We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Daughter's Wedding Day. Friday 27th of June 2014.”
Review of Cliff at Lyons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff at Lyons
Ranked #2 of 4 Celbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

On Friday last we held our daughter's Wedding in the stunning Village at Lyons. It was a sensational experience from start to finish. The Managers, Wedding Co- ordinators and staff could not do enough for us. The service and attention to every detail was second to none. The food was outstanding. The accommadation is absolutely beautiful. All our guests were enchanced by the spectacular fairytail setting of the Village a truely special 5* Wedding Venue. They were all simply bowled over by the whole experience.Our daughter and Son in law's abiding memory of their Wedding Reception there was that everything exceded their widlest dreams. We all had a magical day with wonderful memories of a perfect Wedding Day at The Village at Lyons.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular. We stayed with the Grooms parents in a three bedroomed house on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, General Manager at Cliff at Lyons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

The team will be particularly delighted with your effusive review following your daughter's wedding here in the Village. We wish them every happiness for the future. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I attended a wedding here last Friday and stayed the night. I am still on a high. I have never experienced such beauty, quality and excellence in everything here. A breath taking building and gardens, fantastic friendly staff, was treated like a princess.. So looking forward to going back for the next special occasion as the food was just heavenly. First class in every way.. Carol

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroldoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, General Manager at Cliff at Lyons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience following your recent stay. We look forward to looking after you when you return for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to this beautiful setting!! I was attending a wedding so my time here was a short stay.
The gounds are just fab & so well kept..The food was excellent & the rooms are out of this world..We where taxied to & from our suite by golf buggy..The staff were very nice also..I'll be back.....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank willfmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, General Manager at Cliff at Lyons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience in the Village and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for lunch to the cafe at this venue (can't book, walk in only).
Food was ok, average- but the service was absolutely awful! We were waiting for 40mins for our plates to be cleared.
In the end we had to go and find someone to order dessert (all running round avoiding eye contact) the desserts arrived without even clearing our mains. Tea with no spoons, the coffee cup was only half full and one of the desserts had a small piece missing!
By now there was a steady queue of people coming in and out in search of a waitress, complaining they were missing parts of their order etc..
Staff were pleasant, but on this occasion slow and completely inefficient. Won't be back, which is a pity because the surrounds are fab!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank clairebear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, General Manager at Cliff at Lyons, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, and constructive criticism it's invaluable.
We have since gathered the team to review operational issues in the Cafe on the Sunday in question following your experience. We have identified a number of issues and are implementing changes which will lead to an improved customer experience on a consistent basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Myself and my wife were recently at a wedding here and have to say what a beautiful spot. The grounds, the setting, the hotel were just excellent.. Major downfall was the prices in the bar. Totally over priced €7 for a bottle of miller

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I attended a family wedding in this venue this week. Absolutely beautiful setting,good food,but all spoiled by an efficient but cold and distant staff and by the crazy prices we were expected to pay for drink, 7 euros for a bottle of cider 5 60 euros for a bottle of beer and six euros for a pint of beer,,way too much in these hard times. Needless to say I won't be heading here again unless I have to!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank gerrysparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay on package deal
The room was amazing we stayed in Lyons suite a beautiful room. Dinner was fantastic really nice range of choices and everything delicious. Breakfast was fantastic huge range of options again everything was delicious.
The package deals work out exceptionally good value the hotel offers these periodically

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinLouphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celbridge
2.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
923 reviews
2.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
447 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
676 reviews
9.0 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
2.7 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff at Lyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff at Lyons

Address: Lyons Road | Cliff at Lyons Estate, Celbridge, Ireland (Formerly Village at Lyons)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Celbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Celbridge
Price Range: £149 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff at Lyons 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff at Lyons, a restored historic village on the banks of the Grand Canal, is one of Ireland's most unique alternate wedding venues, a haven for food lovers and the perfect location for corporate events & team building experiences.The Cliff at Lyons comprises of 39 guest bedrooms which include hotel rooms and a number of 2 & 3 bedded cottages, The Orangery Restaurant and The Canal Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliff at Lyons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Lyons Hotel Celbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing