We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean B&B, nice Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Ranked #4 of 15 Spiddal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean B&B, nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We just spent one night in this B&B near Spiddal. It is located directly at the main road and therefor easy to find.
The room and bathroom are very clean and big enough. They provide WiFi in the whole B&B and TV in the sitting room. In the close vicinity you can go for a walk to the beach.
The breakfast was really nice and the highlight of our stay. They serve you the traditional Irish breakfast and freshmade pancakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maire1234, Owner at An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review to TripAdvisor and to show that you enjoyed your stay at An Caladh Gearr. That is what is important to us. We take note of all the points you made to make our customers happy.
Kind regards,
Maura Conneely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

A real irish house owned by a nice couple who were very helpful and friendly.
Best breakfast we had in Ireland: fresh fruit salad, homemade scones and muffins.
Location perfect to visit Connemara, Galway and Aran Islands.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaurizioInViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maire1234, Owner at An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thanks a million for the lovely review. Nice to add to your holiday enjoyment.

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was making a working break away and needed somewhere that was quiet, with internet access (I know!) and restful. It ticked all the boxes and the weather was incredible so the beach just couldn't have been nicer- all to myself!
The breakfast was also wonderful and hearty or healthy as you like- freshest of fruit or full Irish- lovely

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maire1234, Owner at An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
It is always rewarding when a client is happy with their stay in An Caladh Gearr, B+B. Thank you Kristy.

Maura Conneely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Everyone coming to Ireland should stay in a thatched cottage at least once during their stay. This B&B is an old, perfectly restored one-story, stone-walled, white-walled thatched cottage. We stayed there in September 2012 for one night -- but wish we could have stayed longer. Maire, the owner, welcomed us into the cottage with tea and cookies, in front a cozy peat fire -- delightful. The room was large, by Irish standards, with double and twin beds, furnished in bright pine woodwork trim and floors and a small but nice bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets, cases and duvet clean and crisp and the bathroom was nice. Plenty of hot water for showers. She gave us a great recommendation on a restaurant/pub - Donnelly's - a few miles back towards Galway. The food was excellent. Maire (I might have the spelling wrong) served a super breakfast, with multiple varieties, including a full Irish breakfast, and all the side trimmings you would want, like cereals, juices, toast, scones, etc. Very hearty and great flavor. Can't recommend this place enough -- it is on the MUST DO list of things to do and places to stay when you are in western Ireland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

An Caladh Gearr is the perfect B&B! Such a lovely, authentic thatch cottage with the peat fire burning, spotlessly clean, very convenient location to Galway and the ferry to Aran Islands, but best of all the most comfortable pillows and beds (even for my son who is 6'8" tall) and most delicious breakfast of our entire 8-night trip (and that includes our stay at Ashford Castle!). We are still raving about the huge spread Maura made us for breakfast and her scrumptuous scones! Our only regret is that we didn't have an extra day and night to visit more with Maura and Michael. They are the perfect hosts, with good tips for traveling around the area. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This thatched cottage is a wonderful place to stay! Hot scones and breads with hot tea were offered on our arrival, even though we were somewhat late in arriving. Maura and her husband were gracious and gave us great tips on how to navigate Galway City, how to get to the airport for a flight to Inis Mor, and where to eat in Spiddal. Maura really knows how to cook a great Irish breakfast. Their home is lovely and warm. The smell of the peat fire was soothing and welcoming. I'll never forget that smell. Of all the places I stayed in Ireland, this thatched cottage was and is my favorite. I will stay there again on my next trip to Ireland. I wholeheartedly recommend this thatched cottage to all who travel to the Galway area.

Room Tip: They only have three rooms, all three looked warm and cozy. We stayed in the twin room.The linens we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlusting1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiddal
0.0 mi away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ard Eoinin Spiddal Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 15 in Spiddal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B

Property: An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Address: Cnoc, Spiddal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Spiddal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional thatch cottage from the late 19th century that we have restored and extended with care. Situated in one of the most beautiful places in Ireland, overlooking Galway Bay, the view is fantastic. We have lovely surroundings and lots of home baking. Very accessible to the Aran Islands and Conamara and Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B Spiddal, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing