We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clanard Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Talbot Hotel Carlow(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodford Dolmen Hotel(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Loughlin's Hotel(Portlaoise)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
404
159
48
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
159
48
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclanard courtnext morningsanta experiencelovely hotelrecommend this hotelkildare villagefrom start to finishduty managertop markstreatment roomsbridal suitewedding venuefood was fantasticfunction roomlovely mealafternoon teamain course
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My Wife and I spent 2 nights in this hotel and also eat in the bar for the two nights in question. There is a brasserie there but it was very quiet so we ate in the bar instead and the food was enjoyable.

The Hotel itself is a bit outside Athy so it would be advisable to stay sober and drive around before you return to the hotel. The following are the issues that we found with the hotel.

Positives:
1) Rooms were clean and modern.
2) Food in the Bar was very enjoyable and the rpices were reasonable. Tip: try the Bar Plate enough for 3 or 4 people for 12.50
3) As a smoker the smoking room at the back of the hotel is very much appreciated as the weather was not suitable for smoking outside.
4) Staff were very helpful and friendly. Arranged a golf club tee time with Athy Golf club and because of the weather arranged cancellation also.

Negatives:
1) The location was just a bit too far out of town to be in a position to walk.
2) Even though it was a school break week it was very quiet and there was no real activity in the hotel.

If you are the area you should visit the National Stud and Japenese Gardens in Kildare. It is about a 20-30 min car journey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Keith K

Thank you for taking to the time to write a review of the Clanard Court Hotel in TripAdvisor.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We believe that the very least you should expect from your stay at the Hotel is a clean and comfortable room, fantastic food and superb customer service.

Although we are located a mile out of Athy town, we are always happy to organise a taxi for guests wanting to go out in Athy town. Our location enables us to offer complimentary car parking and also facilitates easier access to the surrounding Kildare/Carlow/Wicklow attractions.

We hope to see you back here again soon. Perhaps, you'd enjoy staying over a weekend when we have live music in Bailey's Bar also.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Was here for a wedding, very well organised, great food, good room (of what I saw of it maybe an hour) :) .. Bar stayed open till late.. Nice setting. Overall great place for a wedding. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good smoking area outside too.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear jackgarry,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel. We pride ourselves on offering superb food and great service, so our team will be thrilled to hear that you experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding. Everything was handled very professionally and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent (I defy you to come away hungry), the layout of the function room was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It was mentioned by one of the guests (who travels the world) that the standard of the rooms was world class. The guests who stayed for 2/3 nights felt they were given a very good deal and the food in the restaurant was excellent.
Claire,the Wedding Planner was very amenable and flexible which made the day very special for the bridal couple. It is a day we will remember fondly and this is due in no small way to the staff at the Clanard Court. Many Thanks for a wonderful day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tap1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, General Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear tap1ireland,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel.

It was a pleasure to host your son's wedding at the Hotel and we are delighted to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay.

We always hope to help create everlasting memories for the couples celebrating their wedding at the Hotel and believe that superb food and excellent customer service are central to this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Regards

Liam Corr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Was very nice hotel, staff were both friendly and efficient . Restaurant was a bit Glum and food was just average. Down side was leisure centre is not in hotel and you have to go to Athy Town to visit it. Very clean and tranquil . Would visit again but would eat some were else. Very shocked at the state of Athy, litter every-were and general mess far from a Heritage Town, Sad really it has a Lot of Potential with its lovely bridge and river. Why doesn't the shop owners just clean there front areas and was their windows for heavens Sake.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear lara125

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Clanard Court Hotel.

Our staff pride themselves on their friendly and efficient service and it's great to hear that you experience this. We believe that whilst staying at our Hotel the least you should expect is comfortable accommodation and great food, so it is disappointing that you didn't experience the superb food that we are known for.

Athy town is a lovely town with great waterside amenities for visitors. It has a very active Tidy Towns committee who would be very interested in your comments. I have passed on your comments to the Town Council and Tidy Towns committee, in the hope that they are taken on board as the town does have lots of potential and is generally viewed favourably by visitors.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
Marketing & PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

my wife and I stayed at the hotel on the 11th ,12th september. we found the hotel very good. The food was lovely. What makes a hotel is its staff. The clanard court hotel staff were very friendly and wanted to make our stay enjoyable. we had had lovely time. Many thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyril b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, General Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear cyril b,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Clanard Court Hotel.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and our team will be thrilled to hear your compliments on their service. We pride ourselves on our level of service, so it's great that you experienced it first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Regards

Liam Corr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews