We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Glencar house hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility, set in a most beautiful part of Kerry. It is an ideal base for those who enjoy walking, fishing, cycling or just driving around.
Liam, Eilish and all the staff are so welcoming and we were made to feel at home the minute we arrived.
Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is delicious, and the bar is so cosy and relaxing. Our bedroom was great overlooking the mountains. We found it very hard to get out of bed each morning because it was just so comfortable!
We have stayed in the Glencar house before and each time we go back we enjoy it even more.
Can't wait till we get to go back again!!
Keep up the great work Liam and Eilish!!

Louise and Dave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisefitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gullegem, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Glencar House was the only place to stay we found in Glencar. With 4 girls backpacking, we stayed in a family room. Glencar House is surrounded by the most idyllic scenery on the Kerry Way. Eillis is the perfect hostess, she cared about us, cooked some delicious meals!

Thank you for your hospitality! Love, the four Belgian girls

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratton-on-the-Fosse, Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My partner and I had booked a mountain walking, lake viewing and driving adventure holiday in the county of Kerry in Ireland for a week July 2013. My partner discovered the Glencar hotel on internet search engines. We wanted to get a hotel/ house to set up as a base for our driving adventures. Glencar house hotel did not disappoint. The location of hotel was perfect with scenic views of mountains all around.

My partner then found Glencar House Hotel on facebook to explain our vegetarian and no cheese diets. Liam and Ellis were very accommodating and helped us with our Sat nav questions about what to put it to help us find the hotel. We drove down from Dublin to Glencar house hotel with ease after that. Sign posts to the hotel are clearly marked.

The hosts Liam & Eilis along with all the staff were so friendly, welcoming and keen to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were fresh, clean with flowing hot water and ample amounts of tea. The food was outstanding; I would recommend the Irish Full Breakfast. When we did stay in for an evening meal it was so delicious. Ellis went out of her way to ensure our dietary needs were catered for!

Just by the local town of Killarney and in the area of the Ring of Kerry. There is plenty to do if you are looking for a walking, cycling or simply driving. The hotel provided ample walking maps, things to do in the area, information about the fishing areas.

Hotel has a snooker table, cosy little bar and friendly people. The surroundings are beautiful, so peaceful and were made to feel at home. Thanks for the hospitality. We would very much consider staying at Glencar again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It feels like this place is built around around a fireplace in are cozy little bar. When we arrived here, we were very warmly welcomed by the host. We were walking the Kerry way and even though it is not directly on track, it's totally worth staying here - there is a shortcut coming back to the Kerry way at Blackstone bridge. After a long day of walking we could really relax here. After having a shower the Guiness at the fireplace was like something that came directly from heaven. The food was by far the best we had in Ireland during our trip. Hospitality is the key of this place. The only suggestion for improvement would be the room temperature - could be a little warmer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Glencar House Hotel for a weekend and had a smashing time.The hosts Liam & Eilis along with all the staff were so friendly,welcoming and very accommodating.The rooms were fresh,clean and had all you need.The food was outstanding,the breakfast would set you up for the day ahead,the evening meals were delicious absolutely beautiful(followed by Eilis' devine white chocolate cheese cake,amazing!).Even the locals who come in for a drink are so friendly,great chats in the cosy bar,lovely atmosphere.The surroundings are beautiful,so peaceful,it is a wonderful place to stay,a home away from home.Look forward to going back........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Cathy, thank you for taking the time to post your review about Glencar House Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Glencar House, hopefully we will see you here again in the very near future. The locals really enjoyed meeting you! Best wishes Eilis, Liam and Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

To experience that away from it all feeling this is the place to stay. Located near Killarney but in the heart of County Kerry this is to see what Green Ireland really is! Excellent area for fishing as various reports displayed confirm this is a haven for walkers and cyclists- or the more laid back motorist of course also. Excellent for children and families.
Accommodation modern and comfortable and fresh wholesome food.
Service with a smile from Liam and Eilish.
Lounges and Bar a comfortable retreat in the evenings. Good areas for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Ernest C, thank you for your very kind words. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Glencar House Hotel. We really appreciate when our Guests take the time to post their comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glencar in the very near future. Best wishes Eilis and Liam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent two nights here. The location is perfect, secluded but within 30 minutes of most of the Ring of Kerry. The hotel was very well maintained. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, some of the best meals we had during our visit. The hosts, Liam and Eilis, were very welcoming. Their hospitality made this one of the parts of our trip to Ireland.

We will be returning, as we would love to explore the area in more detail.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sc_caywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
12.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
15.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
931 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
127 reviews
15.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Property: Glencar House
Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing