We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation”
Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinvara Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 13 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for one night in this beautiful guesthouse. It is hotel standard, beautiful bright and spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast in the morning, great selection and beautiful fresh cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone. Great value too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvedaLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    82
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
93
152
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Too bad we've only spent 1 night. The guesthouse is brand new and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great, close to shops and pubs. Kinvara is charming. Parking is easy. Full Irish breakfast amazing. It was a great stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagM3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brillion, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was one of the best places we stayed on our 7 day trip. It is clean, modern, and a good value. The bedding was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was nice. Check in was fast and easy and the hostess very friendly. It was great to be located so close to the grocery store which is just downstairs. Unfortunately, we had to leave quite early and didn't get to have breakfast there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This guesthouse offers four-star hotel-standard accommodation - for the price of a B&B! We stayed here this weekend and we remarked that it surely meets the standards of a four star hotel. (We recently stayed at the Maritime Hotel in Bantry which is a four star hotel - and we concluded that Kinvara Guesthouse would give it a serious run for it's money in terms of value for money and service considering that the standards of comfort and furnishings in the bedroom was the same as a four star hotel (Maritime, Bantry) or possibly better! The street entrance may seem slightly deceptive as the reception desk and foyer seem to be the only areas that are on the ground floor - all the bedrooms and the breakfast room are upstairs - there is a lift to all the floors and there is a huge outdoor roof-garden/paved area on floor one. The room was very spacious and even had view to Galway Bay and to Galway city - we could see the lights of Galway in the distance! The furnishings in the Bedroom were of a very high standard and everything seemed new -the bed was large and very comfortable- the bathroom was huge with a powerful shower in a large shower cubicle - towels were really white and fluffy and toiletries were supplied. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and all furniture and fittings had a new, modern feel. There was a kettle and tea/coffee-making facilities in the room. The Breakfast and the Breakfast room were very pleasant - the lady serving breakfast was very friendly and pleasant - the buffet selection is varied and even had fresh strawberries and melon, as well as several types of cereal, fresh croissants, fresh brown soda bread, very nice orange juice, a selection of cheeses, crackers, yogurts - all this was on the self-service counter - we also had a very decent cooked full-Irish Breakfast and scrambled eggs. The service was prompt and friendly and the porridge was perfectly cooked and presented (sometimes porridge can be hit and miss but in Kinvara Guesthouse it was spot-on!) The coffee was top quality and was served in a small cafetiere which is a nice touch. The gentleman on reception was very friendly and efficient as well as being personable and helpful - he showed us to the room on our arrival and showed us to the large breakfast room and lounge/sitting room (both very well furnished, clean and modern) and he advised us when we enquired about eating out - he mentioned that there were plenty of places and that the Pier Bar was owned by the same people as the Guesthouse and we ended up eating there and it was excellent. There was also free Wi-Fi available in the lounge-area but we didn't use it.
The only complaint that I would have - and it's no fault of the Guesthouse - is that there is a late-night bar across the street - and on a Saturday night it seems to attract a very noisy clientele, with people coming outside the bar to smoke and chat, but even more noisy were a few drivers with very noisy car exhausts ( that wouldn't suit a light sleeper) that seemed to drive around the town all night. This diminished the sleep-quality a bit! However this could possibly be an issue in every town in Ireland on a Saturday night - so it's not an issue only in Kinvara! (I would have liked to have asked the drivers of the noisy cars if there was anywhere locally that they could have gotten the exhausts fixed, though!)
However, I would highly recommend Kinvara Guesthouse and would love to stay there again! The accommodation and service there is exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Deceptively big guesthouse. Lovely and clean. Modern decor. Very pleasant place to stay. There were eight of us so they gave us a little discount of 20 euro, which was nice. The lady let me use the kitchen to prepare baby food and bottles of milk at bed time. The buffet breakfast was massive and had everything you could wish for. The beds were comfortable. My only issues were that the wooden floors were unswept in two of the rooms and the heat was on full blast so we had to sleep with the window wide open.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Loved Loved Loved this guest house . Don't let the small store front and reception fool you the rooms and and lounge and breakfast room were very lovely and good sized. First off the reception very pleasant and accommodating we were referred to a lovely restaurant in the marina the food was exceptional .The breakfast was delightful . We stayed in one of the family rooms it was huge very clean the decor was beautiful very modern and updated no ratty bed spreads could not have asked for more. There was a grocery around the corner and the town was very quaint from shops to pubs and restaurants and of course the castle within walking distance. And the local's were very friendly. My fiancé is from Ireland and this was both his and my 1st trip to Kinvara and we both agreed to return and spend more time there at the Guest House of course.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you enjoy clean, modern accommodations, you will enjoy a stay here. My husband and I recently spent a night here during a trip around the midwest and northwest of Ireland, Sept. 2013. . We ate at Pierhead Restaurant, just down the street, where the food was delicious and the view of the bay lovely. Dunghaire Castle is just a few hundred yards on down the main street/route and well worth a short visit. It sits right on the water and creates that glimpse into history which Ireland preserves so well. It provided interesting views and photos both at night with the lights shining on it, or during the day with the light on the nearby water. Our favorite part of the stop, though, was an evening at Connolly's Pub on the corner. It had a cozy, welcoming atmosphere with warm, friendly people and was one of the few places where we were able to enjoy good Irish music out of the regular tourist season.

Room Tip: We only saw our own room, so don't know how the others compared. It did have an elevator if cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
0.1 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
199 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
10.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fallon's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Property: Kinvara Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing