We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great spot!”

Review of Ard na Carraige

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ventry, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Shrewsbur...
Hanwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a great spot!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family group whilst visiting relatives who live locally.
The house is in an excellent position with stunning views over Ventry Bay. It is a short walk down (about 300 yards) to the village with post office/store, friendly pub and great little French style sea food restaurant and then a few steps more onto the long sandy beach.
There are little car parks if you want to drive down to the beach which we did having some older folks in our group.
The house itself is really comfortable and very clean and nicely furnished with a deck and plenty of other places to sit and admire the view. Everything on the website is very accurate ( if anything it undersells this house) and Dorry the owner made the whole booking a very easy process.
Will definitely go back.

Date of stay: May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money, and the views.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eimearmcc...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cosy house with amazing views!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Ard Na Carraige the first week of March and I have to say it was the most enjoyable stay I've had in Ireland in years. I was greeted by the owner on arrival and she showed us around the house and how everything worked, the nicest gesture was a basket of scones with jam/butter and some pastries and a half pint of milk to get us started - such a lovely touch.

The views from the house are amazing, the beach is only a short walk away and it's a beautiful beach. There's a small pub called "Quinns" and lovely restaurant "The Skipper" at the bottom of the road, there's FREE wifi in Quinns which is a plus.

Ard Na Carraige is an idea base for exploring the area - especially if you are into sports such as hillwalking, swimming, running or cycling. The area is so picturesque. However, it was always nice to return to the house as it was very cosy and homely. Waking up in the morning & enjoying a coffee as I stood in the decking area looking at the surroundings is an experience I will never forget. Everyone enjoyed their stay and we'll be back later this year if all goes well. I highly recommend Ard Na Carraige!

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the house was presented, it was clean, modern and v.cosy
Liked least: NA - everything was just perfect!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtrav...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful House with Amazing Views”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here in summer 2012 with a small group of friends and I had one of the best holidays of my life. The house was so warm, cosy and comfortable. The hosts had left out a little welcome pack for us which was great so we were able to make a cup of tea and have some lovely home made scones when we arrived.

The location of the house was fantastic as it was just a few minutes to the beach where we were able to bring out our canoes and windsurfers. Dingle was only a few miles up the road and we were able to get a taxi in and out (approx 10 euro in total each way for a group of 4 girls) which was great. We discovered a lovely restaurant in Ventry village where they served lovely fresh and tasty food which was great as it was only a few minutes walk from the house.

We made good use of the decking area and had a few bbq's on a few of the evenings - simply stunning scenery from the decking area. Bbq and outside dining tables were provided which was great as it was hassle free.

I would highly recommend this house as a place to stay. I hope to be back again soon and fingers crossed the weather will be a good!

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfortable house in a great location.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the rain.... not any fault of the house !!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.