We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burtown House and Gardens

Burtown House and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Athy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Historic Gardens and House, with 12 acres of gardens and parkland, The Green Barn, an organic restaurant, artisan food shop, antique furniture and interiors accessories, art galleries and sculpture park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent bank holiday Monday afternoon at burton house gardens. Absolutely wonderful. The gardens are magnificent with so many beautiful flowers , herbs, veg etc. everybody we met were welcoming and extremely pleasant. Our lunch was beautiful - could not have been fresher as owner was taking freshly picked produce to the kitchen. Very very homely. Would loved to have seen around house - but it is still a family home. Will definitely go back there. No steps to negotiate.
Tip. Wear old shoes or boots

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neverwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    9
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fab way to spend the afternoon - The gardens are beautiful and the little courtyard restaurant is just perfect
Excellent food and cakes
Will def be going back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoneyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

so much to see - loved meeting the passionate gardeners who were working there - great lunch at their café

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonia047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A very pleasant afternoon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We started our visit by looking a the beautiful Eileen McDonagh stone sculptures in the garden, the most impressive one had been used to test drilling equipment for a mining company whose drills had been used to help free the Chilean miners. You can play tunes by running your hands over the holes. We then had a delicious lunch in the lovely tea rooms. I had a chicken and leek pie with the most amazing salad. The coffee was a bit watery. My friends had potato cakes and chocolate and beetroot cake, all excellent. They have a selection of homemade chutneys and jams as well as some beautiful paintings on display. The staff are helpful and very friendly. They had a photo portrait exhibition which we enjoyed before taking a stroll around the grounds to look at the snowdrops and crocuses. They were doing their best to drain the water from recent floods and replant a magnolia bush that was waterlogged. It would be lovely to go back in summer and see the gardens in full bloom. Sadly, you can't visit the beautiful Georgian house but we admired it from outside. Well worth a visit and definitely have lunch there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcullen, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delighful place and gorgeous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Four of us spent the afternoon in Burtown House today. After a short stroll around the gardens which had lots of snowdrops, hellebores, crocuses and the odd iris in bloom we went to the tea room/restaurant for lunch. It is very pretty and inviting. I had a delicious potato and spinach cake served on a bed of salad leaves, beetroot, carrots and parsnips. Not only really yummy but a very generous portion. Our friend had a chicken and mushroom pie also on a bed of salad leaves and root veg. She was equally very happy with the fayre. We were all stuffed and shared a chocolate and beetroot cake with our americanos afterwards. Again this was delicious. Burtown House is a family affair. James Fennell runs the coffee shop with his wife. Later we had another walk in the gardens and met Lesley, Jame's mum digging out magnolia tree that was water logged from all the wet weather we had. She was very friendly and engaged us in conversation while she worked. We will definitely come back in April or May as there will be more flowers in bloom and look forward to the gorgeous food and friendly service again. Thanks for a pleasant afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burtown House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Burtown House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing