We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballinleague Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ballinleague Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Ballinleague Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ventry, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Miranda B
Ballybofey, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kate's fabulous house in Ventry. Everything was perfect for our family of 6 and we are looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Hi Miranda, It was a real pleasure to host such lovely people as you are! Thanks for your positive review, delighted to hear you were happy with our home and above all that you all had such a good time! Thanks so much for the excellent care you took of everything - you left it shining! Really looking forward to our visit to your beautiful Dergfield House very soon! It will be a real adventure to explore your historical sites, fab landscapes and taste your artisan foods!! Kind regards, Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Hi Roisin, Thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear you enjoyed proximity to the lovely Blue Flag beach - especially so after your long journey! You choose the attractions well - we too, find the National Park at Killarney always a great place to visit. Well done on the mountain climb at nearby Connor Pass - it must have been really spectacular! Agreed, it’s always a delight to eat in the “ gourmet capital”! Such variety and high quality .....do remember the Food and Wine Festival which happens 1st week end in October every year! Would love to host you and your lovely family again. Special thanks for being so respectful of the property and for leaving it so spotless.
Kind regards, Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lian L
1 review
“Wonderful house, stunning location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wonderful house, stunning location. Very peaceful and quiet with beautiful views. Everything provided in the house, including washing machine and dryer (VERY helpful with young children playing on the beach all day), dishwasher, all kitchen crockery and utensils. Four bedrooms and two bathrooms, all spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and very comfortable.
A sumptuous welcome basket greeted us on our arrival, containing freshly baked scones, jam, tea and coffee. This was a lovely and delicious surprise, which we all enjoyed immediately!
I would absolutely recommend this house for a relaxing holiday.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Hi Lian, Thank you very much for your very thorough review. It is, above all, delightful to know that you all had a happy and comfortable holiday! We’re really grateful for the excellent care you took of the property and the trouble you went to in leaiving it so clean and tidy. - I look forward to having you all stay again! Kind regards, Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent family home”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is ideal. Very close to Dingle, Ballyferriter and local tourist attractions. House was very clean with modern appliances. The owner Kate L goes out of her way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. You will not find a better home to rent in Ventry. I would recommend this house to anyone and plan on staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Hi There, Thank you very much for your kind review - we do try our best so it’s great to know that you’re pleased! Especially glad that you enjoyed our local area so much and that you got to key in with so many of your Irish relatives in the locality. I’m sure you’re visit was a real treat! Thanks to all for leaving the home so clean and orderly......hope to see you again soon! Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M
1 review
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We felt very much at home in this spacious and modern cottage. My 7-year-old enjoyed having a huge, safe garden to run around in and especially liked climbing on the big rock and being the official gate-opener. The cottage is just up the road from Ventry beach and village and a quick drive to Dingle. There is so much to see in the Ventry area alone that we didn't stray too far. We went on an eco-marine tour to the Blasket Islands that left from Ventry pier; we went horseback riding courtesy of Long's, visited Dunbeg Hill Fort, Rahinane Castle ruins and many other nearby sights. I'd highly recommend The Skipper restaurant for an amazing breakfast. Our initial arrival was delayed as we missed our connecting flight from Dublin so we didn't arrive until well past 9-9:30 pm but we had been in touch with Kate and she very happily accommodated us. We were met by Sarah who greeted us warmly and even popped back home to bring us some milk, eggs and yogurt, since we hadn't had time to do any grocery shopping. That was incredibly kind and appreciated. We would certainly return to this cottage again (and I seriously wish I was still there now!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Hi Sheena, Many thanks for your kind review. We were only delighted to help but it’s really nice to know that our efforts are appreciated! I’m so glad to have had an attentive gatekeeper! -
bet the local sheep will think twice now! Glad too to learn too that you enjoyed exploring the local heritage - it lends such resonance to a holiday I find! - You’ve been such superb guests, wed really loved to have you stay again! Kind regards, Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazelMur
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Warm and relaxing cottage in Ventry”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely relaxing week in this peaceful cottage, beautiful walks on the beach and a perfect location in the middle of the Slea head drive. Fantastic opportunity for my amateur photography, got some great shots. The cottage was really clean and comfortable, really good spec. Great buzz in Dingle town, excellent food and fun in the evening, even the short taxi ride in was surprisingly enjoyable, we got a sample of the local ceol agus craic!! we are looking forward to when we can stay again already!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Hi Hazel,
Thank you for the appreciative review of your Spring visit. We're delighted to know that you found our home comfortable, warm and relaxing as we aim for very high standards. We're glad, also, to hear that you enjoyed our central location and proximity to beaches and hiking routes - the area is so scenic it must, indeed, be heaven for a photographer in springtime - we're delighted to learn of your work and look forward to seeing it. Yes the 'ceoil agus craic' runs right throughout the year here - great to hear that you've enriched your memories there! Thank you for looking after the property so well - you left it impeccable. Looking forward to seeing you again in the Autumn.
Kind regards,
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markandre...
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Ballinleague Lodge”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I stayed in Ballinleague Lodge for a week in July17 and had a wonderful week. The house is very functional and homely, perfect for our 3 young kids. It has a bright and warm interior and a large spacious garden complete with gates where the kids could safely play. The location is excellent, 5 minutes drive from Dingle, Slea Head, and Ballyferritter and a short walk from Ventry beach. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Ballinleague Lodge. Kate L was very helpful and the scones and homemade jam were much appreciated on arrival. We will be back again next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Hi Mark, thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad you found our location and hospitality to your liking. -We know so well ourselves that safe and spacious grounds is so important for small people - nice, too, to to sit out and have a glass of wine in the evenings! Thank you for being so respectful of the property, you left it really clean and tidy. Looking forward to your return in July! Regards, Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing