We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third trip, fabulous setting but a frosty reception”
Review of Cliff at Lyons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff at Lyons
Ranked #2 of 4 Celbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Third trip, fabulous setting but a frosty reception”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our third time to stay at the Village at Lyons in 12 months.
We got married there last year.

Check in
Check in was fine, I have to say I was a little disappointed as we only got married there a few months ago that we weren't even welcomed back. We were asked was it out first time....

Trip to the room
We were then escorted to our room in a convoy with a lady riding in a golf buggy ahead. She didn't say a word to us. It was really odd she opened the door to our room without a welcome/ hello/ here's your room. We turned around to say thank you but she was gone.

The room
The room was lovely, it had a great big bath and a really comfy bed. It also had Hermes toiletries.

Dinner
We dined in Le Serre , The food was really nice, the restaurant was very busy. The room itself is set in a really picturesque conservatory.
The staff were very efficient but just looked really sad. I cant explain it, they were helpful, courteous but just there wasn't a atmosphere.

Breakfast
There was a small buffet of hot and cold breakfast, it was really tasty.

Tip
There are no TV's in the bedrooms so bring a book/ laptop and dvds.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank miami2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    46
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
79
116
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here a couple of years ago but only now getting around to a review!
What can be said about this place except WOW!
We stayed in the Shackleton House and had dinner & breakfast in the La Serre Restaurant. The quality of the accommodation in the house was the best I have ever seen and the same applies to the restaurant.... quality, qulaiy, quality. It might be pricy but it's worth it in my opinion. Only stayed one night; it would be best to stay at least 2.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceCarmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Couldn't have been a more beautiful setting, fantastic Autumn weather, and beautiful grounds.
On arrival late Saturday afternoon, there was no one at reception and when someone did come, there was no welcome, and an impatient driver to take us to our suite. As frosty a reception as the Autumn air!
The set menu was pretty safe, the Ham Hock Terrine was good, but the pork main was so dry and disappointing, and the Frangipani not cook or at least blind baked enough, I did mention it to the waiter, that either chose to ignore it or just didn't understand me. the room tempeture dropped so we figured it was time to move as the heating was off. When finished and hoping for a drink in the wood styled bar, we asked for the fire to be lit, 'we only serve in the bar till 12.30', It was 10.50pm! so he lit the fire, service was poor, staff seem very unhappy and there didn't seem to be any leadership, one staff member a lady, and i regret I didn't get her name, turned her hand to checking guests in, driving, and serving the meals at least tried, and was plesent. But the atmosphere amongst staff was a disinterested one.
Suite where nice, wonderful decor and bright, not sure if they all have the problem I had, everything someone turned on water/shower a droning sound fill our suite. Beautiful place, poor service, and a disinterested chef, if the food they served was considered acceptable.

Room Tip: Not the Abbey Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Alfreda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Haven't had the pleasure of staying here (yet!), but have eaten in the restaurant and cafe a few times, and always been impressed. Quality of ingredients, great service and beautiful surroundings make for a wonderful experience. Visited for afternoon tea with friends recently and was disappointed to see the General Stores is no more. Shame, it was a lovely place for a potter round.
All in all I give 10/10 to the village at Lyons. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A beautiful hotel with lots of character and great service. The rooms are really superb, all quite unique but very modern and a very spacious bathroom. Only strange thing was that ours did not have TVs in the room which I would guess is in keeping with ethos of getting away from it all! A great place to escape and the gardens are magnificent. Food was also great and staff proved very friendly even towards the late hours in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I selected the Village for our wedding earlier this month.

We loved every moment of the day.

The rooms are spectacular and totally different to any accommodation in Ireland.

The food is really excellent and the menu in La Serre restaurant is cant be beaten.

I would really recommend this location for a weekend away and many of our wedding guests are already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miami2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed in a Junior suite as part of a one-night midweek stay with dinner and breakfast. The setting is gorgeous, old world yet mainly new-build. Accommodation set around a water-lily pool with beautiful views of garden and pool from our room. Everything great quality - room, dinner, breakfast. Service very good. Tranquil setting beside the Grand Canal - hard to believe we were so close to Dublin! Looks like a great place for a wedding or special weekend. Well worth looking at their web-site for deals.

Room Tip: Request a suite with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereNextl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celbridge
2.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
421 reviews
2.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
656 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
332 reviews
4.7 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff at Lyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff at Lyons

Property: Cliff at Lyons
Address: Lyons Road | Cliff at Lyons Estate, Celbridge, Ireland (Formerly Village at Lyons)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Celbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Celbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff at Lyons 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff at Lyons, a restored historic village on the banks of the Grand Canal, is one of Ireland's most unique alternate wedding venues, a haven for food lovers and the perfect location for corporate events & team building experiences.The Cliff at Lyons comprises of 39 guest bedrooms which include hotel rooms and a number of 2 & 3 bedded cottages, The Orangery Restaurant and The Canal Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliff at Lyons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Lyons Hotel Celbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing