We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Athy B&B and Inns
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have stayed in Athy before as we attend the Bluegrass Festival every July. This time we stayed at Aurora House. Teresa and Chris are excellent hosts. Our room was comfortable, we both slept well, plenty of hot water, great shower and breakfast was plentiful. When we get the dates for 2014 we will book room 5 again. This is a home from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our next destination was quite a distance southwest at Athy, before continuing to County Wicklow where we were to undertake some family history research. Whilst this wasn’t a leg designed for sightseeing we must tell about the Gaelic Chieftain, a large statue of the chieftain astride his horse, made from metal strips, on a rise beside the highway north of Boyle .Another find was a real gem we found for lunch at Tullamore. On recommendation from a local lady we walked around the corner to #8 Harbour Street, the site of The Coffee Club, Bright, light & airy with inside and outside seating; you design your own sandwich, roll, pizza on long roll etc etc. We elected for the pizza on a long split roll, upon which you nominated any number of items from the refrigerated cabinet. This was served with potato crisps and salad. Unaware of Iced Coffee as we have in Australia, they didn’t hesitate to make it from our description. 2Pizzas & 2 iced coffees for just E17. From Tullamore we passed through Portlaoise to Athy and our overnight stop at Aurora House. We were warmly welcomed by Chris, who gave us the choice of two rooms and chose the 0ne which was lighter with the sun streaming through the window. He made a welcoming cup of tea in the breakfast room; there being no tea making facilities in our room. There was no dressing table or desk; merely a kitchen style chair between the beds and a lamp stand on the other side of the beds. The power point was near floor level and I had to use computer whilst sitting near foot of bed and similarly for shaving and using hair dryer. We had noticed several reports on Chris & Teresa’s affection for their children which is commendable however it affected the service we received. Chris put us on the spot by asking us if we could have breakfast before 8am or after 9am as he had to go to work and Teresa had to take a son to school. We elected for 9am not knowing that we would have a restless night due to inadequate bed clothing and a noisy client next door who sounded as if he was in our bathroom at 7am. We later found he was a tradie who was working in the area. As a person with decades in the tourism industry, including the accommodation sector and a father of three, I am aware of the need to juggle the needs of clients and children. You may only get one chance with clients. This is written to assist please accept as same. We dined this night at the stylish Ashoka Indian Restaurant which was under new management and provided great food; we took advantage of the special of choice of any 2 entrees + 2 mains + rice and garlic naan bread for E30 .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent the first night of our visit to Ireland in Aurora house. It is about an hour's drive from Dublin airport, and in a beautiful rural setting. It is convenient if you prefer to walk to the nearby town, or even to meander around the countryside.

The room was very comforable and quiet, ensuring a good night's rest. Breakfast was sumptuous to say the least!

Theresa and Chris have found the perfect balance between showing interest in their guests and being invasive (as we find in some B&B's). On Theresa's reccomendation we visited Altamont Gardens which was perfectly matched to our interests

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Aurora House in previous years. Chris, Theresa and their lovely family are perfect B and B hosts. Their exceptional high standards have not faltered. Nothing is too much trouble and they will do all they can to ensure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are comfy and spotlessly clean and there is a varied breakfast menu. It is not often that you can stay in a guest house and find it is as good year in year out. We look forward to staying again. thank you for yet another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagsBWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a wonderful B&B to stay. It is located just outside of Athy Ireland in a country setting but is within walking distance of Athy. Athy is a a small town that has a lot to offer in shopping and sites. The owners Chris and Teressa are great hosts! They offer larger than normal breakfast options that are prepared well. Both are accredited Chefs!
We did not have a car to travel around, so when we needed to get somewhere Chris was always accommodating with driving us or picking us up at Athy. If we were to visit Ireland again I would be sure to include Aurora House B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Had a very quick stay in Aurora House - arrived at 8pm and welcomed by Chris - the room was SPOTLESS and very very cosy. When we got back, what a great sleep! Breakfast was lovely, selection of cereals, breads (lovely raspberry jam!) great pot of tea, full Irish breakfast cooked to perfection. The location of the house is great, so close to the town. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just had a long weekend and would recommend Aurora to everyone. Friendly welcome from Teresa with tea and toast at 10am (early flight). Both she and Chris are very nice, lots to chat about and the girls very friendly.
Very clean, all amenities and very good breakfast and value. Nothing was too much for either of them, will definately be back (even if just to return the room key) !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwindonGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
0.5 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
112 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coolanowle Country House
Coolanowle Country House
#1 of 1 in Ballickmoyler
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Dollardstown House
Dollardstown House
#1 of 10 in Athy
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn B&B
Hawthorn B&B
#5 of 10 in Athy
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kildare Road | Geraldine, Athy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly and family bed and breakfast. Breakfast menu prepared by international chefs. Nearby attractions include the river Barrow famous for its fishing, Kilkenny Castle, Glendalough, Athy Golf Club and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aurora House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora House Bed And Breakfast Athy, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing