We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and the best location in Ireland!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
La Crosse
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and the best location in Ireland!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

The owners are incredibly charming and hospitable. They will help you make your vacation perfect. We stayed here in the off season and the breakfasts were delicious! The tea was phenominal. This hotel is right across the street from the ocean and a beautiful beach! Sunset/sunrise walks are a must. Only a short drive (10 minutes) to Galway for shopping/pubs/restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed at the Park Lodge for 3 nights in the "off season" but the service we experienced was first rate. Rooms in the main building were clean and roomy. Breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold options. We were near the end our Ireland vacation, traveling with our children, and they said Park Lodge had the BEST brown bread.

Our first night at the Park Lodge was Thanksgiving day. We were part of a group of at least 40 guests from the U.S. The thanksgiving meal that was prepared for us was the best ever. Turkey, potatoes, stuffing, etc. All prepared to perfection and served efficiently.

The pub was fun with friendly service. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for visiting nice beaches close by as well as dinner suggestions in Galway. We would love to return in the spring or summer to enjoy this area with warmer weather. The large banquet hall and experienced staff would make this an excellent choice for a party or reception.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building on the second floor offer a great view to the Aran Islands and Galway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_in_Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Nice Hotel, Clean Spacious rooms, Nice Breakfast. (which was finished at 10:30 but they still feed us later :) Late bar which always helps. food was good also! Would stay again! Quite Surroundings so you willget a good night sleep, ideal for wedding parties!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great location and lovely staff but we were very disappointed with the lack of cleanliness in the cottages. The wardrobes were musty and full of cobwebs and graffiti. We couldn't use them for the week we were there. There was a musty smell in all of the bedrooms which was a shame as the living area was quite well decorated and maintained. The kitchenette was very basic and this would have been fine if it was clean! Coffee pot was thick with grease and unusable. Under the sink was full of cobwebs, dirt and last years mouse droppings! This is also where all the trays and pots were kept! In fairness to the staff they cleaned it, got pest control in and gave us a discount, however they refused to admit that there were mouse droppings there! Cannot understand how simple cleaning and painting over graffiti etc was not done. Such a shame. Never got to sample the food as the restaurant never seemed to be open! I knew from previous reviews that the accomodation is basic but there is no excuse for bad hygiene. So sorry to have had this bad experience as we were really looking forward to a family holiday. Hopefully they will sort these problems out so others will not have such an experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scateri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Park Lodge Hotel and recieved the best hospitality from the staff that anyone could imagine. Galway Bay and the cottages gave a real Irish experience to us outsiders and the staff topped off our stay with funny jokes, delicious Irish style meals, and going above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is right off of Galway Bay and that sunset is one heck of a sight. I travelled around Ireland for about four months and would definitely consider this hotel to be the best and most memorable stay during my travels. We considered staying in a hotel in Galway but wanted to get away from the city while still being able to have a short journey back to Galway for visits. The location of this Hotel made it perfect for us and I am very happy we chose to stay here. It's a fun place to stay and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my daughter in Irish College. The food is very nice and the staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were very clean and this hotel offered extremely good value for money. Having free internet is a real bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

My family had the opportunity to stay at the Park Lodge over Christmas this past year. We have stayed at many hotels, but have never received such phenomenal service. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the food was great, and the staff went well above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay.


I can't imagine a better place to stay to truly experience top notch hospitality. I would recommend the Park Lodge to anyone visiting the Galway area!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Galway Bay. The sunsets are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiddal
2.0 mi away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.4 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
19.1 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
8.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Hotel

Property: Park Lodge Hotel
Address: Park Spiddal, Spiddal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lodge Hotel Spiddal, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing