We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country hotel”
Review of Merriman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merriman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinvara
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just back from a two night break in the Merriman Hotel, Kinvara. The hotel is small and personal. Nice size lobby to relax in, with a large dining room and bar, nice cosy little areas to relax in. The food is very good and the staff are excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Manager chatted both mornings which is a nice touch. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for years. The hotel is situated at the top end of Kinvara with a great selection of pubs and restaurants very close by. Excellent location for visiting the Burren and a trip into Galway city. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvedaLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here overnight during a trip to Ireland with several friends. The staff was friendly. Food was delicious. Our room was clean, although not spacious. The hotel is located within walking distance to a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had lunch here on Sunday. The food was good however I do not think that I would come back as the service was terrible. They seemed under staffed for the amount of customers they had. Had to wait an unreasonable time to be attended by server and then also for order to arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank MikeLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed one night in Kinvara and stayed here. The Merriman got the job done, and was nothing special. We actually found the rooms and bathroom a bit dirty, and our TV didn't work. We did eat at the restaurant one night and it was pretty good if you don't want to leave the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Merriman is like home from home. Its cosy and most important of all, the staff are warm and friendly, serving up good food and good service. The village of Kinvara is a gem as far as Irish Coastal Villages are concerned. Everything is on the Merriman's doorstep from the traditional pubs offering night-time entertainment of great quality music and its not just traditional. One pub will have jazz/blues, another one folk, whilst bluegrass will be playing in another one up the street. Dun Guaire Castle is within walking distance. There is a great sense of community spirit in Kinvara that makes it so welcoming for tourists, hence the reason they like to take a stop here en route to Clare or Galway. Everytime I hit Kinvara, it feels like I'm home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThurayaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Use to be great food and service so was expecting the same this holiday , however staff on we're not welcoming or helpful
food was not the best and did mention to manager as he could have the option to improve it for our next visit ?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family were having a reunion in Kinvara so myself and two grandaughters booked into The Merriman for 2 nights. We got a lovely triple room that was quite spacious and very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also good. My son and his wife and 3 children booked a family room which consisted of a big double bed, 1 single bed and two pull out beds. This room was also good if a little small. The staff were very helpful and friendly at reception and in the bar and restaurant. A high chair was provided for the baby at breakfast and when we ate in bar. The food was lovely and the breakfast very good and cooked to order in the morning. The hotel is very central to the town and near to everything. Good value for the money we paid. One small gripe - we had no phone in the room.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the car park and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciatogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
838 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lady Gregory Hotel
10.1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinvara Guesthouse
Kinvara Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Kinvara
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fallon's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriman Hotel

Address: Kinvara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinvara
Price Range: £68 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merriman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merriman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriman Hotel Kinvara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing