We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely introduction to country Irish pubs”

Moone High Cross Inn
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely introduction to country Irish pubs”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Good Guinness, good company and comfy beds, only bettered by the full Irish the next morning served by friendly hosts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Travelling on the M9(Dublin to Waterford) recently we went towards Moone and found this delightful old pub where we had some tasty sandwiches at lunchtime. We had a warm welcome and interesting chat. Delightfully old fashioned and authentic. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 171trainlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is what we came to Ireland for!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We only have a short time and trying to get a taste of the 'real' Ireland and by avoiding Motorways where possible, this brought us to a lovely country road and we pulled off for a quick coffee and toilet stop. WOW! what a beautiful little place this Inn is. Family run for decades, it's real, it's typical and it's what we came to Ireland for. I laughed when I saw the sign over one of their bars that said "the Clint Eastwood Bar" and then saw the photos of Clint Eastwood actually being there!

Thanks for your hospitality.
Jeff & Karen, Australia.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WebsiteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Myself and six friends travelled from Shropshire to Moone last weekend to attend our friends wedding.We were recommended the Moone High Cross by the bride and groome and we weren't disappointed. John,Una and their team were lovely and couldn't do enough for us.We were very well fed and the Guinness was delicious.... It is true what they say it is so much nicer in Ireland than at home.
The decor was quirky but if its good enough for Clint Eastwood its good enough for us!You will have to visit yourselves to see what I mean!!??
Thanks again to all at the Moone High Cross, regards from Sarah.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great piece of irish heritage”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

A proper authentic family run pub. Friendly and engaging staff. A great pub if you have the chance to pop in!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris47g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moone High Cross Inn also viewed

Castledermot, County Kildare
Castledermot, County Kildare
 

Been to Moone High Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing