We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glencar House
Nearby Hotels
Towers Hotel(Glenbeigh)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bianconi(Killorglin)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunloe(Beaufort)
US$295
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
86
12
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
12
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshidden gemwhole experiencesnooker tablefew drinksexcellent foodmcgillycuddy reekscant waitwell stocked barhotel is situatedexcellent value for moneypeaceful surroundingsold world charma wonderful stayminute driveenjoyed our stayexcellent hostsdinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It feels like this place is built around around a fireplace in are cozy little bar. When we arrived here, we were very warmly welcomed by the host. We were walking the Kerry way and even though it is not directly on track, it's totally worth staying here - there is a shortcut coming back to the Kerry way at Blackstone bridge. After a long day of walking we could really relax here. After having a shower the Guiness at the fireplace was like something that came directly from heaven. The food was by far the best we had in Ireland during our trip. Hospitality is the key of this place. The only suggestion for improvement would be the room temperature - could be a little warmer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Glencar House Hotel for a weekend and had a smashing time.The hosts Liam & Eilis along with all the staff were so friendly,welcoming and very accommodating.The rooms were fresh,clean and had all you need.The food was outstanding,the breakfast would set you up for the day ahead,the evening meals were delicious absolutely beautiful(followed by Eilis' devine white chocolate cheese cake,amazing!).Even the locals who come in for a drink are so friendly,great chats in the cosy bar,lovely atmosphere.The surroundings are beautiful,so peaceful,it is a wonderful place to stay,a home away from home.Look forward to going back........

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Cathy, thank you for taking the time to post your review about Glencar House Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Glencar House, hopefully we will see you here again in the very near future. The locals really enjoyed meeting you! Best wishes Eilis, Liam and Lizzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

To experience that away from it all feeling this is the place to stay. Located near Killarney but in the heart of County Kerry this is to see what Green Ireland really is! Excellent area for fishing as various reports displayed confirm this is a haven for walkers and cyclists- or the more laid back motorist of course also. Excellent for children and families.
Accommodation modern and comfortable and fresh wholesome food.
Service with a smile from Liam and Eilish.
Lounges and Bar a comfortable retreat in the evenings. Good areas for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Ernest C, thank you for your very kind words. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Glencar House Hotel. We really appreciate when our Guests take the time to post their comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glencar in the very near future. Best wishes Eilis and Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent two nights here. The location is perfect, secluded but within 30 minutes of most of the Ring of Kerry. The hotel was very well maintained. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, some of the best meals we had during our visit. The hosts, Liam and Eilis, were very welcoming. Their hospitality made this one of the parts of our trip to Ireland.

We will be returning, as we would love to explore the area in more detail.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank sc_caywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Glencar House was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. We spent two nights at this lovely bed and breakfast with our son and daughter-in-law. When we first arrived from Cork, we were tired and hungry and Liam was quick to make a great grilled sandwich and salad to keep us going. Liam was so helpful giving us directions to beautiful sites around the Ring of Kerry (and he makes a great Irish Coffee, too!!). Eilish is an amazing cook. Our breakfasts were perfect and the dinner menu was amazing. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. We would recommend this beautiful area to anyone! Thank you, Liam and Eilish! You are wonderful hosts. We felt like we were with long time friends. (Oh, and Lizzie was the best!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews