We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish hospitality at its best”
Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Zürich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Irish hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It feels like this place is built around around a fireplace in are cozy little bar. When we arrived here, we were very warmly welcomed by the host. We were walking the Kerry way and even though it is not directly on track, it's totally worth staying here - there is a shortcut coming back to the Kerry way at Blackstone bridge. After a long day of walking we could really relax here. After having a shower the Guiness at the fireplace was like something that came directly from heaven. The food was by far the best we had in Ireland during our trip. Hospitality is the key of this place. The only suggestion for improvement would be the room temperature - could be a little warmer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
, Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Glencar House Hotel for a weekend and had a smashing time.The hosts Liam & Eilis along with all the staff were so friendly,welcoming and very accommodating.The rooms were fresh,clean and had all you need.The food was outstanding,the breakfast would set you up for the day ahead,the evening meals were delicious absolutely beautiful(followed by Eilis' devine white chocolate cheese cake,amazing!).Even the locals who come in for a drink are so friendly,great chats in the cosy bar,lovely atmosphere.The surroundings are beautiful,so peaceful,it is a wonderful place to stay,a home away from home.Look forward to going back........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Cathy, thank you for taking the time to post your review about Glencar House Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Glencar House, hopefully we will see you here again in the very near future. The locals really enjoyed meeting you! Best wishes Eilis, Liam and Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

To experience that away from it all feeling this is the place to stay. Located near Killarney but in the heart of County Kerry this is to see what Green Ireland really is! Excellent area for fishing as various reports displayed confirm this is a haven for walkers and cyclists- or the more laid back motorist of course also. Excellent for children and families.
Accommodation modern and comfortable and fresh wholesome food.
Service with a smile from Liam and Eilish.
Lounges and Bar a comfortable retreat in the evenings. Good areas for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Ernest C, thank you for your very kind words. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Glencar House Hotel. We really appreciate when our Guests take the time to post their comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glencar in the very near future. Best wishes Eilis and Liam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent two nights here. The location is perfect, secluded but within 30 minutes of most of the Ring of Kerry. The hotel was very well maintained. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, some of the best meals we had during our visit. The hosts, Liam and Eilis, were very welcoming. Their hospitality made this one of the parts of our trip to Ireland.

We will be returning, as we would love to explore the area in more detail.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sc_caywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Glencar House was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. We spent two nights at this lovely bed and breakfast with our son and daughter-in-law. When we first arrived from Cork, we were tired and hungry and Liam was quick to make a great grilled sandwich and salad to keep us going. Liam was so helpful giving us directions to beautiful sites around the Ring of Kerry (and he makes a great Irish Coffee, too!!). Eilish is an amazing cook. Our breakfasts were perfect and the dinner menu was amazing. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. We would recommend this beautiful area to anyone! Thank you, Liam and Eilish! You are wonderful hosts. We felt like we were with long time friends. (Oh, and Lizzie was the best!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

On our trip to Kerry to climb Carrauntoohil we stayed in Glencar House. On arrival we recieved a very warm welcome and immediately felt at home. The ensuite room was spotlessly clean and had the most comfortable bed. The hotel is situated in a remote and peaceful location and is a perfect base for climbing Carrauntoohil. Liam and Eilis (and Lizzie the dog) are the most welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. Eilish's cooking was first class and being able to sit beside the fire in an armchair while reading the paper and having a drink was like being at home. The little extras provided really added to our stay, the packed lunch and flask of tea for the climb, the certificate of achievement, the electric blanket on our bed, the celebratory drink. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately be returning in the future for another relaxing and peacful weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad that you had good weather for your climb of Carrauntoohil. Lizzy missed your company when you were gone, she loved all the attention. We will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon hopefully. We will have room 1 ready for you, electric blanket and all!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent one night in this charming hotel in the middle of the Ring of Kerry. I wish we had more time to explore and stay longer! The hotel is an old building, but it is well maintained, clean and extremely comfortable. My husband and I arrived after 8:30pm, hungry and cold, and our hostess was kind enough to make us a delicious soup and one of the best goat-cheese salads I've ever tasted. This was served up in the wood-panelled bar infront of a roaring fire. Our host kept us from being thirsty with drinks from the well-stocked bar. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, clean and warm. The breakfast was first-class with a full range of cereals, hot cakes, fruit etc., and a hearty cooked breakfast. The area is renowned for fishing and hiking, as well as the stunning scenery. I would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F00tn0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
You were very kind to take the time to post your positive review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate that you did. It was such a shame that your visit to Glencar was so short, hopefully you will get back to see us again and take more time to explore the area and see all the beautiful sights around us. I am so delighted that the Goats cheese salad was such a hit with you, it is very popular with all our guests. Wishing you both a very happy summer season and we look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Take care. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
15.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
956 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
13.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
101 reviews
15.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
889 reviews
15.1 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Property: Glencar House
Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing