We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinvara Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsville,Va
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We needed accommodations for family of five. Kinvara had a big room on top floor it was plenty big and spotless. Nice hot shower large bathroom. surrounding area a little noisy in evening. Breakfast was just average. It was really cool to be able to walk to Dunguire castle from hotel for medieval dinner and show.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    90
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
99
156
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed in Kinvara last weekend with a group of 8. We booked into The Kinvara Guesthouse. A purpose built Band B that did everything it said on the tin. Clean modern bedrooms, good bathrooms, working wifi in all areas. Great lounge with daily newspapers and very very efficient and friendly breakfast staff. If I would add anything I would add a little somked haddock and poached egg to the breakfast menu!!!!(you can always get Mike from the pier Head to cook it!!:)

Well done to all. Great couple of nights

Room Tip: Lower floors are easier if you dont like lifts??:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Kinvara Guesthouse as we were touring western Ireland. The owner was extremely accommodating. He also gave wonderful local recommendations for dining. The inn itself was very nice. Well appointed. Very well maintained. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We are a family of 4 and the quad room was perfect. We all had our own beds with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

this is a great little find in the middle of the burren region .rooms are top class with all the amenties thrown in .great breakfast ,big rooms great showers and central location for touring .
it is in the village of kinvara county galway and has many small great pubs which host trad music every night .it is not unusual to see sharon shannon or her sister mary playing in connellys pub and i have often seen declan o rourke play here along with the famous sam stone singer american john prine check out this b and b you wont regreat it .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A nice guesthouse with a friendly staff. The beds are comfortable though the double bed could preferably have bin bigger. The breakfast is very good with many things to choose among on the buffet. A few things made our stay not so perfect though. First of all the wi-fi didn't work in our room (as advertised) and we had to search a lot before we found the net that worked in the common room. Our room on the first floor had directly access to a big space outside, which meant that we couldn't leave the window open, when we left the room. The toilet was very noisy when flushed, and outside there was a constant noise from a generator or something. On the plus side there was fresh bottled water and ample toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great place to stay. Very clean, very comfortable, very quiet, very friendly.
We wanted to be slightly off the beaten track but able to reach towns & countryside. Kinvara Guesthouse fitted the bill perfectly.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were so helpful & very kind.
The breakfast was excellent & there are places nearby for an evening meal which the staff will organise for you.
We felt very welcome & are already planning how we can get back for a longer stay!
It was easy to get to all the beautiful countryside around in both Clare & Connemara & both Galway & Ennis are within easy reach.
Honestly, it would be hard to find a better place to stay & we look forward to having a chance to stay there again for much longer than the 2 nights we spent there. Fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room at the front & thought it might be noisy but it wasn't & we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice Clean, large bedrooms and bathrooms. Very nice front desk staff, couldn't been nicer. We had a heat wave while in Ireland, rooms were not air conditioned, they went out of there way to purchase fans and have them available for us.

Town of Kinvara great spot to stop on trip to west, small seaside village with a castle right in the middle of town.

Great pubs, especially Connlly's and Green's Pub. Stop in and say hi to Shane at Connlly's and to Hiliary in Greens from the crew from Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
0.1 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
206 reviews
10.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,131 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.5 mi away
Clareview House
Clareview House
#3 of 12 in Kinvara
112 reviews
8.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Property: Kinvara Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing