We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Now a wonderful memory”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cloghane, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
724GJF
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Now a wonderful memory”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just back from an utterly fantastic time at Loch Cruite Cottage. I spent three unforgettable days there with my cousin for a bit of a catch up. Firstly, the area is magnificent. The north coast of Dingle is a real hidden gem. The scenery in this out of the way part of Dingle is jaw dropping and the cottage sits right in there amongst the best of it - Mt Brandon looms over your bedroom window spectacularly and the ocean can be seen off in the distance. It was fun watching cars tentatively enter the Connor Pass just across the valley.

Secondly, this is real country for craic. The pub owners will get to know you by name, tell you stories that will leave you riveted and even let you have a bash on the house guitar. The chat was friendly and full of wit and the food is excellent.

Lastly, the cottage is as picturesque as you will find. The beds plush and comfortable, the kitchen well appointed and the fireplace big and homey. (If you have issues starting peat fires, Paddy will build you an idiot proof one from scratch.) Speaking of Paddy, he's absolutely ace. Helpful, funny, full of local knowledge with a real talent for making everything just right. You'll love it. I hope to get back as soon as can be managed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a great two weeks at Loch Cruite Cottage. The location is fabulous as is the welcome from Paddy and Eileen. Special thanks also to Paddy's father Tom, for all of his fishing wisdom. The neighbouring farmer Brendan was also a great source of local knowledge. The beaches are superb and hardly used, our kids loved them. The cottage itself is very well maintained, clean and holds everything needed - including a washing machine. I have no issue at all in recommending, we all loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: People, location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a great holiday at Loch Cruite Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. How wonderful to have plenty of experts on the area, property and activities on hand to point you in the right direction! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope that you return to enjoy the place again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurray7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I spent a wonderful week at loch cruite cottage. It was spotlessly clean and tidy and was in a beautiful area. The children had a wonderful time playing with the neighbors sheep dogs and there was lots of activities in the surrounding area. I would highly recommend loch cruite cottage to anyone and hope to return again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Loch Cruite Cottage and had everything you needed to hand there, plus plenty for all the family in the area! We certainly hope you return for another stay very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All we expected and more!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just finished our one week stay at Loch Cruite Cottage. It is a quaint, but well appointed place to stay. The layout is an open kitchen/living room with a downstairs bedroom and two loft bedrooms. We cooked many meals at the cottage; there are ample pots/pans and utensils. There is a fireplace and we were able to 'burn dirt" (turf), but also wood. These commodities are available in the nearby villages.

As we were just two, we opted for the double loft room, which was very comfortable. Because the cottage is on the hillside, we often looked out the back window and saw either the beautiful flora or a grazing sleep or two. The cottage is surrounded by pastures and flocks of sheep are never far away.

We both work in people centric occupations (teacher/coordiantor and social worker) so we were attracted by the location outside of Cloghan Village. We expected room to walk/hike, a quiet cottage in which to catch up on our reading, and brilliant views. We got all of that and more. From the moment we spoke with the owners on the telephone to make final arrangements, we knew we'd found something very special. After having flown from Boston, MA on the overnight flight to Shannon, then remembering how to drive on the left in a car with the driver on the right, and finally making it to Cloghan Glen, it was absolutely great to find a beautifully clean cottage complete with a fresh bread from the local bakery and a bottle of wine waiting. A fire was laid in the fireplace for us as well. We felt welcomed and cared for; there is no better feeling if you are a sleep deprived tourist.

Ireland is known for its friendly folks; the gold standard are those in West Kerry. We were lucky enough to meet the sheep farmer, until recently a PE teacher for over 35 years. His wit, conversation, and true neighborly attitude were a gift.

If you are looking for a serene, beautiful place to stay off the beaten path (yet close to Cloghane Village, Brandon, and Dingle), you couldn't do better than to stay at Loch Cruite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Views, quiet, and the sheep
Liked least: The only missing item for me was a hairdryer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your holiday at Loch Cruite Cottage. It is great to hear that your stay was all you hoped for and more - the peace and serenity you describe sounds perfect! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope that you return the next time you need to recharge your batteries!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem in the Dingle countryside”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week over easter in Loch Cruite cottage and we would heartily recommend it. The cottage is very quaint and well restored. It is in the heart of the most spectacular scenery - has to be seen to be believed! It is a great base for exploring the Dingle peninsula and is paradise for those who enjoy walking or hiking, with plenty for all levels nearby. It is close to some breathtaking beaches and is also convenient for the local village - which has a wonderful bakery amongst other things. The other thing that was a big attraction for the children was being next to a sheep farm, with plenty of newborn lambs for entertainment. The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming. All in all we had a fantastic stay and would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our two children aged 2 and 8, spent a wonderful holiday here in August. We cannot speak highly enough of the owners and the effort that they made to make us feel welcome - including wine, bread and jam on arrival. The cottage itself is beautiful, charming, cosy and immaculate with a traditional fire - perfect to relax in. The beauty of the area is hard to describe. The views around the cottage are spectacular, beautiful lakes on your doorstep and fabulous beaches to explore. We spent our days surfing on Fermoyle Beach, rockpooling on Cappagh Beach and visiting Dingle and the Dingle Peninsula. We finished the day off with the most fabulous pint of Guinness at Nora Murphy's pub in Brandon, where there is a friendly, relaxed atmosphere, a pier which will keep the kids busy for hours and great music on a Sunday night (highly recommended). Without question, our holiday in Cloghane has been our most memorable and enjoyable as a family and the boys have come away with fantastic memories not only of the area, but of the fabulous people who made us feel so welcome. We cannot recommend this property highly enough and we will most certainly return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic, peaceful, perfect”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a beautiful, sunny week together at Loch Cruite cottage this May. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful and made excellent recomendations on how to spend our time in Colghane on the Dingle Peninsula. The cottage itself is seated in the side of a large hill, overlooking two lakes and a sheep farm. Behind the cottage, there is a secluded, mountain-fed lake. Absolutely breathtaking.

Over the course of our stay, we walked beaches and hiked part of Mount Brandon, discovered a tiny abandoned village at the end of a desolate road, met numerous sheep, discovered a lone horse walking on the beach, enjoyed the silence of a place without traffic or hustle and bustle and relaxed. It was the best vacation we've ever taken, and it won't be our last.

We arrived expecting rain and cold, but were pleasantly surprised by sunny days, and crisp evenings. We were kept warm at night with a cozy peat fire and enjoyed numerous meals in Cloghane at O'Connor's Guesthouse. We even went to a sing-along evening in town and were warmly welcomed by its residents. We drank tea, ate homemade biscuits, and enjoyed Irish songs and an excellent fiddle player.

If you want to a truly singular experience in the beauty of the Irish countryside, Loch Cruite Cottage is the place to go. Five stars.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing