We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night wonder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanard Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athy
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“1 night wonder”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent a very enjoyable night in Clanard Court recently. I must admit I knew very little about the hotel in advance, however we were very pleasantly surprised. Not least by the strangely heavy- wooled "sheep" that greeted us in the grounds, that on enquiry turned out to be Alpacha's a type of Llama!

The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant. Room was spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and relaxed, however, my only problem was that, we booked a table for 8.00pm for dinner. We ordered starters immediately and they arrived quickly and were very good. However, our main courses took over an hour to arrive. pity because the overall experience was otherwise faultless. I would still well recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi there,
Firstly thank you so much for your lovely feedback & taking the time to review us here at Clanard Court Hotel.
In relation to our furry friends alpacas are classified as camelids the same family as lama’s and camels. Of the various camelid species, the alpaca and vicuña are the most valuable fiber-bearing animals: the alpaca because of the quality and quantity of its fiber, and the vicuña because of the softness, fineness and quality of its coat. Alpacas are too small to be used as pack animals. Instead, they are bred exclusively for their fiber and meat.
However here at the Clanard Court they are here for all our guests to enjoy and us if I’m honest, they add character and smiles to everyone’s day we
We are delighted you had such a pleasant stay with regard to the wait I have noted this and passed on the feedback to our team of Chef’s.
Thank you for the recommendation we look forward to welcoming you on your return.
All the best
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    143
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
207
195
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the 13th/14th July. On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by a young man behind the main reception desk. The room was quite big, clean and had a king size bed which was very comfortable.
Breakfast and dinner could not be faulted as all of the food we tasted was second to none.
Now the bad bits: If a hotel advertises leisure facilities, then these should be on site and not a five minute drive into the local town. For me this is a deal breaker. You either have these facilities or not. This hotel does not. SPA treatments discounts were given to us, but these were not open during our stay. Staff although polite, made it clear they were not happy to engage inany conversation which was disappointing. The bar at night was also quite dead with no atmosphere
Unfortunately, mainly due to the leisure facilities, would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback.
I am delighted that you received a warm welcome and the room met your expectations. Also many thanks for the complimentary remarks regarding the food our team of chefs work extremely hard to ensure our menus are on trend and unique.
I do apologies if you were disappointed regarding the leisure facilities, however it clearly states all details on our website. As much as we would like to we are not currently in the position to have a pool on site.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for you to avail of your vouchers if you would like to pop an email to sales@clanardcourt.ie I would be delighted to personally deal with this.
All the best
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Was here for a private family luncheon & the have to say everything was top notch.Friendly Staff great service & the food was excellent,the hotel is well maintained with pretty grounds & the hotel is fresh,modern & kept beautifully clean.I give this place top marks & will definitely return on future trip to Co.Kildare.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
As you may be aware we are a family business so we feel we truly do understand the needs of the families we welcome.
We are delighted you had such a great experience with us and I am delighted to pass on your positive feedback to the team here.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had the pleasure to attend a friend's wedding at The Clanard Court Hotel recently. The hotel is a family run affair and the whole day went without a hitch. The room for the civil ceremony was lovely with a pastor overseeing things, food and service was top class, hotel was warm & welcoming. Highly recommended for weddings or any functions.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AMCK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive view for us here at Clanard Court.
As you may be aware weddings are one of our main services, each day is unique and whilst we hav3e the foundations we always try to add the personal element in ensuring each Bride, Groom and guest, receives the attention to detail they deserve on the Big day in question. I am delighted to see our hard work paying off and thank you again for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
All the best,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed overnight in the Clonard Court with my 13 and 10 yr old daughters. A warm welcome at reception kick started things off. Vouchers for K Leisure in Athy were given to us after we checked in and we made the most of this well run,clean and well maintained swimming pool, gym etc. We all enjoyed dinner in the hotel that evening. A good menu to choose from,both childrens and for the adults. The meal itself was first class.All the staff were friendly and they could not have been more helpful. The room was cosy and after a good night's sleep we enjoyed the fine breakfast on offer. My two Girls have already told me that next time we are staying for a weekend. I don't think I can say fairer than that. Highly recommended. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcarrie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you and your girls had a lovely stay.
There is nothing more satisfying for us here than to see happy customers. We do enforce a lot of training here and are constantly upskilling when it comes to training and staff. To see this in action is fantastic.
Tell your girls we would be delighted to welcome them for a weekend and that we have santa’s trail coming soon which really is magical.
Thank you again for the kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on your return.
All the best,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I don't normally write reviews but after our recent break I am making an exception! Both my husband and myself work in education so when we are going on a break it's "peak time" hence we often go for last minute offers or package deals, we however had never gone to the Kildare area before and so decided on The Clanard Court. We were pleasantly surprised. First impressions on the drive up you are welcomed by a range of alpaca and lamas on the grounds outside.
The lobby area when you enter is both luxurious and welcoming. The bedroom was beautiful, elegant and spacious. We found the staff to be very welcoming, warm and attentive . They were excellent in suggesting different sites we could visit, in fact they went that extra mike for us as their marketing manager kindly gave us a full breakdown on local history and area's of great interest. We dined in Baileys Bistro & Bar which was superb, the waiter (Gary I think his name was) could not have done enough for us! My husband had the steak sandwich and I went for the stir-fry both were delicious. We also had the added bonus of live music in the bar that evening ( A real delight, as I think it is sad to see so many hotels and bars without it now in recent times)
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we'd stay again in a heart beat and have highly recommended it to both family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loissuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there,
We are lost for words with your wonderful review. It is wonderful to see that you and your husband had such a great experience with us.
It is feedback like this that really instils great spirit & motivation in our team here at Clanard Court.
I will most certainly pass on your feedback. We too love the addition to Bailey’s Bar & Bistro with live music on Wednesdays as part of our summer sessions.
We would be so delighted to welcome you both back, and a sincere thank you for the recommendation.
All the best,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for one night when driving back on way to Dublin but just too tired to keep driving . Loved the facility, found the welcome at reception very pleasant and helpful. Did not eat as arrived quite late. Room very comfortable and quiet with window overlooking countryside. Had drink at the bar which was very nice. Will return to this hotel.

Used the pool in the town (voucher provided by hotel) - which was a really well maintained leisure facility.

Room Tip: As hotel is outside town, I would imagine all rooms are quiet. Mine was to the back of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyperson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClanardCourtMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there ,
Thank you for your kind review we are very happy you decided to stop off.
We would love to hear your review of our new menu so please do have a bite on your next visit.
I will happily pass on your lovely feedback to our team.
We look forward to your next visit there are lots of activities and areas of interest in the surrounding areas just ask at reception and we would be delighted to showcase some of them to you.
All the best
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
17.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
13.3 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
530 reviews
19.1 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
563 reviews
11.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
212 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanard Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanard Court Hotel

Property: Clanard Court Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanard Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clanard Court Hotel combines a modern and homely design in a luxury family-run hotel setting with a uniquely refreshing and very personal experience.Set just 1km from the heritage town of Athy and surrounded by the jewels of the equine county of Kildare, the charms of the midlands and the bustle of Kilkenny, Carlow, Portlaoise and Dublin are never far away.The Hotel offers superb dining options with Bailey's Bar & Brasserie with music in the Bar every Saturday night. You can also relax and unwind in the Hotel's very own Revive Treatment Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clanard Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanard Court Athy
Clanard Court Hotel Athy, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing