We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people! but needs cleaned and updated”

Forest Farm Kildare
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Farm Kildare
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Showers smell and dirty

Very poor cleaning

But it is a lovely place and would be great for kids if using your own bathroom in caravan,

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed in one of the self-catering apartments for three nights with my Dad and my sister. The apartment smelt as if it had not been properly cleaned or aired for a very long time. The dishes in the cupboard were dirty, facilities were basic (e.g. there was no bottle opener or cork screw), it seemed as if the owners had simply left it up to the individual visitors to clean up after themselves, so the bigger cleaning jobs like cleaning the cooker out and mopping the floors didn't seem to have been done. There were also dirty clothes in one of the cupboards in the bedrooms and lots of cobwebs. The heating is controlled from the main house and as it was a little chilly I asked if we could have it on in the evenings - the owner didn't complain but did seem reluctant. I only really spoke to the owners when we arrived, when I asked about the heating and when we left I didn't find them particularly warm or friendly although they were helpful when I asked about places to eat nearby when we checked in. Location wise it's very close to the Irish National Stud - which is why I chose to stay here. The camp site is huge and there are a lot of self-catering apartments however it's very quiet and you need your own transport to get to and from the farm as it's a couple of miles from the nearest town. I would neither stay again nor recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed here in Sept 09 in two of the apartments. They are huge - the website doesn’t do them justice. Had lovely breakfast each morning in the B&B. Grounds are beautiful. Lovely caravan park there too. Would definitely recommend it here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We got there early enough. Tried to book in but there was no-body on reception and no-one answered the bell. We went into town (Athy) for a while and came back. This time there was people there.
After getting booked in we were then directed to a very large area to pitch our tent. All the room in the world. After getting the tent up - we checked out the facilities. They were absolutly brilliant. The toilets and showers were spotless and the 'nicest bogs I have every seen on a camsite'. There was a common room for people to get together (if there were any) which was quite comfortable (large comfy seats and such). There was a kitchen but you needed tokens to use the cooking facilities (luckily we brought our own anyway) but it was a good clean place to wash up.
The only bad thing about this site was that there was only one other couple (two women) camping. There were a few dotted caravans but people were not about. The place was so quiet you could hear a pin drop on the grass. Apart from that - we had a great time.
If you need anything - Athy town is just a 5 minute drive away and they have everything there (large supermarkets and takeaway food).
Grat place for a stop-over or a quiet visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfastlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athy hotels
0.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn B&B
Hawthorn B&B
#5 of 10 in Athy
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dollardstown House
Dollardstown House
#1 of 10 in Athy
178 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Farm Kildare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Farm Kildare

Address: Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Athy
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Forest Farm Kildare Athy, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing