We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country break in Glencar with kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country break in Glencar with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

An extended group of family & friends spent a great weekend in Glencar last weekend. The location is remote but the setting is tranquil & beautiful, Ireland at its best.

We had 3 kids under ten years of age and we got a great family room. It had two rooms with 3 single beds & a double. The accommodation was basic but extremely clean & spacious, perfect for our stay. There was plenty room for the kids to play football outside. Many in the group ventured up Carrauntoohil with the aid of a local guide. Instead we visited the local towns.

The hosts were very welcoming, accommodating & flexible with the kids. We were spoilt with the best of home baking & cooking. The kids enjoyed the full size snooker table & tv room. We enjoyed the bar, which was homely with a warm open fire. The sing song & music on Saturday was a real treat.

The weekend was exceptionally good value. A recession friendly hotel. We enjoyed a great family friendly break. Looking forward to a return trip already.

P.S. There is a beautiful walk through a forest & around a lake to the back of the hotel. Definitely worth doing & perfect for those not adventurous enough to climb Carrauntoohil.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had our 2nd Annual Cousins reunion on the June bank holiday.To say that it exceeded all expectations would be an understatement.From the time we arrived, the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.Most of us had booked for 3 nights,The food was wonderful and the atmosphere at the hotel was second to none.I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone considering a reunion of any description or for singles couples families etc.The scenery and various walks around the hotel are outstanding.Value wise I don't believe there is a hotel in Ireland offering better value.Roll on next year for our next reunion.Many thanks Liam and Eilís.
P.S. This is the first time I felt obliged to give maximum points for a review

Room Tip: Room 5 is a beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANK531958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

As a repeat visitor to the area I can definitely recommend Glencar House as the best accomodation in the area and a great base to explore the mountains. In terms of value and comfort it cant be faulted. I love the feel of the place and it has very friendly hosts. I should mention that the bar is great too!
I'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earlyevening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We recently enjoyed a lovely weekend in Glencar House hotel with Liam and Eilis. Beautiful location, friendly atmosphere, home cooking, even got the family dog Lizzy to take us for a walk! If you want a relaxing, stress free break this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent a few days here in May and loved every minute.The hotel is charming , combining old , atmospheric rooms with new ,bright bedrooms. Our host and hostess were equally charming and the food was excellent.This is in a great spot with lots of lovely walks nearby and towns to visit if the weather is bad.It was a little difficult to find...could do with a few more signs along the way., but well worth the journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klaraVancouver_Bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My sisters and I were in Ireland in April enjoying a long planned vacation. We stayed at Glencar House Hotel for two nights and could not have had a better experience. From the start, Liam and Ailis went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to be as helpful as possible. The rooms were lovely, the meals outstanding and the atmosphere wonderful. I hope to be able to return one day soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We arrived on a Friday night to discover we were the only people booked in that night. A bit off putting at first but no need to worry! We were warmly welcomed by Liam and shown to our room which was a good size and very comfortable. He shared with us his local knowledge of places to eat and the next morning we had a lovely breakfast in the dining room.After climbing Carrantouhil on a glorious Saturday, we returned to Glencar House to have a beautiful meal prepared by Eilish. Sitting by the open fire we enjoyed the company of other guests and were well looked after by the owners.A beautiful place, delicious food and a warm welcome. Would recommend this as a base in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
7.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.0 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
13.7 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Property: Glencar House
Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing