all very good and the breakfast provided a good start to our day of touring the Burren. There is a lot to do and see in this area and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    90
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
99
156
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family and I stayed in Kinvara Guesthouse recently for a weekend break and found the standard of accommodation provided in this B&B to be excellent. There is obviously a lot of time and care put into this B&B as the interiors are kept beautifully and the whole atmosphere is very inviting. Service was great with all our requests met promptly. Travel cots, etc. are provided and room size was ample with spotless and spacious ensuite. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend for anybody who is travelling throughout the Galway or Clare region. Thank you to the staff at Kinvara Guesthouse for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Booked this B&B in advance having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and having checked out the website. We expected a lovely place to stay in the centre of Kinvara but unfortunately we didnt even get to stay. We checked in and were shown to a room which had no ensuite,no TV,no tea/coffee facilities, no wifi and no fire-alarm! There was a toilet with a shower outside of the room but then we had no towels. We were told that the person who took our booking should not have because they were booked up (which is obviously not our fault!) Instead of organising themselves to cater for us, as they did have a room just with no adequate facilities, they decided that giving us this room was fine. The one window in the room was a skylight and had cobwebs all over it. We stayed in the room for a few minutes before deciding that this was just not good enough, especially at the 80euro rate we were supposed to be paying. When we raised our concerns they got us a room in another B&B outside of Kinvara town and when we got there that B&B didnt even serve hot breakfast. Needless to see I would not recommend this B&B and I will not be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Kinvara is an amazing little village, very convenient for exploring County Clare and Galway.
The Guesthouse itself has been renovated recently, so the facilities are great (though we would have appreciate aircon or fan during the heat wave).

Two issues bothered me –
Our family room was located above the main road, so it was pretty noisy, even in late hours. (as it was quite warm and no aircon, we had to sleep with windows open).
You should also bear in mind that this guesthouse is run like a small hotel rather than a B&B, so don’t expect to receive the same hosts’ attention (i.e in recommendations or itinerary help)
Other than that, it is great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillsh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostuni, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having lived in Kinvara for many years, now abroad, I had been hoping that there would be accommodation in the village that would be convenient for me to stay in on my frequent visits to see friends and family. This guesthouse/B&B was built just a few years ago and I had not been inside previously. However, friends insisted it was good and I decided to give it a try. I stayed for two nights last week and will definitely return on a regular basis. The room was absolutely spotless, with a good shower, comfortable bedding and a good view over the village. The breakfast was adequate for my needs (fruit & yoghurt), but I could see that other guests were tucking happily into eggs, bacon and toast. The guesthouse is very conveniently located right in the middle of the village, with a large supermarket next door and plenty of pubs, restaurants and coffee shops within easy walking distance. Also hassle free wifi. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The guesthouse has Very spacious rooms. We Stayed with a family of 5. By far this has been our Best stay in Ireland! Breakfast is very good. The village is small and a great walk with family and nearby Dunguaire castle is worth visiting. The hotel is very modern and our room had hardwood floors and devoid of smelly carpets, a common occurrence in Europe. Highly recommend a night or more stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our decision to stay two nights at the Kinvara Guesthouse was based upon the largely positive online reviews.

Although perfectly positioned in the heart of this pretty and quaint village, we were underwhelmed by this accommodation.

It was the little things - crumbling tile grout in the bathroom, very old kettle and faded bed covers - that contributed to the overall sense of the room being 'tired'. (We also found long black hairs on the pillow - not ours!)

In a small housekeeping oversight, we had to ask for towels and drinking glasses as there were none in our room.

Breakfast is served in a large dining room adjoining the guest lounge. It was fine. Not great. But fine.

All of that said, the guesthouse is in a great position above a well-stocked supermarket and a few doors away from some great pubs. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPortFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
0.1 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
206 reviews
10.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,134 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.5 mi away
Clareview House
Clareview House
#3 of 12 in Kinvara
112 reviews
8.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Property: Kinvara Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing