We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent comfortabel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Athy B&B and Inns
midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent comfortabel stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is such a pretty location. Down a land by itself the views are great. The host was very nice fed us homemade scones. Our room was very nice, large and well warm. The bathroom good size just could do with frosted glass on the large window by the toilet. . . Breakfast very very good.
It is also about 15 mins drive from local town and a hotel which serves good if pricey meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review us and for you lovely descriptions. I understand you point about the window and we did consider it, but it would create an odd window at the front of the house. It has a blind and curtains for privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

In two weeks of UK travel, this was our favorite B&B. The family that runs it could not have been nicer and the tea and scones on arrival were the best we ever had (fresh cream from the farm a huge plus). The room was brand new and girls loved walking around the farm, seeing the cows up close. The location is amazing, remote and peaceful. This is the kind of place you hope for when you book a B&B. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The room we had for the four of us sharing had a kitchenette in it, pretty rare for a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Michael and Family, It was a pleasure to share our farm and B&B with you. Thank you for your appreciation.

Mary and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Nice big room on a working farm. Nice view from the bedroom. One of us had stayed in 2008 so this was definitely worth a return visit. Her recommendation of Clanard Court Hotel/Bailey's Bar was a great one. Very good dinner. Very relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review and for your return visit. We are having a heat wave and enjoying it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

stayed at Ballindrum Farm and i must say it was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland! Mary greeted us with tea and scones upon our arrival...the farm was a lovely and peaceful spot..Breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely dining area..but the best part was having Joseph sing "The Old Bog Road" for us.. he really does have the voice of an angel...you can buy his CD and he donates the money to a charity..Thank you Joseph and Mary for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Bernadette,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that Joseph was here to sing for you and gave you that special memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It's all been said before, this is an excellent B&B, nice rural situation, but easy access to a good road system.

Excellent breakfast and big thanks to Vincent for helping with the toll payment on Dublin's motorway - yes@ they deducted 3.10Eu from my Visa a/c - but better to be safe that sorry.

Athy is a small town, some interesting things to see but best of all I liked Patrick Dunne's pub - just like pubs were in GB until they were ruined - it has an 'offie' - several bars a men's snug (used to be called a smoke room) a function room, games room and a great landlord - and an annual conker contest - no H&S here!.

At Ballindrum Farm we spent our last night in Ireland after a 1700 mile round tour - easy access to the ferry home and a wise choice, we left it and Ireland with happy memories.

Thanks.

MJG123.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I was advised by a friend to not plan on traveling a great distance on my first day in Ireland. Ballindrum farm is within an hours drive of Dublin Airport. The countryside is just what I imagined Ireland would be, green , beautiful. Mary was friendly, and welcoming when we arrived very early. Our room was clean so we were allowed to check in early. We stayed in a family room. Very clean. The B&B Is an actual dairy farm. The breakfast was wonderful. Really, why would I stay in an hotel , when I could stay in someones home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigukfan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for our first review of the 2013 season, we hope you had a wonderful visit to Ireland. We are very popular with first night stays due to our proximity to Dublin. Tell your friends the easiest way to find us is stay on the M9 until exit 3, take N78 for Athy , we are the 3rd. right turn L8017. Best wishes, Mary and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a gorgeous location. Mary and Vincent took excellent care of us and went beyond expectations. We were too tired to go into town for dinner so they fed us as if we were family. This is the perfect respite. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and we were made to feel welcome and safe.

We spend much of our time walking around the grounds and admiring the views. We also loved sitting in the conservatory drinking tea and eating excellent biscuits and chatting with Mary. Just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendeWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
3.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
16.8 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
14.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Calverstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ballindrum, Athy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballindrum Farm is a working dairy farm, set in an area of rural beauty in south CO. Kildare. One hour from Dublin. Every room has a spectacular view of grassland,hedgerows and mature deciduous trees.Guests are welcome to walk the farm. Breakfast is a feast served from 6am to 10am. Coach tours are welcome by appointment for tea and homemade scones and jam. To find us stay on the M9 until exit 3, take N78 direction Athy, we are the 3rd. right turn L8017, Drive 1.5km. Ballindrum Farm is on the left, drive down the avenue to the farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballindrum Farm Bed And Breakfast Athy, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing